We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big burger on the beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jalama Beach Grill

Jalama Beach Grill
Jalama Beach Park, Lompoc, CA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 99 restaurants in Lompoc
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Big burger on the beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I heard about a burger at Jalama Beach that was big and good. It's a ways out there, but well worth the beautiful drive to the isolated campground and general store. The general store has a grill that makes a big and good burger. The burger comes with fries, so may fries, that I could not finish them. There is a dining area with tables and chairs with spectacular views of the beach. The park has an entry gate with a ranger. They will let you in with a one hour pass to go to the grill. Just ask the folks in the grill to validate and your visit will be free.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    9
    4
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
vandenberg village, ca
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“GREAT BREAKFAST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Three of us had breakfast and all were very pleased. Good variety, service, quality and friendly service. Lunch and dinner menu very nice also.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea,CA / Chattanooga, TN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beyond Belief...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The famous JalamaBurger is absolutely awesome! The fries are even better than MacDonalds ... and enjoy from a surfside window view worth the drive and wait.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The preparation of the foods here are done with care. It's a grill, but does have a fairly diverse menu. The Jalama burger is their primary claim, but they have lots of other options too. I only tried the burgers because I saw no reason to try anything else.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great burger and nice friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stopped into the state beach and were just going to have a quick look around, but a guy who was also visiting there said we should try the 'Lama burgers. We weren't really ready for dinner yet but when we saw the great menu we decided to give it a go. We were glad we did, as the old guy behind the counter was lovely and even offered to cut the huge burger in half so we could share it. We also ordered a portion of fries (yummy with some kind of season-all on them) and onion rings (which were beer battered and gorgeous!) and a drink. The whole thing came to just over $15 so wasn't too expensive either. The place is quite unusual and has a load of history stuff on the walls to have a look at while you wait for your food. The location is also spot on but watch out for the cheeky birds; they are fearless and will try to steal your fries (the guys warned us about it when we left the shop)!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalama Beach Grill also viewed

 

Been to Jalama Beach Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jalama Beach Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.