We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cuisine and friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haruka Sushi Bar & Asian Cuisine

Haruka Sushi Bar & Asian Cuisine
550 S Cherokee Ln, Ste. H, Lodi, CA 95240
(209) 334-9988
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 164 Restaurants in Lodi
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Restaurant details
New York City
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
639 helpful votes 639 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was a great dining experience. The sashimi and sushi were so fresh. We also loved the pot stickers, tempura and the steak teriyaki was excellent. The location is in an ugly and boring strip mall with other low-end stores. However, once inside the restaurant it is surprisingly attractive.

Our waiter is one of the owners and he went out of his way to be pleasant, welcoming and helpful. The surprises were the freshness of the sashimi fish. It was so delicious. Additionally the quality of the steak was at the highest level.

You can't go wrong here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lodi, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Does Lodi have a decent restaurant?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Locals have recommended Haru as a great sushi joint. So my wife and I decided to give it a try. The food was horrible. Please do not premake tempura shrimp for it makes the whole roll taste stale! There were only two table tops being served at that time. Couldn't they at least make a fresh sushi roll? We wanted to give them a second chance a year later in hopes the food had improved. Not to our surprise, it was equal as bad. Sorry Haru , we will never return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isleton, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Japanese Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The waiters are friendly and service is great. The food is fresh and very tasty. The portions are generous.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloha
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Lots -o - Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We had a B-day party here a while back. It was entertaining and yummy food. Everyone enjoyed their meal and had a good time.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Sushi Rolls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I've never been here before but decided to go after reading the online reviews (#2 Restaurant in Lodi). I was expecting this dining experience to be a good one and it was. I ordered three different rolls and they were all fresh, tasty, and presented well. The service was attentive, professional, and friendly. The value is appropriate. Most rolls were priced $8 to $13 and are decent sized. Haru's menu also contains cooked food, such as bento boxes, etc., in case you're not quite in the mood for nigiri or hand rolls. There is a small sushi bar to sit at if you feel like watching some sushi being made, or you can sit at tables. Haru also has TVs on the walls for watching sports. I would definitely go back!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haruka Sushi Bar & Asian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Haruka Sushi Bar & Asian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haruka Sushi Bar & Asian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.