We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse to your Saves list
Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse
7001 N Hwy 1, P.O. Box 661, Little River, CA 95456   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd Night $50
Ranked #5 of 6 Little River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Concord, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Extraordinary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We have been staying at Dennen's once or twice a year for over 5 years now. I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else. We've stayed in 5 different rooms and all were wonderful. The Mendocinc Suite is our favorite for obvious reasons. We love the jetted tub and having not just one but 2 fireplaces. The beds in each room have been "heavenly" soft and comfortable. The decor in each room is quaint and authentic. Jo and Fred have put a lot of time and effort into making sure the furniture fits the time period of the House's heyday. As for the food- I don't know enough superlatives. We have never had a bad (or even mediocre) breakfast. The menu is imaginative and the fruit is the freshest - no matter what time of year we stay. I love having the food brought to our room. I simply wrap myself in the Inn's comfy robe and enjoy my tea and food in front of the fire. Jo and Fred, the innkeepers, are warm, welcoming and go out of their way to help make each of our stays as fun as the previous. They have a wealth of knowledge about local restaurants and activities. I have looked at the websites of other B & B accomodations in the Mendocino/Fort Bragg area and the first thing I noticed was how reasonable Dennen's rates are compared to some others - especially the "in town" places! We look forward to staying at Dennen's for many more years!

Room Tip: Decide what amenities are most important to you- I like a fireplace, a bathtub and a TV (in that ord...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    12
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
64
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We came to Dennens to spend the final four days of our honeymoon. We stayed in the Quail Cabin which is located by itself on the back of the property. The cabin itself was exactly what the pictures looked like. Loved and made great use of the wood burning stove.

Jo and Fred are two people who you meet and you realize you will never forget. We did not feel like guests for four days, we felt like family. They were attentive to our every need but were basically in the back ground the entire stay. Very non intrusive. They were both extremely helpful with anything we needed, dinner suggestions, sight seeing suggestions, etc.

I haven't even gotten to the best part yet. The breakfast. In one word, it is awesome. Something completely different everyday and equally delicious. After making the reservation, Jo called me and asked about our dietary preferences. Trust me, if there is anything you can't or won't eat, you will not have to. Jo even made us hot chocolate on a cold rainy night.

Let me conclude by saying all I was looking for was a quiet low key spot to hike, sight see, and relax. The farmhouse and Mendocino/Ft. Bragg area exceeded our every expectation. Thank you Jo and Fred for being so caring and making the last days of our honeymoon so memorable. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We ended up staying five lovely nights. Each morning we looked forward to our gourmet breakfast. The innkeeper (Jo) was attentive to our every need. My wife has food allergies as well as being allergic to feather beds. Jo modified our breakfast to accommodate my wife and completely changed out the feather bedding and re-vacuumed the room for us. If you are staying in the Mendocino area, we highly recommend Dennen's Victorian Inn.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We chose Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse as a place to stay to celebrate our 40th anniversary. Our room (Mendocino Suite) was great! The breakfast in bed was delicious, the service was excellent and the attention to detail was unsurpassed. Jo, our host, could not have been more helpful in offering suggestions about restaurants, sightseeing, etc. We enjoyed everything about our stay and highly recommend Dennen's.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Jo and Fred made sure that our first stay at their B & B was a special and memorable experience. There was an obvious attention to the details and they made every effort to see that we were comfortable and that our needs were met. The Dennen Suite is comfortable and spacious. The bed is to die for! It has a very nice bathroom with dual shower heads. There is a deck off the sitting room with a lovely view of the garden, and the breakfast table has a beautiful ocean view. Speaking of breakfast, that has got to be the best part of a stay at this B & B. Jo is a fabulous cook. Every morning a wonderful gormet breakfast was delivered to our room, at exactly the requested time. We left feeling relaxed, refreshed and pampered. We can hardly wait for our next trip to Dennen's.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed at Dennens Victorian Farmhouse on the Mendocino coast for three nights in early June. This is a classy and peaceful place to be. The gardens and ocean views are beautiful. The rooms have fireplaces that are replenished with wood each day. The rooms are individually designed with gorgeous antiques; our beds were comfortable complete with lush pillows. Our dietary restrictions were noted and an enormous, fresh organic breakfast was served every morning at our cottage door at the time we requested. Dennens’ has first class service and the best homemade breakfast of any B & B I have ever stayed in. Often the portions were too much to finish.
The service is outstanding; everyone greeted us with warmth and was eager to accommodate us at any time of the day. The owners designed this B & B as a dream come true; they clearly treat customers the way they would like to be treated on a holiday. The prices cannot be beat for the comfort, friendly service, and little touches. The value at Dennens Victorian Farmhouse is superior; they spoiled us! This is a first class experience for an amazing affordable price!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Lorenzo, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We decided to go to the coast and didn't know where to stay. Found Dennen's on the GPS and called to see if a room was available? Jo was very pleasant she gave me the rates etc. We drove past the Inn and turned around and came back to it. We stayed 2 nights and it was fantastic. Beautiful view of the ocean, room was great; loved the bed and the fireplace. Breakfast was delicious plenty of good food and a carafe of hot coffee delivered right to our room and at the time we set up.Great service. Jo and Fred were very nice and friendly.
Looking forward to another stay there..

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse

Address: 7001 N Hwy 1, P.O. Box 661, Little River, CA 95456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our romantic bed and breakfast in Mendocino County. Sit back and experience amazing ocean views, beautiful scenery, and gracious service at our Mendocino Coast Inn. Rooms at our Mendocino B&B feature custom furnishings and luxurious linens, some with private decks, fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy an unforgettable gourmet breakfast in bed, complimentary Wi-Fi, and special packages at our inn in Little River, CA, only minutes to the picturesque village of Mendocino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.