We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Livermore

Save Saved
You added Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Livermore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Livermore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 N. Livermore Ave., Livermore, CA 94551   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Livermore
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    72
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
76
48
18
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We would highly recommend the Hawthorn Suites (part of a chain) if staying or passing through the lovely town of Livermore, California. Livermore, a famous wine growing region, is located within approx. an hour's drive from San Francisco or visitors can use the Bay Area Rapid Transit (BART). (The BART station is in nearby Pleasanton/Dublin.) This hotel, has many visitors and can get very busy; especially around Thanksgiving and Christmas. It is advisable to book for these times.

The Hawthorn Suites offer a great location for either business or pleasure, with many facilities to relax such as a golf course and fitness centre, jacuzzi and swimming pool. However, we did not have time to try these facilities so I cannot comment on them. It was late Autumn so we didn't use the pool either. There is free Wi-fi; ours was a bit temperamental. But we found the reception people to be friendly and helpful and they fixed the problem. The hotel also has facilities for business conferences. A laundromat is available.

Whilst the hotel also caters for families, no pets are allowed in the rooms. They could perhaps provide kennels or some other arrangement as Americans love their pets.

Room prices were ( at the time of visiting) very reasonable for someone staying on a long or short visit. It is definitely much better than a Super 8 motel. Our king size room was of a very good standard, even for a country town hotel.

Our room on the first floor was very clean, roomy and the lovely bathroom was well equipped with fresh towels, etc. and it had a vanity top with plenty of room for toiletries, makeup, etc. with good lighting and mirrors. As always though with most hotels, we need more hooks for wet towels, clothing. It was furnished with a flat-screen TV, desk, chest of drawers, small wardrobe, lounge furniture, kitchenette with coffee maker, etc and bar fridge. There were cupboards to put in some shopping for long term guests. Plus the room had its own ironing board / iron and safe.

A big plus with the room was the fact that we were able to open the door to the little balcony for some fresh air. Not all rooms however, have a balcony. Whilst there were stairs down to the dining area to work off extra calories, there is a lift available and a trolley for luggage.

A cooked American style breakfast is included in the price, in a pleasant dining area where you can have as much as you like. Eggs, bacon, etc., toast, waffles, cakes, bagels, English muffins, cereal eg Cornflakes, yogurt, coffee and tea are all on the menu. We liked the English muffins as they don't have sugar in them unlike a lot of bread in America. They could however, provide oats or some type of healthy cereal. If you are one to sleep in, try to get there reasonably early or it runs out around 9.30/10. There is a TV in the dining area but it was not a bother - handy for the weather.

Oakland International Airport (OAK) is nearby - approx. 40-minute drive, Parking is available at the hotel and a convenience store is within easy walking distance. The hotel also has a petrol station nearby to the entrance which also offers convenience food and post cards and stamps. It is about a 10 minutes drive into down town, with a bus service also running past in the main street, North Livermore Ave. (a short walk from the hotel) which also takes you to downtown. I think it was about a dollar for the bus.

For people who may be visiting Yosemite, this town and hotel also provides a good break in your journey if coming from San Francisco and well worth a stop to visit the historic wineries, such as Concannon and Wente, just down the road, who also provide lovely meals. There is also the great Cases-Croute French bakery for those who like real bread (in South Livermore Ave). (NB. Shut Monday.) But it is a very pretty town in itself.

On the con side, it would have been more convenient for us if the hotel were situated in downtown, but the advantage was that it is more peaceful in this location. And its really not that far to the shops. Plus it is not far to drive down the freeway to Target and some other department stores. eg Target and TDMax, etc. or some bargains at the new outlet stores.

All in all we would definitely go back to the Hawthorn suites.

Room Tip: Book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornLivermore, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Livermore, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your detailed review of the Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham in Livermore. We truly enjoyed having you stay with us while you were visiting your family. You were certainly with us long enough to enjoy all that our property offers.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to our area.
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Very comfortable bed! The front desk person who checked us in was very nice and helpful. The only complaint is when we went down for breakfast at 9:30, the food was cold even though it was supposed to be until 10am.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornLivermore, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Livermore, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham in Livermore. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our team was helpful during your visit. I apologize that the hot breakfast items were not as hot as they should have been, and I hope that you were able to enjoy the rest of the breakfast buffet.

I sincerely hope that you will visit us again on your next trip to the Livermore area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAWRENCEVILLE
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

First, I have stayed at this Hotel and find it quite comfortable. It's next to restaurants, shops and a great outdoor outlet. When I stayed here on Nov 30 the next day I was woke up to malfunction in their alarm system at 6am which went off for several minutes. Second, I you like to have complete remote control of my TV but for some strange reason they had a maximum volume control set at 1/4 of sound. I generally like to hear my TV above average sometimes but not extremely loud. I found it inconvenient cause some networks come in very low or weak. Last, Burnout light in main sitting area of the room. Did I complain about the alarm system not really but I did talk to the front desk about an accommodate but they did not do anything to enhance my stay. Manager was not available.

Room Tip: Stayed on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornLivermore, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Livermore, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Livermore. I sincerely apologize for the problem with the fire alarm system - it was triggered by a guest, and took some time to resolve. I am grateful that you have stayed with us before, and know that this is not a common occurrence at our property.
It is true that our televisions have a set volume limit, however we do have the ability to raise this limit if requested. Please reach out to our front desk team on your next visit with us and we will be happy to accommodate.
Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back for a relaxing stay very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I were heading home from San Francisco and decided to find a place to stay the night. We stayed here because it was conveniently close to the freeway. If you are a AAA member they give a discount so be sure to mention it. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and spacious. I was also impressed with the complimentary continental breakfast that is offered.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornLivermore, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Livermore, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have found that our location offers the perfect home base to explore the greater San Francisco Bay Area. And our full buffet breakfast lets you start your day right with our selection of eggs, sausage, waffles, yogurt, cereal, fresh fruit, etc.
We hope to see you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Livermore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Livermore

Address: 1700 N. Livermore Ave., Livermore, CA 94551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Livermore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Livermore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Livermore 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Livermore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Livermore Hotel Livermore
Hawthorn Suites Livermore
Livermore Hawthorn Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Livermore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.