We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoying this restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Herb Home

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Herb Home
426 North H Street, Corner Maple and North H Street, Lompoc, CA (Formerly Taco Bell)
(805) 735-3980
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 99 restaurants in Lompoc
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Lompoc, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Really enjoying this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Not being a knowledgeable Thai food customer it took me a while to find my favorite dish but with a little help from my son and wife I have found it. The pineapple chicken or shrimp curry dish is excellent! The food is very fresh and tasty! They have wine and beer available however only offer cans of soft drinks so they aren't refillable. The waitresses are all very friendly and the place is kept very clean. It’s become one of regular places to eat in town and their food is consistently excellent!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    8
    9
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lompoc, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Super Yummy, Fresh, and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I love Herb Home! The wait staff is soooo nice, and friendly! The flavors I have discovered here are incredible! I keep wanting to come back over and over, this was my seventh visit to Herb Home and it will not be my last!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmpoc
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“strange building and decor, but really great Thai food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Fresh, authentic, spicey and flavorful. It's a little pricey, but worth the extra money for really great thai food.

The building is the old Taco Bell structure so you drive up and expect Mexican food. The name is also a little unique, but when you do finally try it, it is a real treat - especially for the cuturally deprived area.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My mother and I ate here on our first full day visiting California. A friend of hers took us here to show us what REAL Thai/Asian food was like. We were not disappointed.

The restaurant is located in a building that once housed a Taco Bell, so it's kind of interesting to go inside a building with Spanish influence, and end up eating Asian food. The dishes were cooked to order, and you can ask them to adjust the spiciness of the food. If you have never had Thai food, be forewarned: It is spicy! For the nonadventurous or skittish, I'd suggest starting off with any of the fried rice combinations, or order your meal "mild".

The texture was awesome. It wasn't too chewy, not too crunchy. The food was cooked to perfection, and unlike most Asian restaurants I'd eaten at back home in Georgia, it wasn't too greasy or too slimy. It was perfect.

Most restaurants of any ethnic cuisine have all of their meats, fruits, veggies, and herbs trucked in from some factory or warehouse from who-knows-where. Herb Home only does that with their meats. They grow their own vegetables and herbs. So any dish you order will have fresh veggies and fresh herbs in it. I can really tell the difference.

Also, try the Thai Tea and coconut ice cream for dessert. Both will really tame those spices that tingle on the tongue and linger for a while.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pad Thai!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Is amazing here! It's not greasy and everything is fresh!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herb Home also viewed

 

Been to Herb Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herb Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.