We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear River Casino Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bear River Casino Hotel to your Saves list
Bear River Casino Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Bear Paws Way, Loleta, CA 95551   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loleta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A wonderful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were driving from San Francisco, and came upon this almost by chance. It was a great casino and hotel. They put us in a suite due to a lack of options, and it was great. The casino was fun, and the restaurant was awesome. The staff are really nice, and the atmosphere is perfect. I would stay here over any hotel nearby! My girlfriend and I, even won money off of the slot machines.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
It is very nice to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and I was happy to see that you found us. It is exciting to see that you had fun in the casino and even won some money. Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know that our employees were nice and made sure you enjoyed your stay. We are certainly very proud of our team here and would expect them to do the same for every guest. Please come see us again next time up the coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    42
    21
    9
    8
See reviews for
30
56
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I agree with the other reviewers - the rooms are new and very nice. I have indoor allergies, and was sensitive to something in the room - maybe the cleaner? Otherwise, no real complaints. I would recommend this hotel. The lobby is smoky, because it's next to the casino, but the hotel itself is smoke-free. Parking was a little tricky when they were busy.

Room Tip: The "mountain" view was actually a view of the Reservation, parking lot and a hill. A litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
It was very thoughtful of you to take the time to post a review following your stay and it is appreciated. We were sorry to hear that you may had a reaction to something in the room, but very happy to hear that you enjoyed the room itself. We have heard similar feedback regarding the parking and have installed some signage to help guide guests to where they want to go. We do provide free valet under the hotel porte cochere and there is a parking garage for hotel guests as well. Thank you very much for staying with us and please come stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

As the name implies, the Bear River Casino Hotel is part of the Bear River Casino.

The rooms are very nice and would rate very well, if not five stars (out of five). The rooms are of adequate size and are of very good quality and cleanliness. The king bed room only has one really comfortable chair (for reading or watching TV) and I would expect a five star hotel to have two, because there are normally two people in the room. The double queen rooms do not have any comfortable chairs, just a desk chair. Most rooms do not have a mini-fridge or a microwave.

There is a 24 hour casino gas station and cars get gas all night long... which can be somewhat noisy. I suggest you get a room that is not close to the gas station. In fact, the premium side of the hotel (the oceanview side) also is the freeway side. I might suggest you save the 10 or 20 dollars and get a mountainview room (with a nice view of the parking lot) if you prefer quiet.

Like any intelligently run casinos, they have their specials. Now, you can get a king bed room for a 100 bucks and get a 50 dollar credit at their very good restaurant (which rates almost 5 stars by itself) and 50 dollars in casino chips... the room is essentially free. Or, if you just want the room, the internet rates start very low because they want you to throw a few coins in the slot machines.

For a free room, this place is outstanding. A word of advice... unlike Las Vegas and similar to most Indian casinos, don't expect to win a lot of money at the Bear River Casinos. For example, they have altered the rules a bit for the black jack tables so that the odds are very much in their favor instead of ever so slightly in their favor as in Las Vegas.

Room Tip: Read what I wrote above. Stay far away from the 24 hour gas station and even the side of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review of our property. We will certainly consider your idea of more chairs inside the rooms. We thank you for the idea. We also believe that whether you want a view of the ocean, valley, and river or you just want the quieter side of the hotel that both have nice enough views and come at a very good value.

We would encourage everyone to give the casino a chance. I think you will find that our hold is competitive with any of the nicest casinos you have visited. We also have a very wide selection of slots and table games.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, England
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Hotel is fairly new (coming up for 1 year old) and is easily reached from 101, set on a hill with views out over the river. Although in the same building hotel and restaurant are separate from gaming area. Reception was friendly and efficient. Our river view suite was spacious clean and comfortable. The bathroom has a large shower area, but no bath. You can request room with microwave and fridge, but we didn't. TV and complementary WiFi worked fine.

Dinner in restaurant was delicious and reasonably priced, starter and main for two with glass of wine and tip $50. Waiting staff were enthusiastic, but a bit amateurish, so we got pleasant rather than slick service.

All in all this was a great place to spend two nights whilst viewing giant redwoods and lost coast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post your review of our property. We also believe we are conveniently located along the highway and that our views are dramatic and beautiful. We were particularly pleased to read that your room met your expectations regarding cleanliness. That is our goal for each guest on each stay.

