We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management people are very nice and rooms are clean.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1421 First St, Livermore, CA 94550   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Livermore
1 review
“Management people are very nice and rooms are clean.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

I spent 3 nites at this hotel and enjoyed it very much. It is within walking distance of the main shopping and entertainment area. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room had a great Tv and VCR. Parking is great and the area is quiet!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeshah, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
thank you for mentioning VCR. yes we have a VCR in each room at no extra charge. just bring in your own disc. and enjoy the stay :-))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    14
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
12
17
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pollock Pines, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I'm a senior adult. As a child I traveled with my parents over old Rt. 66, before Pres. Eisenhower created our Nation's Highway System. This motel conveyed many of the appearances of the motels of those past years. Unfortunately, I believe Managements efforts to keep costs down is reflected in not employing enough help. One maid cannot possibly clean almost two dozen rooms. I stayed here three nights. When first checking in, I was given a room, which had NOT been cleaned yet. I returned my first day at 3:40pm and again my room hadn't been cleaned. It's too much work for one person. When my room had been cleaned,(?) on two occasions the coffee pot had not been serviced, which leads to the question, what else hasn't been cleaned? Sorry, but I won't return

Room Tip: I believe when paying for lodging, you shouldn't have to be suspect about your accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeshah, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
sorry, if you would let us know your time, we could make special arrangements (and it is natural for someone for call in sick. it just happened to be on this day).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

DON'T STAY HERE!!! Just got home from staying here last night. I'm a long time Livermore resident and needed to stay somewhere while work was being done on my home here. All I can say is the city of Livermore should shut this dump down. Every complaint by previous reviewers is true. The bathroom was disgusting, mold and mildew everywhere. I couldn't bring myself to take a shower because it was so gross. They had tried to paint over the tile, which if you've ever tried it, doesn't work. The walls are poorly patched and you can see the previous color showing through. The refrigerator was so loud it kept me from sleeping. The sheets were so coarse and rough I didn't want to sleep on them, but the blanket was worse and there was no way I was going to touch the bedspread. All in all, I spent a horrible night here and advise others to say away.

Room Tip: There aren't any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeshah, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
sorry but what you say about the room does not seem to be as is. this place is no dump but many have in fact said that this is a jewel in the middle of Livermore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Basic motel room, park in front of door, ground level only, clean, efficient, good bang for buck. Across the street from food options. Room is a bit outdated with older TV and furnishings yet comfy like visiting an old aunt/uncle. CLEAN! QUIET!! Super old fashioned tile bathroom with great shower and a window that actually opens to fresh air..... Bed was comfortable. I'll stay again if the price remains moderate as opposed to the motels out near the freeway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeshah, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
it's good to have aunts/uncles hhh !!!!! need to visit them more often to remind us what was life/living like in those good old days. thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This motel is like a motor lodge. 22 units, single story ( which is great ) and park in front of your unit. Nice size room with large TV and great water pressure in shower. Office staff, very friendly did all they could to accommodate me. For an older motel, I think they are doing a great job. I think the staff is doing a great job keeping the rooms as nice as possible. Also, quite a few restaurants within a few blocks. I will definitely stay here again when I am in the area. Again, Thanks

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeshah, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
motor lodge feeling - how nice, I don't need to go far to get that feeling - I can have it right here.
thank you Gator !!!!!!!!! : - )))))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed there one night before continuing to the Livermore Outlet Mall. The receptionist was very friendly and we received a warm welcome. Of course the rooms are not topnotch, but it's definitely ok for the price we payed (big, clean, huge TV). The WIFI was fast and there were some free snacks in the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeshah, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
thank you for your warm words - : ))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Valley City, Utah, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I travel all the time and try to save money when and where I can. YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR! The room is horrible, Bathroom looks like you are walking into a bottle of PETO looking for a place to yak. Cobwebs in the corner. The towels feel like sand paper with stains on them, Hope they were washed. Walls in the bathroom had been painted but it looks like they ran out of paint as the old blue color could be seen through the white, they had painted the tile in the shower, don't have clue why. The wood on the doors could be pulled off by a two year old. Lets not talk about the green slime that was growing in the beautiful picture of the pool you see on the website. Slept on top of the bedspread cause I was afraid of the bedspread that came from the 60's. Wireless service and cell service, forget about it. I have never posted a review on a hotel/motel, take this for what you will.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeshah, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
sorry, but i hope you did not have a terrible day at work to bring it out at a room that is nice and clean (regarding the age of the motel). the wifi service is one of the best in town if you even tried it.
and if you even tried lifting the bed spread, and to your amazement, you would have found snow white crispy sheets. have a nice day and do try us again. thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1421 First St, Livermore, CA 94550
Location: United States > California > Livermore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Livermore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.