We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Livermore

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Livermore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Livermore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   720 Las Flores Road, Livermore, CA 94551   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #9 of 16 hotels in Livermore
GreenLeadersBronze level
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not too bad...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I visited Livermore in November, as my boyfriend was there on business opening up the new mall just down the highway. As he already had a room there with a coworker, I booked a seperate room for us, and he came and stayed with me for the three nights I was there.

A lot of people have written that the hotel is outdated, which I don't think it is at all. The inside is very nice, and the rooms are fantastic as well. Very clean, but a little small. One of the things I wasn't thrilled about, was that I stayed during daylight savings when the clocks turned back an hour, and no one changed the clock in our room. Housekeeping was in there on two seperate days, and it was not changed back. For those of you who frequently stay at Hilton properties, you'll know that you can't change the time yourself - the top of the clock is screwed on, and needs a screwdriver to take it off so you can change the time.

The restaurant was a little odd to me. It looked like a big banquet room, with tables very spaced out all around it. It definitely didn't have a restaurant feel. The bar however, was great.

Once I checked out, and my boyfriend went back to his original room with his coworker, he realized he left his cell phone charger in the room we shared. He went to the front desk THREE times on THREE different days and and no one could help him out. He kept being told that someone would ask housekeeping and get back to him. Guess what? No one did. I was pretty unimpressed with that, since Apple chargers aren't the cheapest.

The location is okay. You're within walking distance of a small plaza with a few restaurants and things to do. If you're driving, you're about a 5 minute drive from a Target and Ross and a few other big box stores. If you don't feel like leaving the hotel, the pool is wonderful!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    55
    40
    13
    13
See reviews for
28
42
9
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maineville, Ohio
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stopped here last Friday night (26th October).

Check in was very easy. I had selected room 301 but in my profile it says "away from elevator". 301 was next to the elevator so they had already changed my room. The only issue I have was the room was a normal room, and I had paid for the larger room.

Room was in good condition. TV was good. The only issue was you couldn't really watch the TV when at the desk as the microwave was in the way!

Had a good night sleep, nice breakfast and left pretty early the next morning.

The hotel looks old from the outside but the rooms look pretty new.

Would definitely use this hotel again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The location of this hotel is very good, just off I580 in Livermore. From here you can get to just about anything in the immediate area easily and not far from the bay area and major airports. As mentioned in other reviews, plenty of parking, no issues. Getting from/to the freeway is a little tricky the first time you do it, not exactly direct access, but shouldn't be an issue. I tend to agree that it would be considered a little older, but don't think that is a problem. Most everything you need is right here, or within easy reach. Downtown Livermore is easy to get to from this hotel. Plenty of restraunts and shopping in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Very new hotel in a great location with a great staff and a price that is almost too good to be true! Livermore is a cute little town and this hotel is within easy reach of everything. Don't know how others are calling this an "old" property. I don't recall seeing anything old and certainly nothing rundown. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree L, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Livermore, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thanks for the feedback! We look forward to your next stay :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Driving up to the hotel, which is just off the freeway, you'll know it's an old motel from the 1960's that's been converted to a Doubletree. The chain has invested in making the rooms a bit quieter and in dressing up the lobby, but it's definitely an older property. Easy access to the freeway and a nearby gas station make it convenient for travelers. The street it's on is rather shabby, but the cute little downtown and all the wineries are within a ten or fifteen minute drive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
424 helpful votes 424 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is a rather old hotel that could use some renovation. It is not terrible, just not what you expect at a Double Tree.

This hotel sits across the street from a residential area. They must have some very strange zoning laws in Livermore.

They have a great parking lot. Plenty of quality spaces.

You can get to an assortment of restaurants within a couple of miles.

All in all, this hotel is just OK. Do not expect the typical Double Tree experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Clean comfortable room. Staff very friendly and efficient. A bit of an unusual location, but there are some good dinning options fairly close. Would rate it a bit higher with free Internet access. Will stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Livermore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Livermore

Address: 720 Las Flores Road, Livermore, CA 94551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Livermore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 hotels in Livermore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Livermore 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Livermore Wine Country is one of Northern California's oldest wine regions featuring over 50 wineries all just minutes from our hotel. Hotel is centrally located to many of the Tri-valley's area business and leisure attractions. Less than 10 minutes from Lawrence Livermore National Labs & Sandia National Laboratories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Livermore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Livermore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.