We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern California Soaring Academy

Southern California Soaring Academy
32810 165th St. East, Llano, CA 93544
661-944-1090
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Llano
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Southern California Soaring Academy is the premier provider of exhilarating glider rides in Los Angeles. We are surrounded by outstanding soaring conditions and stunning scenery. Visit us in scenic Antelope Valley, just over 1 hour driving time from downtown L.A., where nearly every day is flyable. Come for a ride and bring a friend. It’s an adventure of a lifetime, something you will be talking about for years to come. Open Fri-Sat-Sun-Mon, 9 AM to Sunset. Call or e-mail for reservations.
Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Glider flying the American way! Make a booking, be there at the set time, do the usual paperwork and off you go. No need to stay behind after your flight, either. Not exactly suitable for welfare recipients though.
Everybody is friendly, the whole organisation works, the equipment I saw is well-maintained. The DG1000 is awesome to fly!
In case you want to fly self-responsible, i.e. single-seaters, be aware that besides your valid license you need to bring your own renter's insurance.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    2
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pinon Hills, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth Every Flipping Penny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great way to celebrate my 50th birthday and check another thing off the 'ol bucket list! Adrian was a fabulous pilot who caught the thermals and flew us to nearly 11,000 feet. We soared over Baden/Powell and Mt. Baldy and managed a few "acrobatics" just for fun. Julie was a great hostess and the entire support crew was friendly and helpful. As Adrian said, it was an "epic day." Southern California Soaring Academy is an epic company!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
1 review
“L.A. Area Soaring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Excellent place for soaring. Very friendly staff with nice well maintained equipment to fly. I had not been soaring for a couple of years and was in the area on business with a free day so I spent the afternoon with them and got flying again. Highly recommend this location to anyone wanting to learn to fly sailplanes, get current or just go for a ride with experienced friendly instructors. My instructor for the day was Bill and I had a great time flying and learning about the local area and ASK-21 sailplane. Go check them out, you won't be sorry.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great soaring, Friendly People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Well maintained sailplanes and tow planes, outstanding instruction in a great soaring location staffed by very friendly people.

If you are an experienced glider pilot the location has some great soaring conditions, and the posibility of some great cross country work. They have both thermal and ridge soaring. It would also be a fine location to obtain a glider rating.

They have a good mix of sailplanes including high preformance sailpanes for rent. I typically rent lower perfomance craft like Blaniks back home. The DG 1000 with 46 to1 glide ratio was a kick to fly.

They also give rides for folks who are not rated and curious about unpowered flight.

Highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
“World Class Soaring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Greetings. I'm a private pilot, SEL + Glider, and have been flying out of SCSA for quite some time now. This is a world class operation with world class staff, world class equipment and world class soaring conditions. If you are pilot looking to enjoy some amazing soaring and vistas, this is the place. Desert, mountains, ridge soaring, ocean views from the local mountains; this place has it all! Incredible thermal activity most of the year and amazing wave conditions prevail throughout the winter. I highly recommend it!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southern California Soaring Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern California Soaring Academy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.