We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed...lost liquor license?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant 4300 - CLOSED

Restaurant 4300
4300 Club House Rd, Lompoc, CA 93436-1349
805-733-4300
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Restaurant 4300 is the newest restaurant in Lompoc, located at the Village Country Club, near Vandember Village, is the perfect place for a lunch or dinner with a great golf course view in Santa Barbara Wine Country. 15 minutes away from the Wine Ghetto, in Lompoc, open for Lunch Tuesday thru Sunday from 11 AM to 2 PM and for Dinner Wednesday thru Saturday from 5 PM to 9 PM. Her owner Sonseeah Gil, was the original owner of Sissy's Uptown Cafe, also in Lompoc. The food is fresh, made daily out local ingredients only and the dinner menu change every week according to season and what is ripe at the moment. The Chef Ariel Battafarano, is from Argentina, so go open to try mediterranean food, with some latin vibes. The wine list is for the most part affordable from local wineries only, you can met local wine makers every now and then. The ambient is casual, it's not fine dining, a lot of golfers, local business people and military from the base, great place to keep it secret. I recommended to everybody who likes good, simple, fresh food, it worth the drive, specially if you are wine tasting in the region.
santa barbara
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Closed...lost liquor license?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

As of immediately, they are closed. Drive here for dinner one night and found the parking lot empty. Much to our surprise, a note was posted saying that they are closed and if people stop bringing liquor to the premises, maybe they will get their liquor license back. Had dinner here a few times before and thought it was great. Just a bummer the good joints don't make it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    4
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Like Eating in the Dining Room of a Nursing Home”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Sorry, wanted to like this place, but it is lacking so much. First of all, ambiance. Seriously, a little interior design help would go a long way. It really is like eating with your elderly aunt at the nursing home dining room. Maybe that's why the food tasted like nursing home food also, I just couldn't get past the setting? Anyway, they need to notch it up a bit...quite a bit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, Fine Service makes this Lompoc Valley's best choice for quality dining.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

My spouse and I have been to this restaurant several times as a couple and with friends. We've also visited other restaurants in the Lompoc Valley and surrounding communities, so we know the field pretty well. This place stands up well in comparison with much pricier restaurants in the Santa Ynez Valley and Santa Barbara. The menu items are imaginative and well-prepared with fresh local ingredients. The sauces are a particular strength of this restaurant. The service is excellent and the owner, Sonseeah Gil, has always been there to visit with her diners. It's obvious that Restaurant 4300 is more than just a business for Sonseeah; if her patrons are happy, she's delighted. Our favorite day to go is Sunday when there are typically 2-3 menu offerings, each a complete three-course meal for a very reasonable set price (currently $18). There's a very fine wine and beer selection, too, featuring local brands. It's truly an excellent restaurant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

Food was good. Lunch was a bit skimpy. Dinner was better but not overly fancy. There are better in the area.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salem, or
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Restaurant Needs Improvement”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Our Valentine's Day dinner menu listed entrees and desserts, but no salads. Accordingly, we expected a salad to be included. We were wrong.

The restaurant is bland, almost dismal in appearance. However, my wife's coconut curry mahi-mahi was very good, as were the housemade rolls. My steak was cooked to medium as requested, and with a peppercorn sauce was very good. Unfortunately, too much of it was inedible. The included potatoes and vegetable were delicious.

The manager was friendly and offered us a complimentary chocolate dessert. It must have been excellent as my wife left me none.

The restaurant, while good in some respects, desperately needs improvement.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant 4300 also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant 4300, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.