We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Challenging Golf Course” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Purisima Golf Course

La Purisima Golf Course
3455 State Highway 246, Lompoc, CA 93436
805-735-8395
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 attractions in Lompoc
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Listed as one of Golf Magazine's Top 100 Public Courses in the United States.
Orinda, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Challenging Golf Course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Played La Purisima for the first time yesterday. It is a very unique and challenging design with a lot of elevation changes and occasional water hazards. It is a course where local knowledge would be helpful as it is often not obvious what dangers lurk in the distance. The course is a little rough around the edges but the greens and fairways were in excellent condition. It was a calm day but I understand that it can be quite windy at times which would increase the difficulty. It is a course I would definitely want to play again if I am in the area, especially if I could duplicate the great weather of yesterday.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LOMPOC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tough course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a great, challenging course for golfers of all capabilities. There are the usual ladies tees and the Red, White, Blue and LONG Black tees. Challenging.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California, United States
1 review
“Phenomenal Course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a well maintained and very challenging golf course. The slope rating tell on part of the tale. If you haven't played here before then be prepared for a very humbling experience. The rough can be totally unforgiving, the wind adds an unexpected hurdle and the greens are slippery and treacherous. Bring extra balls, but don't be surprised if you play only one ball but finish 10 strokes over your handicap. GOOD LUCK!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Hold onto your hat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

There is more than one reason this course is nicknamed "La Piranha". I play here at least a couple of times per year and always enjoy the condition and layout of the track. Be ready, however, to play in stiff, if not outright windy, conditions. The day we played the winds were a consistent 25 mph gusting to 35. Don't be deterred...as it is a really fun, quality course on which to spend a few hours.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Difficult but excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This course has been rated the 33rd most difficult in the U.S. by ESPN. If that is the case, I'd hate to play the top 32! Long course with only 2-3 holes I would classify as easy. Narrow fairways, rolling hills, deep difficult bunkers, it all adds up to a tough day on the course. However, it is more than worth it. There aren't too many more beautiful courses that I have seen, and I've played a lot. It's rarely ever busy here, which makes standing on the tee box on #6 and looking back at the rest of the course even more amazing. A couple of my favorites were #8, a downhill curving hole coming back towards the highway that is reachable with a well-placed tee shot and a long iron, and #12, with the tee shot over a pond and a long narrow entryway to a well-gaurded green in the trees. Highly recommended. It's not the score that counts here, but the enjoyment of a beautiful day on the links.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Purisima Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Purisima Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Purisima Golf Course to your Saves list