We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Little River Inn on Mendocino Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little River Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Little River Inn to your Saves list
Little River Inn
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   7901 North Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Certificate of Excellence
Cloverdale, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Spectacular Little River Inn on Mendocino Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Little River Inn shines brilliant white on the Pacific Coast of Mendocino County. This collection of buildings boasts a wonderful restaurant, 9 hole golf course, spa, tennis courts and an iconic bar, all of which have spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. Our room was an upstairs end unit with jacuzzi tub, fire place and a kiing bed. The Inn is owned and operated by 5th generation innkeepers. Their co-owner, Marc Dym, Culinary Institute of America trained is a master of kitchen creations which highlight the amazing seafood caught along the coast. Makes a pretty darn good Pork Osso Buco. Very romantic location and setting.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view but ask for one at the end of a building for additional privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    118
    25
    10
    3
See reviews for
77
361
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Martinez, California, Usa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Beautiful views from nice large rooms, most with fireplaces (some gas/some wood burning). Clean and comfortable, rooms have a small refrigerator and coffee maker. Some of the property could use a little refreshing up, minor repairs, paint, etc, although the place is still quite nice and has been around for a long time. Excellent bar & restaurant on the property with delicious food and drinks. Also an excellent Spa where we received wonderful massages (you get get the massage in your hotel room for a few dollars more if you'd like). The grounds are exceptional with beautiful gardens through out the property.

Room Tip: Upstairs room have little better view and you can leave your door open to hear the waves crashing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The whole experience was incredible! Gorgeous views, beautiful landscaping and cottages nestled in the cliffs made this a fantastically romantic getaway. We had a wood burning fireplace and a jacuzzi tub for two. The bed was just soft enough to make you dream you were sleeping on a cloud. The staff made us feel very welcome and everyone was friendly. We had dinner in the restaurant that night. It was to die for! I had the duck and it was superb. Breakfast the next day was also delicious and filling. We were both so relaxed after our stay. I can't wait to go back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisun City
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. We had a very nice room, king bed, fire place, jacuzzi bath tub for 2, out side deck with a 2 person jacuzzi spa. The room was very clean and fresh. There was a small fridge in the room, a coffee pot. It was very quiet in our room. We had neighbors on both sides of us and couldn't hear anything. Our private deck with rocking chairs was pleasant to be out there. The check in staff was very friendly and helpful, making reservations for us. We had a car pick us up for dinner so we didn't have to drive. I would recommend everyone stay here at least once. We came back after staying here 27 years ago. Beautiful grounds, restaurant, golf course and spa.
They offer dog friendly rooms.

Room Tip: We had room 258, it was separate from the main property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

We were on our way to San Francisco and ran across the Little River Inn. The view, service and food in the restaurant is unmatched. I would highly recommend this nice little venue to anyone. We will be making a trip back just to spend more time here!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is one of the best inns I've ever stayed at. Even the lowest-priced rooms have ocean views and the place has all the right touches. Surprisingly, the food at the restaurant was outstanding (as evidenced by the many locals eating at the bar). You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms probably have better views and are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Ca.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Haven't stayed at the inn for awhile, and found it freshly painted and with red, white, and blue banners on the front. Charming. We were in our favorite room with fireplace and view of beach through a grove of trees. Food for dinner was not gourmet but very good. Breakfasts are superior and always a treat - yummy scones, wonderful scrambled eggs, and my husband devoured those pancakes in no time! We'll be back!

Room Tip: End rooms overlooking the ocean are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
2.3 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
10.9 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
9.9 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
2.2 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
1.4 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 stars 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little River Inn

Address: 7901 North Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic coastal resort with spectacular ocean views, scrumptious breakfasts and dinners in the garden-view dining room, lighter fare and libations in the popular Ole's Whale Watch Bar, golf course and tennis courts, inspirational meeting facilities, and pampering in the Day Spa. A tradition of family hospitality since 1939 will make you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Little River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little River Hotel Little River
Little River Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.