We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT BREAKFAST” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jalama Beach Grill

Jalama Beach Grill
Jalama Beach Park, Lompoc, CA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 99 restaurants in Lompoc
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
vandenberg village, ca
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“GREAT BREAKFAST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Three of us had breakfast and all were very pleased. Good variety, service, quality and friendly service. Lunch and dinner menu very nice also.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    9
    5
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brea,CA / Chattanooga, TN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beyond Belief...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The famous JalamaBurger is absolutely awesome! The fries are even better than MacDonalds ... and enjoy from a surfside window view worth the drive and wait.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The preparation of the foods here are done with care. It's a grill, but does have a fairly diverse menu. The Jalama burger is their primary claim, but they have lots of other options too. I only tried the burgers because I saw no reason to try anything else.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great burger and nice friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stopped into the state beach and were just going to have a quick look around, but a guy who was also visiting there said we should try the 'Lama burgers. We weren't really ready for dinner yet but when we saw the great menu we decided to give it a go. We were glad we did, as the old guy behind the counter was lovely and even offered to cut the huge burger in half so we could share it. We also ordered a portion of fries (yummy with some kind of season-all on them) and onion rings (which were beer battered and gorgeous!) and a drink. The whole thing came to just over $15 so wasn't too expensive either. The place is quite unusual and has a load of history stuff on the walls to have a look at while you wait for your food. The location is also spot on but watch out for the cheeky birds; they are fearless and will try to steal your fries (the guys warned us about it when we left the shop)!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmpoc
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Needs a thorough cleaning and new employees”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Ok, we all undertsand that a great burger and fries at the beach inherently tastes better. Maybe it's the atmosphere, the view, the salt air - whatever. But that doesn't mean we should risk our health should it?

The employees are all either in HS or fresh out and certainly do not care about cleanliness, customer service or food. Becuase of the tight space in front of the ordering window, they make all patrons stand behind some "imaginary" line. The rest of the store and shop all have hanging signs that say "Do not wait for food here". It's comical becuase there isn't enough sapce to sit down outside and wait becuase those tables are taken by patrons eating.

Also, the second reason for standing behind that imaginary line is you really don't want to see the cooks scratchign themselves and then making your burger. The short time I was watching them make peoples food, I saw raw meat patties right next to produce. WTH? The cooks are rude and really don't give a rodents behind.

This is par for the course as the entire camping facility is old, nasty and in need of serious updating. I really can't ebeleive the health department hasn't closed them down. Or maybe they are beyond their reach as it is in a county park?

Get a fish taco on the streets of LA and you have about the same chance of not getting sick.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalama Beach Grill also viewed

 

Been to Jalama Beach Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jalama Beach Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.