We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful innkeepers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Locke House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lockeford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Locke House
Save
You added Inn at Locke House to your Saves list
19960 Elliott Road, Lockeford, CA 95237-1510   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Lockeford B&B and Inns
Orinda, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful innkeepers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Inn at Locke House is a delightful bed and breakfast in a very small town outside of Lodi, an area bursting with wineries and tasting rooms. The inn keepers, Lonnie and Richard, are just so accommodating - gorgeous breakfasts served in this charming 1800's home of a physician with 13 children, Dr. Locke. There were fresh sugar cookies wafting through the house when we arrived Friday night. With the house full of antiques, the rooms are small but adequate with its own bathroom with heated floors. Lonnie was a source of information about local wineries and events, the Sandhill Crane Festival in Lodi in our case. The town of Lockford itself is tiny with a couple of antique shops and a sausage store. We enjoyed our stay here and will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
It was our pleasure to have you stay, and it will be our pleasure to welcome you again! There are so many sites to explore in this region that we "play" tourists ourselves to discover more of the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
53
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

If you're in the area for wine tasting or just relaxing, this in a wonderful place to stay the night. Lana and Richard are wonderful hosts, and they have worked very hard to create a unique country, but yet still edge of the city, experience. It's obvious Lani has a passion for this sort of thing, and it shows in the atmosphere of the place, and the food she prepares.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post a review. We do love what we do. You do know that there's lots more wine to taste, so come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

1st time guests at this very nice B&B near Lodi, CA for my husband and I and another couple. Not knowing what to expect from our choice of accommodations this weekend, we were pleasantly surprised at this quaint, comfortable and cozy inn. We have not been fans of B&B's in the past, but this Inn has changed our minds! Lani and Richard were very gracious hosts and ready to please us at every turn. They shared the Inn's history in a creative story telling way, but were not overbearing (as we have experienced at other B&B's). Our room was quiet, nicely decorated and quiet. The sitting rooms and living parlor was darling. We brought our own picnic dinner from home and enjoyed it on their outdoor patio by the lovely gardens. Breakfasts were delicious, as were the treats in the afternoon. We all even enjoyed a board game one afternoon. There are many wineries in this region and the wine tasting is amazing. Why not finish those great days with a quiet, comfortable evening at the Inn. We will definitely be back again to stay with the Eklunds!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of the building from the road. It may be just a bit more quiet t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
You'll need to stay a little longer next time and tour a bit of the town, including the soon-to-open Old School House museum. And there's always a new Lodi wine to taste! Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Loved, loved, loved this place!!!!!!! My entire family(10 of us) stayed at the Inn
for several days while attending a family wedding. Lani and Richard Eklund(owners)
were so incredibly warm and accommodating----helping with places to eat, local
wineries, directions, stores......
Being at the Inn was like being at home! The breakfasts were AMAZING----so delicious---
we never had to eat again until dinnertime!!!! I can't emphasize enough just how
hospitable the Eklund's were!!!!
And the Inn itself has such interesting history. It has been updated to a very clean,
very comfortable inn.
We couldn't have asked for a more welcoming, comfortable, hospitable place to stay!!!
THANK YOU Lani and Richard!!!!!! We all hope to visit the Inn again someday!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Your family made our "job" as hosts a breeze! It was so nice to be a part of such a joyous occasion. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and please consider another reunion during one of our holidays - Thanksgiving and Christmas, especially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mass
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at The Inn at Locke House. Lani, Richard, and Kerri were all so friendly and welcoming, the food was delicious, and the accommodations were clear and comfortable. The room and public spaces were updated in such a way that is different from many of our stays in older inns. The floors were not creaky, the rooms were not musty, the lighting was not poor. It was historic, but it was completely comfortable at the same time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for the response to your stay. We also appreciate the solidness of this 150 years old structure. Dr. Locke built it to stand for a long time. Please return from another comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed there 1 night with my wife. Loni was a great host and just as good of a breakfast cook. The room was cozy, but quiet and cooled off nicely at night. There's a great garden and porch outside to read a book in. Loni was a great host, suggesting wineries and places to eat. I had no idea there was so much wine in and around Lodi. It's a beautiful area.
Breakfast impressed us two foodies, and tided us over until about 2 in the afternoon. We met some nice people at breakfast, and found out that the Calaveras County frog jumping competition was that day. Off we went.
What a great B&B!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit! There are now over 70 wineries in the area - each so unique and serving such delicious wines that some of our guests spend a good part of their day at just one or two of them! Give yourself time to take in even more of this area on your next visit - the parks, museums and galleries are reflections of the bounty and beauty of the northern valley. Thank you for taking time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

I took a chance on purchasing a trip on Living Social. My husband and I took the trip. When we arrived, we were greeted by Lani, the owner. She had a warmth about her spirit that said, "Welcome home." Our room was clean and we had our own bathroom. My favorite breakfast was the first morning. She served a French toast orange souffle. To die for! We got our wine tasting voucher in nearby Lodi. I had no complaints about the Inn at Locke House. The only problem, per se, was that everything closes by nine in Lockeford and Lodi except for the fast food restaurants (by 10). It was a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return. Thank you for taking time to post a review. Closing early in small towns is part charm and part inconvenience during the week. Weekend hours are later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Locke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Locke House

Address: 19960 Elliott Road, Lockeford, CA 95237-1510
Location: United States > California > Lockeford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lockeford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Locke House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.