We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't waist your time or money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Carrows Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Carrows Restaurant
1129 N H St, Lompoc, CA 93436-3306
805-736-0702
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Tulare, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“don't waist your time or money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Very crappy servise. Was never asked anything after our order was taken. Four other tables were served and we were not spoke to AT ALL. I think they are a bunch of racist who don't like WHITE people!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    2
    1
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Decent quality food and fast service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were staying in local motel and this was nearest suitable eatery where we didn’t have to drive.
We just ate a simple meal, burgers etc, but the service was quick and polite.
The food was good and we had no complaints, does what it says on the tin.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good for a chain restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

This is a go-to for the locals. The food is always at least good and I've never known the staff to be anything less than pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, CA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not worthy of the Carrows name”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

One of the few family restaurants in Lompoc. The worst Carrows I have been to. Food is consistently average, but the wait time is ridiculous! Menus are dirty, not enough wait staff, last choice for locals. If Carrows hdq knew about this one, they'd take their name off the sign.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Food INEDIBLE - AVOID at all costs!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We had business in Lompoc and chose Carrows simply because it was there and this is a chain and our experiences up to now have been pretty good. We first grew suspicious when we walked in and the restaurant was almost empty, maybe 2 booths were occupied, and no staff was in sight anywhere. Eventually, someone did show up and seat us, but I was already apprehensive and asked if there would be a long wait to get our food. He reassured us that it would be no problem, so against our better judgement, we ordered. It was 2:30 pm so we assumed maybe this was a slow time of the day. My husband' soup arrived almost cold and we had to ask to have it heated. Microwaved for sure, it was brought so hot that he burned his mouth. When our main dishes arrived, after 2 mouthfuls I determined that my dish, Chicken Florentine, was inedible. It tasted like chemicals and was obviously old. It also arrived lukewarm. My husband ordered a fried fish platter. At least it wasn't old, however there was mostly batter and very little fish. The only part of our lunch that was acceptable quality was my coffee and my husband's cornbread. I have returned my chicken florentine and rejected any substitute. This place is BAD. It was a most unsatisfactory lunch and on top of that, my husband's stomach started bothering him on our way home - no doubt the food didn't agree with him.
Lesson to be learned - read reviews before visiting a down you don't know. All of the reviews here are along the same lines - inedible, poor quality, this is their Mode of Operation. They must get enough strangers in town to manage to keep this place open. I am sure no local would ever eat there! Avoid this place at all costs! You're better off going hungry than eating here!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carrows Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carrows Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.