We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great (for Lompoc)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Lompoc - Central Coast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Lompoc - Central Coast to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Lompoc - Central Coast
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1117 North H Street, Lompoc, CA 93436   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Wine Getaway Package
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Lompoc
GreenLeadersBronze level
Burbank, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great (for Lompoc)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I just got back from a weekend wine-tasting trip in the Santa Ynez Valley. We wanted to stay in Solvang, but literally every hotel room was booked. With some trepidation I opted for this Embassy Suites in Lompoc, about 20 miles away from Solvang. It turned out to be a great decision.

First of all, I get the impression that some of the negative reviews are expecting this Embassy Suites to be the same as a property in a major city. That's simply not going to happen in Lompoc. You've got to understand that the two major employers in Lompoc are the Vandenberg Air Force base and a federal prison. It's pretty far out in the middle of nowhere relative to most other towns in the area.

So given the Lompoc setting, this hotel is absolutely great. The price was half of what Solvang or the Santa Ynez Marriott would have been. Totally worth it. The hotel and room decor is dated, but that's unsurprising. The rooms are true "suites" and a good size. An LCD TV in each room with a good selection of channels. Nice shower with steady hot water. The sofa had a pull-out bed but we didn't need to use that. In-room coffee makers, a fridge, microwave, etc. Everything you expect from an Embassy Suites, just never completely renovated (nor can I blame them; I can't imagine it would be make financial sense).

But the best part is the pool clubhouse / dining room in the middle of the property. Every night they have a happy hour with free drinks! Firestone Double Barrel Ale on tap, all you can drink! Plus a bartender mixing up any other drink you want. What a deal! Let's just say that after happy hour, my wife and I had to change plans and find a hotel within walking distance... the car was no longer an option.

I really liked that the happy hour was even offered on Saturday night. Typically this amenity is only for business travelers and thus weekday nights.

In that same clubhouse they have free breakfast in the morning, with a fruit/bread buffet and an open kitchen with made-to-order meat, omelettes, and pancakes. We got up late and thus there was quite a line to wait for your hot breakfast, so we didn't bother. One thing I wish they would do is offer both made-to-order and set out some hot food in the buffet area of commons items such as bacon or scrambled eggs.

Pool was also nice, and it had a very big in-ground hot tub that could seat probably around 10 people. Lastly, there's a "tropical garden" section in the rest of the middle common area that's offers nothing special except a nice little ambience with coy ponds and such.

Employees were extremely friendly. I do wish there was more stuff in walking distance, but we could have driven somewhere if not for over-imbibing in the happy hour. However we still were able to find options within a couple blocks walk -- wound up at a Mexican place that was just okay, but suited us well enough.

Lastly, we were pleasantly surprised at all the wineries on the road into Lompoc off highway 101. It's a nice spot that doesn't seem to be as crowded/popular as Solvang, Los Olivios, Santa Ynez, etc. I highly recommend Babcock.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    129
    99
    30
    30
See reviews for
118
135
17
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
US
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I personally think the Embassy Suites as lost its spark. This one is very dated (with weird faux french provincial furniture in the bedroom). The bed was ok, although the blankets were too heavy and too polyester for me to be comfortable. Note: If you don't like to listen to children shouting and having fun in a pool, ask to be put in a room that faces the "tropical garden" - much quieter. The walls are ultra thin and conversations and laughter can be heard easily. We stayed here because it was free with our HH points - otherwise, I would have checked out the minute I saw the room. Embassy Suites used to be a nice business hotel, but now it's not nice for anything. Oh, the wireless is free, but so slow that I finally just gave up. The young woman who checked us in (she was alone and said that the hotel was fully booked) was very annoyed when we asked for a room on the top floor. Then she pulled the "no more rooms available" card. hmmm. The manager's reception (happy hour) snacks consisted of something like rice chex, tortilla chips and some sort of melted cheesy gloppy stuff to pour over the chips. Sort of like bad movie nachos.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern, CA.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I have stayed in several Embassy Suites and most are good, but this location was decorated better had a better social hour and was quiet and well maintained. I stayed at this location as a mistake I thought it was farther up the coast of CA. It turned out to be in a town of a large air force base Vandenberg. The town is not large but the hotel's staff could not have been better. We were told of a place to have dinner called Sissy's Sassy cafe, what a find that was. Every thing you want is at this Embassy and I am glad we landed in Lompoc.

Room Tip: We were in room 202
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This place is well above the normal Embassy standard, and is just a really comfortable place to stay.

Finding somewhere localto eat was a problem though.

The service at the was good, and the breakfast was excellent

Parking and internet were good

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are quieter than to be expected on a main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed at the Embassy Suites for one night with friends while touring surrounding wineries. The hotel was a very good base for wineries in Lompoc (about a mile from the wine ghetto) and in nearby areas. The room was large and comfortable. I did not notice any noise even though there were a lot of people there. They have free drinks and snacks in the evening which were good. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast includes eggs cooked to order and was good.. I would return if in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Fabulous customer service. Attentive to our needs. All workers aimed to please us. Very friendly. Best breakfast and happy hour free. Comfy bed. Older hotel dated. Could use some updating. All
In all will come back. Lack of
Good
Restaurants in area. Go outside city to eat.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson az
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Excellent suite and breakfast with lots of choices. Breakfast could not have been better at a local restaurant but this hotel is very expensive for the area and staff was not particularly friendly.
Would rather do with a little less at much less cost !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Lompoc - Central Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Lompoc - Central Coast

Address: 1117 North H Street, Lompoc, CA 93436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lompoc
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Lompoc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Lompoc - Central Coast 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At A Glance: Welcome to our Embassy Suites Lompoc - Central Coast hotel. Our all-suite hotel provides a fantastic base for corporate, military, and leisure travelers wanting to explore the heart of California's breathtaking Central Coast. Conveniently situated one hour northwest of Santa Barbara and just minutes from Solvang, this Lompoc hotel is close to Vandenberg Air Force Base, the Sta. Rita Hills wine region, and the tranquil Jalama State Beach. Relax and unwind in a spacious two-room suite offering everything you need to feel at home. Begin each day with our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, and relax in the evening with a complimentary beverage at our nightly Evening Reception* in the Garden Room, offering access to our beautiful outdoor atrium. Host an important meeting or event for up to 100 people in our 1,476 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space or catch up with work in our BusinessLink™ business center. Allow our dedicated staff and catering service to ensure each event is a success.After a busy day exploring all the things to do in Lompoc CA, refresh with a swim in our outdoor pool or work out in the fitness center. Retreat to the comfort of one of our two-room suites designed with a separate living room and bedroom, and enjoy more space to work, entertain friends, or simply relax and unwind with room service. *Service of alcohol subject to state and local laws. Must be of legal drinking age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Lompoc - Central Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Lompoc
Lompoc Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Lompoc - Central Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.