It was very nice to hear that you enjoyed your meal in the River's Edge restaurant. We certainly believe it is a delicious product at a good value. We would encourage every guest to at least give the casino a chance. We have the best selection of slots and table games in the North Coast. We would hope to see you again on your next trip along the Lost Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The room that we stayed in was fine, large, nice bedding, decent bathroom and TV. Coffee maker in the room, but no fridge. We had booked well in advance, and arrived at 4 pm on the day. We were told that our room on the 3rd floor was not ready, could we find something to do for 30 minutes or so or we could take a room on the first floor that doesn't have the view we had booked. After driving for 9 hours we were not interested in waiting 30 minutes or whatever to get in our room, when it clearly stated in our reservation that check-in was 3 pm/ No offer from the clerk to refund any of what we paid for the view room either. We had dinner in the restaurant. I cannot describe the food as anything less than awful. I had pasta that was floating in about 2 inches of a clear soup like broth, no flavour at all. My partner had a steak sandwich that was on horrible bread with a poor tasting sauce, all in all a bad experience. This needs to be corrected as there is no place within walking distance to eat.

As for the casino, extremely smokey and half the machines are shut down, so if you were there for a night of gambling you would have a very limited selection of slot machines.

A disappointment on all fronts, would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your experience. We would certainly have rooms available by 3pm. However, if there is a specific room that you are wanting, it is possible that there may be a brief wait for the room. That just all depends on when the housekeepers are able to get into the specific room.

I am very sorry to hear that the food in the restaurant was not to your satisfaction. We would expect to meet your expectations each and every time. We truly apologize for falling short.

We also understand our guest frustrations with the casino floor having so many machines down during that week. We share the same frustrations. We were putting new carpet into the casino in order to keep the property looking fresh and clean and it did require the machines to be shut down and moved by section. Unfortunately, not all of the machines came back up as quickly as we would have hoped. We apologize for any inconvenience this caused to any of our guests and sincerely hope that everyone understands that it was every bit as frustrating for us as well. We are very sorry that there were so many issues during your stay and we would only hope that you would consider giving us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have nothing negative to say about the hotel or the hotel staff. The rooms are quite nice for the price...having said that, the restaurant really needs to get its act together! I would like to thank the restaurant staff for ruining my holiday. being told there was an hour wait for a table wasn't fun, but accepted it and wandered off. After an hour and fifteen minutes we thought we ought to check in. Four were ahead of us is what we were initially told. When we checked in, we were told that there were still two ahead of, we were confused. It was explained to us that since there were "only" two of us, we were waiting for the ONE table that was being used for two. ONE table for every party of two. WOW, unless you're in a group you just don't matter at all. Good to know. Since we don't matter, we won't be returning, ever.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you had such a long wait in the restaurant. We do try to encourage reservations whenever there is a holiday. For better or worse, our demand on holidays for the restaurant exceeds our capacity. Once again, we are very sorry that your wait for the restaurant was so excessive. We would hope that you would give us another chance. We are confident that we can meet you expectations. And, please, feel free to give the hotel and/or casino a try as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights while sightseeing. Nice place to relax. Large rooms, good prices. We ate dinner at the snack bar, the restaurant a little too high. Weekday room rates for 2 queens only 65 with tax. We loved this place. Wished we lived closer. Better than any hotel in Eureka for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We believe we are in a perfect position for those traveling along the 101 Highway for sightseeing purposes. We are minutes away from either beaches or redwoods and we are also close enough to town for any other needs you may have. And, most importantly, we have almost anything you may be looking for in order to relax before or after sightseeing. We have a gas station and full service convenience store, we have 2 restaurants plus room service, we have a non-smoking bar as well as a separate smoking bar, and we have the finest selection of slot machines and table games along the North Coast. We would be more than happy to welcome you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bear River Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear River Casino Hotel

Address: 11 Bear Paws Way, Loleta, CA 95551
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Loleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bear River Casino Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-new Bear River Hotel is the newest addition to Bear River, here to make your gaming experience even better. The hotel complex features a new restaurant complete with a new menu and a spectacular view of the Eel River Valley and Pacific Ocean, a lobby bar, 105 guest rooms (many with amazing views of the valley and ocean) and meeting space, all connected to the award-winning Bear River Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Bear River Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear River Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.