We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than Hilton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O'Cairns Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added O'Cairns Inn & Suites to your Saves list
O'Cairns Inn & Suites
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   940 East Ocean Avenue, Lompoc, CA 93436   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Lompoc
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“better than Hilton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel was a pleasant surprise! Service is great and the bed is awesome, I wanted to take it home! During happy hour you get free drinks and pizza, also ice cream is free. Breakfast was great, the best we had so far, it took only quit long before we got it. So here a tip, order your breakfast and go back to your room to pack! Laundry is free, so is wifi and parking.
Oh and they have a pooltable.... Would defenitely stay here again, it has better service than the Hilton!

Room Tip: You get so many free drinks and food that this place is actually cheap. Happy hour is from 5-8 from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    54
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
56
78
10
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is possibly the best hotel we went to today. I mean they just give you million things with so much warmth that you will be instantly won over. Upon arrival we got icecreams, a complimentary dvd rental and complimentary breakfast. We will be going there soon again for a weekend getaway! Just loved it!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

As a tough reviewer and finicky hotel guest, I have to admit I was a little nervous about making a reservation here. I only did it based on the limited availability elsewhere and the positive reviews of previous guests. Plus, the pictures made the place look small and dated.

But when we arrived, I was pleasantly surprised! Yes, the decor needs updating - it's very 80's with lots of oak, but aside from that, the service was fantastic - above and beyond for a hotel of this caliber! The rate included a full, made-to-order breakfast (not the continental toast and coffee of other places), all the complimentary ice cream you could eat and a huge collection of DVDs! The room was, again dated in it's decor, but very comfortable and immaculate. It included a full-sized refrigerator and microwave for doggy-bag left-overs, flat screen TV, DVD player and stereo system! The service was also above and beyond and we were made to feel right at home.

I'll make it a point to stay here again on my next visit to Lompoc.

Room Tip: The building is older and floors can squeak a bit, so consider a request for a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

About a year ago we stayed at O'Cairns, and again this week. Both experiences were great. The staff is super. If you plan to take advantage of some or all the compilmentary amenities (especially the happy hour and breakfast) and consider what you would spend one those things elsewhere, the room price is quite reasonable. And you get to deal with really nice friendly people. On this visit we noticed that they are no longer affiliated with Best Western. According to the staff, BW asked them to cut back on the ammenities they offer - other properties in the BW group complained they it made them look bad. O'Cairns chose to keep the ammenities and do without BW - good for them, and good for you if you stay there. We 'll definately go back, we like to support good people when we spend money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Jersey
Top Contributor
866 reviews 866 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 327 cities Reviews in 327 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Nothing special about this place as far as your room goes. It is your basic old-style two-story (no elevator) multi-building place with old-style rooms that are clean but nothing special. The special comes in the comp ice cream bar upon arrival, and the comp breakfast. For breakfast you can have anything you want – all made-to-order! I had omelet with pork chops (two of them) nice sourdough toast, home fries, fresh fruit… the list goes on and on and you can have whatever you want. Easily a $25 breakfast (for two) free. Nice people run the place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The O'Cairns Inn is unusual. The owners seem to have seriously considered what they would like in a hotel and then done anything it takes to accomplish that. The amenities list here is five-star, including huge flat-screen TV with great cable, huge movie library, great (secure) internet, a real refrigerator, microwave, free laundry, 24/7 ice cream and snacks at the front desk, an awesome breakfast cooked to order, and a fabulous, canb-do attitude.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Lompoc is kind of an out of the way location, but it has two good points; cheap gas and this hotel. Comfortable, nice service and the best hotel breakfast (cooked to order) anywhere. The amenities were all really top quality and though it's not the cheapest place in town to stay, all things considered (especially the breakfast) it is probably the best value in town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Cairns Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Cairns Inn & Suites

Address: 940 East Ocean Avenue, Lompoc, CA 93436
Location: United States > California > Lompoc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Lompoc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O'Cairns Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently close to Vandenberg Air Force Base, the Lompoc Wine Ghetto, Surf and Jalama Beaches, and the famous community of Solvang, the O'Cairns Inn & Suites proudly offers a wide array of amenities at comfortably reasonable rates. Our guests enjoy a delicious continental breakfast each morning, Monday-Friday 5am-9am & Saturday and Sundays 7am-10:30am, and enjoy complimentary drinks during our Happy Hour, Mon-Fri from 5pm-8pm. Our rooms are roomy and home-like, and include large flat screen TV's, pillow top mattresses and some even have leather recliners. You will feel at home at the O'Cairns Inn & Suites in Lompoc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your O'Cairns Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Cairns Hotel Lompoc
o`Cairns Inn And Suites
Best Western Lompoc
Lompoc Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Cairns Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.