We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast is good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jalama Beach Cafe

Jalama Beach Cafe
400 E Ocean Ave, Lompoc, CA 93436
(805) 735-8205
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 100 Restaurants in Lompoc
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Lompoc, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Breakfast is good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoy the breakfasts at Jalama Beach Cafe. Good, reasonable and filling. Wait staff are friendly and patient. The owners are usually around checking on customers satisfaction. Enjoy. Thanks, Jalama Beach Cafe staff. The venue at Jalama Beach itself is still excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    31
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alamo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't order the ribs, eat at the end of the day, or eat alone.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

What a terrible experience!

i ordered the ribs because they looked good going to another table. What I got was the end of the nigh dregs. A bunch of small pieces that were mostly gristle. After sawing on it for about 10 minutes with a STEAK KNIFE ( what odes that tell you?) I gave up, paid my check in cash and left.

Also the menu states there are several choices of BBQ sauce, what I got was the ribs covered in the same brown gravy that was on the mashed potatoes. Very strange taste since the ribs had some sort of sweet BBQ sauce under the gravy.

It just seems that they don't care about what they are doing. When I worked in a restaurant if the cook had put that plate up, I would have been embarrassed to serve it. Or rather I wouldn't have. My waitress had no such qualms.

In reading the reviews it for this restaurant it seems like most people like their burgers and not much else. Maybe they should shorten their menu!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Though the service was great, the food wasn't as great as we'd expected from other reviews.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Finnest Burgers in Lompoc”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I went for lunch on friday. It could be bad idea as it was totally packed, however I was by myself so they were able to accommodate me promptly. Of course I had to order their fine burger along with French fries and lemmonade. You do not have to drive to their main location at Jalama beach to enjoy these juicy food.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Eclectic Place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Jalama Beach Cafe started at Jalama Beach as a hamburger stand. People would drive 20 miles to the middle of nowhere to have a burger. They opened this restaurant in Lompoc so you don't have to drive as far, but the burgers are still just as good. They have also added a variety of other choices, from fried chicken gizzards (!) to pizzas, steaks and tri-tip. I have been there for lunch with my wife and many times for lunch with co-workers and we were all satisfied with the variety and freshness of the cuisine. The help is fast and courteous, and the prices are reasonable. The atmosphere is a little 1995 diner type, but comfortable and spotless.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalama Beach Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Jalama Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jalama Beach Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.