We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Comfy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Locke House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lockeford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Locke House
Save
You added Inn at Locke House to your Saves list
19960 Elliott Road, P. O. Box 1510, Lockeford, CA 95237-1510   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct & Save!!!
Ranked #1 of 1 Lockeford B&B and Inns
Southern CA
1 review
“Quaint and Comfy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

After reading some great reviews, my husband and I decided to try this bed and breakfast. When we first drove up, I thought it might turn out to be like my great-uncles old cabin, but once we got to the front entrance, it was amazing. It's a historic building, so it definitely has an older feel, but it looks great and has been well kept with nice and appropriate remodeling. I really liked the decor. I was the most impressed with the bathroom, which was definitely a remodel with a nice big shower and heated tile floors. I also really liked the parlor, and the outdoor area has an English garden feel.

There was a snack available in the afternoon (for us it was persimmon bread). And they have the menus for the nearby restaurants in a binder, which I really appreciated since it's a smaller town. The breakfast was AMAZING! My favorite was the homemade applesauce, which tasted like thickened apple cider. The couple who run the inn are very kind and (for those of you who have experienced this elsewhere, as we have) don't ask about or allude to personal affairs.

This isn't a place to bring smaller children unless the weather is good enough to stay outdoors for most of the day, since it does have historic and breakable items. But, it's perfect for a relaxing trip or getaway. It kind of felt like being home with amazing food and not all the work.

  • Liked — How I felt at home; heateed tile floors and warm gas stove in the room
  • Disliked — the walkway to the breakfast area
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipal, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this review, April 13, 2010
We are so glad you enjoyed the inn and your stay. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
55
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

What an amazing stay we had at the Inn. The breakfast is to die for. From fresh peaches with almond creme fraiche to country pancakes and ham the first morning. Then fresh mixed fruit with yogurt to eggs and bacon(local) the second morning. After talking to a few other people that have stayed there first asked what we had for breakfast. But the stay was also a very pleasure and relaxing time as well. Both Lani and Richard were very helpful recommending activities for the day; as well as; dinner that night. The size of the place is great too. We only saw the four other couples that were staying there at breakfast time.

  • Liked — Food, Cleanliness, and hospitality
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G'ville, Nv
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2008

This was my first time at a B&B, and it was spectacular! From the incredibly beautiful grounds to the warmth and familial owners, our relaxed girls weekend out was perfect! Lani and Carrie were tremendously helpful ... and all of us were excited to eat every morning because the food was so good (there are no words to describe it). An added bonus was finding out the Inn was run by solar power. Our Zinfest bachelorette bash was made complete by our fantastic accommodation. Thank you Lockehouse!

  • Liked — The breakfasts outside on the terrace.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
Since your stay there have been more and more opportunities to explore the area with friends. One of our Girls Getaway groups added an excursion to a bead shop to make bracelets as their personal souvenirs of their weekend. Thank you for your review! Get your gals together again for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

The Inn at Locke House is a most unusual home from the mid 1800's. The rooms are wonderfully decorated with each one being different than another. The bathrooms are all recent renovations and very accommodating. Loni and Richard, along with their daughter, are all most hospitable and provide the best of service. Breakfast was very filling and tasted great. We hope to return sometime in the future.

  • Liked — uniqueness of facility/personnel
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

We planned a trip to Lodi as a celebration and to enjoy Zinfest. This was our second wine trip to the area and we wanted to find something more intimate. From the the first phone call to make our reservations to the morning we left, the experience was fantastic. Richard and Lani take a genuine interest in all of their guests and will bend over backwards to accommodate them. The Inn is beautiful and romantic. Lani serves wonderful, home made, breakfasts and refreshments every afternoon. Its almost although you are staying with your grandmother, they truly spoil their guests. We would highly recommend the Inn at Locke House and plan on returning ourselves as soon as possible.

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Disliked — Lack of adequate air conditioning
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

We didn't actually stay at the bed and breakfast, but discovered that the innkeepers, Lani and Richard Eklund, offered High Tea for four or more. It was absolutely the most enjoyable first tea experience anyone could ask for. The sandwiches, scones, and desserts were superb and Lani was most informative about the history of the Locke House. The bed and breakfast is charming and we would recommend it to anyone looking for that type of accomadations.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
Your heartfelt response to the Tea and Tour experience was an inspiration for us to develop monthly events. The proceeds have contributed to the Komen Foundation (Breast cancer research and treatment) and this year to Easter Seals of Northern California. Kerri and I are creating different tea sandwiches for each month. And we've had Tea Bridal Showers and Baby Showers as well as a High Tea birthday party. So come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

My husband and I recently spent a 3 night Anniversary trip at the Inn at Lockehouse. We were very happy with our comfortable, cozy room (The Langdon) on the second floor of the historic house. The solar heated tile bathroom floor and deep, clawfoot tub were fantastic.Our Inn keepers greeted us warmly and soon had some wine set out for our enjoyment. A fabulous three course dinner was prepared and served for us in the breezeway dining area. What a delicious meal! They even prepared vegetarian meals for me during our stay.Lani and Richard were wonderful to chat with and seemed to anticipate our every need. Breakfast each morning was a culinary delight and wine and snacks in the evening ended our day on a peaceful happy note. We would heartly reccomend the Lockehouse to anyone seeking a peaceful getaway in the Lodi area. Great wine tasting and shopping as well as some nice restraunts in the area too.

  • Liked — The great food and cozy room
  • Disliked — A bit in the middle of nowhere
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Locke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Locke House

Address: 19960 Elliott Road, P. O. Box 1510, Lockeford, CA 95237-1510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lockeford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lockeford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning restored historic farmhouse offering the charm and nostalgia of Gold Rush era California with the amenities of the 21st century. Each uniquely decorated guest accommodation has private bathroom, great views, and luxury amenities. Full breakfast, made with local, organic products, is served in the sunny carriageway dining room or in the garden, weather permitting. Complimentary inn-made confections and beverages available all day for guests. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Locke House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.