We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too cheap to check out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1421 First St, Livermore, CA 94550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Livermore
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“too cheap to check out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

i stayed with my husband and daughter of 22 for 2 weeks in a double room with kitchen. We had the fridge filled, icecream in the freezer, i even bought pans and stuff for cooking. It was so good and cheap we did not bother to check out when we left the place for 5 days to tour north california. The twobedroom place is big, very comfortable, it's quiet and in the center of Livermore.There is a nice little swimmingpool and apart from the spacious rooms another huge advantage of this hotel over other hotels in livermore is the location: at walking distance of a great movietheater where you can dine while watching the movie, and many restaurants and shops just minutes away. the beds were very comfortable as well. and the television had clear sharp vision. and every day ample clean towels, soap and shampoo. The staff at the receptiondesk is very friendly and service oriented, so is the cleaninglady and the maintenance man. There is a good washing and dry machine for 1 dollar. The only negative point is that the rooms, fridge, curtains and beds ecc. are really very old, torn (curtains) and dirty (stains on the outerbed, carpet, curtains) eventhough there is cleaning every day the place is beyond cleaning really. Sheets and towels were clean though so we did not mind so much the rooms being that rundown.

Room Tip: get the big appartment with two bedrooms and a kitchen, there are three double beds in this appartme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeshah, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
the maid and maintenance man are very grateful for your nice response. they are hoping to see
you back soon. thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    14
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
12
17
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

As the other reviews mention, it is an older property with a small shower. No problem with me. The room was very clean and comfortable, and although on a fairly busy street I found it to be quiet. I had no problem sleeping at all. Room had fridge, microwave, wifi. The staff was very friendly and allowed me to print my boarding pass on their office computer. It was perfect for my stay between visiting the Blackhawk auto museum in Danville, and heading to the San Jose airport the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeshah, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
ask and you shall receive - you asked for a printer and you got it- hope you had a safe flight home !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idyllwild, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Extremely grateful to Mike for his kind help in canceling an e-reservation while we were on the road and couldn't easily navigate the cancellation system for a reservation not made directly through the hotel website. We selected the hotel for proximity to Pleasanton to visit a friend in a nursing facility there. We also liked the responsiveness to other comments posted on this website. Due to changes in the trip itinerary we didn't end up needing to stay on the day planned but while passing through the area on another day drove by and definitely liked the looks and the location, near Trader Joe's, downtown, etc. We would not hesitate to book again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeshah, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
the outside good looks (blooming flowers) is waiting for you to see the inside (rooms). hope your GPS will lead you to this motel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The rooms were very clean and comfortable, the staff is very professional, friendly, and they make you feel right at home. It's nice to check into their room so quickly and have everything waiting for you when you arrive. They have complimentary coffee, cereal, waters, granola bars, and a nice fridge/ freezer cooler for your own food if you need it. Location is very central as well to downtown Livermore, with a ton of restaurants and a grocery store right across the street. Excellent value and comfortable setting made for a somber experience. Will definitely return next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeshah, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
thank you. big ones are not always nice as expected. small ones are just as good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The motel is older however it is clear that the ownership is commited to cleanliness and modernization. I stayed for one night in Room 102. The room was very attractive There were four very new full pillows with crisp new pillowcases on the clean, comfortable bed. The room had a small refigerator, coffee maker and microwave, a large T.V. with remote, and easy-to-connect high speed wireless internet. The owner/manager was very friendly and helpful.....just the type of small businessman whom I feel has earned my support. I slept with the windows open because I enjoy fresh air and it was quiet and peaceful all night even though the motel was full.

I walked into quaint downtown Livermore, about four blocks and had dinner at an excellent Indian restaurant and watched a movie at one to the two movie theaters that is within short walking distance. There is a CVS drugstore, a Noah's Bagels and a Starbucks directly across the street from the motel.

I would absolutely be willing to stay at this hotel again and would anticipate a carefree stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeshah, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
thank you Peter,
yes, the building is old but everything else is modern.
wish we could offer you a bouquet of flowers on your next trip - put them besides your open window at night and enjoy the scented breeze...thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

It's an older hotel, but well maintained, clean and quiet. I appreciated the free Internet, refrigerator and microwave. The location is excellent, with a Starbucks directly across the street, with Safeway and Trader Joe's nearby. Up the street a short distance is a small but pleasant downtown. The only drawback was that my room only had a shower, no tub.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeshah, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
next time around, let us know and we'll try to work with you assiging a room with a tub.... thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

As you all know Liver more is orginal wine countty.Some of the oldest wineries in Ca. So to get a clean room in wine country with out breaking the bank is unusual. It is an older motel shabby but very clean. full size refridgerator, microwave and coffee maker. The staff was nice, got an early check-in. Stores and restaurants were all walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeshah, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
what more do we need beside nice, clean and quiet for one low price, isn't it ...... thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1421 First St, Livermore, CA 94550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Livermore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Livermore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.