We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing beach and views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jalama Beach County Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lompoc
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jalama Beach County Park
Star Route, Jalama Rd, Lompoc, CA 93436   |  
Hotel amenities
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing beach and views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Not one for alot of words but my gf and i were hoping around diff spots in socal and this is by far the best beach , the views are amazing. Peacefull walks on the beach never seemed overly crowded . Jalama burger is amazing prob in top five Of all burgers i ve ever had. If u wanna be away from the crowds of venice , huntington etc etc come here .. Tranquil..

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    9
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
granada hills
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

hello...was at jalama beach campground again a few months ago....once again there were high winds for a day or so....it seemed that they made a few changes,like adding some cabins and some mobil homes you could rent in advance if you wanted.....now for a quick list of the main campground and everything else,,,,GREAT BURGERS,,,,CROWDED UNPRIVATE SITES,,,DOG CRAP IN THE CAMPGROUND AND ON THE BEACH....BATHROOMS UNCLEAN...CRAPPY SHOWERS WHEN THEY WORK...LOUD,,,DRUNKEN UNDER AGE ''PUNK ROCKER PARTIES''AT NITE,SO NO ONE CAN SLEEP...STILL,NO SHADE!!!there was an oil derek platform a few miles out that you could see from the beach....i cant remember seeing it there this last trip but that is where the tar on the beach came from....9 years ago,when i was there,,,a large drunken loud'' skater boy ''party was going on late at nite...the neighbors complained.....and the rangers at the time had no problem throwing them out of the park...they were gone in 15 min....one good thing about the rangers,,,is the fact that they are armed...the prices at the store are high so you remember next time to bring everything you need.....that store has a huge inventory of camping needs.....i have to agree with some of the other posts....this could be a great place...but needs a complete makeover.....make it so you can bring your family there,,,and safe for old folks,,,,enforce rules on loud partys,,,,,,the reason that they wont do anything ,is the fact that the beach has been turned into a huge under age party beach,that generates lots of money from loud selfish party animals.....i would say to stay away from JALAMA till they get it under controll.....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I do belive this was one of our best trips to Jalama. We went March 8th thru the 12th. It was perfect weather and the Beach was empty we did lots of beach combing. Just enjoy this Beach all together been coming here with my wife and son now for four years. :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granada hills
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

i never could figure out why they didnt plant any trees for shade in the campgrounds. 1971 was my first time there, and even now there still isnt trees for shade...when you are not 20 yrs old you need some shade...the only shade is a group of cypress trees at the east end of the campgrounds. to get one of these 2 campsites you must be very lucky..also when i was there in 1971 the sand on the beach was very level and you could camp another 2 or 3 hundred feet toward the water...if each campsite had a manemade overhang,like some parks have ,to shade the campers from the sun,it would be a much better campground.....sometimes i feel the 15 mile drive from 101 through the farmlands to jalama is the highlight...JEAN YOUNK if you are reading this...my email is [...].....keith ,,,,from beth stried fame.........

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburg, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

During the summer we like to go beach hopping. A friend of mine told me about this beach and decided to try it out. My brothers family and mine went, the drive was a bit much.. like 15 minutes to get to the campground and when we got there it was pretty packed, but we managed to get a spot near the center by the play ground. But it was super windy and a nice man said to go towards the back and get a campsite with a bush next to it so it would block the wind. We switched campsites and it was still windy but way better than where we were. What helped us was that I went to the store and purchased huge stakes that looked like huge nails to hold the tent down. There were some kids that were a bit loud but not too bad. We felt safe there. The Man at the store was so nice and helped me bunches.. he even lent me things like a pan, hammer and tools. it was a great experience and the Jalama Burgers are the best burger I had ever tasted...I will definitely go back.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torrance, ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We just returned from our 3 night trip to Jalama. We stayed in the new cabins. We were looking to go "camping" but didn't have all the gear....tents, lanterns...etc so we were excited to learn about the new cabins being offered and the ability to reserve them in advance.

We stayed at the Seagull which is a 5 person cabin. There is a smalle room in the back the size of the bunkbeds. There is a small bathroom with a shower and a queen size bed with a single pullout futon in the liviing room. The kitchen is small, but well equipped and more than sufficient for a short trip. All you need to take are sheets, blankets and food. There are french doors that open on to a beauitul porch overlooking the campsite below and the gorgeous beach beyond.

The beach is beautiful and you can walk for blocks and blocks enjoying the beautiful California Coast in all its glory. The mornings are nice and cool allowing for long walks and total silence. There is NO cell reception..... a good thing if you want to escape for a few days.
The nights can get a little chilly and windy, but we were lucky to have two good nights with great weather and clear skies that allowed us to see all the beauitful stars.

We traveled with out two boys 3 and 7 and they enjoyed every minute of it. We simply can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

We have just returned from 4 nights in Jalama, the first trip was in Aug.09, we were very lucky to end up with a campsite by just driving in. Our site was #106 up on the ridge, very close to your neighbor, great view of the beach and a very crowded campground, poor attitudes at the store, its like they have been there way too long and are now over it.

This time in April, the place was EMPTY, Im mean really, nobody at the gate with self registration. they are doing some improvements, they are adding "Park Model" mobile homes just above the gate, Im curious to see if they get rented, most people that stay here appear to be on a budget, and won't be dropping $150-200 a night for the mobil homes, Im assuming there going to have to get that much a day to pay for them. Hopefully the same guy that cleans the restrooms won't be cleaning these, he never emptied the trash
can in the restroom the whole tim we were there. He must have been busy doing nothing somewhere else as well.
The older gentleman at the store was extremely nice, the Jalama Burger was fantastic as usual.
There is Tar on the rocks on the beach, I don't know how you could miss that, but still a very nice beach overall.

They are adding Sewer & Water to the Electric Sites in the next few months, with will be great

The Rangers are very cool and great to chat with.

We love staying here and will continue, yes it is crowded and crammed in the summer months, but hey its a great place to stay, thats why its so crowded. You just can't find a better view of the beach from up on the bluff, period.

As far a "rowdy groups" your going to get that at any campground with several large numbers of teenagers, you pretty much know what your going to get when just a fence post divides the "Tent Sites" deal with it or go camp elsewhere !!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jalama Beach County Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jalama Beach County Park

Address: Star Route, Jalama Rd, Lompoc, CA 93436
Location: United States > California > Lompoc
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Lompoc
Also Known As:
Jalama Beach County Park Hotel Lompoc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jalama Beach County Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jalama Beach County Park to your Saves list