We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Precious Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little River Inn

Save Saved
You added Little River Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Little River Inn
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   7901 North Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Little River
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Precious Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had a beautifully comfortable, and decorated cottage.. Van Damme Units.
I loved just being there looking out to the ocean and the sea lions...so cute.
It was lovely sitting in the most comfortable rocking chairs, sipping on some yummy wine and soaking in the peace.
If I had known what this place was like I would have stayed much longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    346
    91
    21
    9
    2
See reviews for
60
316
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Great staff,great ocean view,very clean rooms. Dinner: a total disaster ! I had the Chippino $29 ,it was simply awful.Tiny shrimp,tough overcooked seafood that didn't taste fresh and a sauce swimming in oil/grease,just horrible. Hotel is really nice but spend your food dollars some place else.When I brought up the bad dinner the lady behind the desk said she was sorry but made no attempt to refund my $29 meal price ;perhaps she didn't have the authority. Plenty of very good restaurants in the area or just up the road in Ft Bragg,spend your money where the food is fresh and you are appreciated.

Room Tip: Had room 102 absolutely amazing ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The photos in previous reviews are exactly as posted so I will not go into deep descriptions of rooms, just highlights. My best advice is to stay at the "seaside luxury" cottages if you can afford it. The units are separate from the main lodge and are located down the road about 200 yards away. They are PRIVATE and include your own spa. I stayed in Coombs cottage (probably the most pricey unit), which is a separate unit onto itself and offers the ultimate in privacy. The room was well kept and comfortable with a fireplace but the bathroom needed updating. Tile counters are out of fashion, solid surfaces are in! It was clean though. Our bathroom functioned as needed: lots of hot water and good water pressure. No issues with the layout of bathroom, it just needs to catch up to 2014 standards. The main bedroom was a pleasant seaside décor with beautiful ocean view.

I did get to view the interior of a Van Damme property adjacent to Coombs cottage. Specifically the Margaret Bullard room. The unit had an updated bathroom and a beautiful view and is a corner unit. So you only share one wall with your neighbors. The other units there share two adjacent walls. The furnishings were nicely done. This would be my 2nd choice in rooms or any other seaside units. I hope in the future they update Coombs cottage to match this unit.

If you're looking to save some money on accommodations. Stay at the main lodge. Although like in previous reviews, it can be a hit or miss depending on your standards. When I am on holiday, I am willing to pay more for the extra privacy and luxury.

Without a doubt I will be returning to the Little River Inn!!!!!!! We had great customer service from the reception, spa service, golf, and restaurant etc. Everyone was courteous, friendly, knowledgeable and polite. This service is also reflective of the ENTIRE Mendocino area!

I recorded two aerial videos. One is of the view from the inns cottages and the other the Mendocino Headlands. Go to my "stanmanh1" channel on You tube. There you will find Little River Inn and Mendocino Headlands videos. Sorry for not having a direct link to You Tube. This is not permitted by Trip advisor.

Recommended restaurants:
Café Beaujolais - great French cuisine
Albion River Inn - make reservation and show up early for sunset, very romantic setting overlooking the sea cliff

I hope you like the videos. Send me a message if you need any more questions answered.

Room Tip: If you can splurge. Opt for the "seaside luxury" cottages. To save money go for the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Coomb cottage, which is across the street from the inn. If you want privacy, this is it. No children are allowed here. It has a king bed, jacuzzi at the balcony overlooking the ocean, and a fireplace. No shared walls. The ocean view is just unbelievable. Your own private parking. The bathroom is clean, but needs some renovation. The black-out curtains block some of our view because they would not draw back fully. The cottage to the farthest right is newly renovated with even better, unobstructed view, but smaller room with one shared wall. It costs more than the other regular room. It is worth every penny for the privacy. There is a golf course on the premise. My husband loves playing here. He saw a deer prancing across while he played. The people are very easy going and not formal at all. IMO, This is not the best place for children because the ocean is rocky and not so warm. They can kayak, but there is a minimum age restriction. Maria gave the best deep tissue massage if you need one. Michelle at the Spa knows everything about where to eat and what to see. She is so friendly and helpful. She should be the concierge of the hotel. Thanks Michelle. The food at the inn is decent. There will be a separate review for that. There is a deli across the street if you need anything. And a gas station there too.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, cA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

While we were in our large, pet friendly, ocean facing efficiency suite I was so mesmerized by the view and the sound of the ocean that it distracted me from the underlying negatives. On arrival our suite was very warm and stuffy, blasted by the light coming in from the setting sun. The whole room was overly deodorized but we understood, having brought our own pet, but a sturdy laminate flooring would have fared better over time than the carpet, eek. The room could really use an update with the mish mosh of pieces from decades past. Even that would have been fine if the bedding and pillows had been more comfortable. Hard lumpy pillows have no place here, and made for difficulty sleeping. On the plus side the suite was spacious. Room service is a plus and they did their level best to deliver in a timely and professional way. Breakfast is great but the lunch/dinner menu is for the masses - not upscale or with healthy alternatives at all and I had probably the worst chopped salad ever. I was excited about the bar but the drinks were not made with fresh ingredients and were watery. Bummer. They tend to upsell food which is a turn off. But they do everything with a smile and with great service.
We did love our time there, so did our normally neurotic dog, it just seems that a little updating and upgrading on the rooms, bedding and menu would go a long way to make this place GREAT!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Was looking for a place with an ocean view and close to the town of Mendocino. There are a lot of properties, and online searching can get intimidating with so many choices. Friends recommended we stay at Little River Inn, in one of the rooms across the highway. Although a little more expensive, we were absolutely delighted. We stayed in the Margaret Bullard room, which had an unobstructed view to the ocean. We knew the room had a great view from the picture online, but were a little nervous about what the inside of the room would look like. It was delightful. Updated bedding, two huge comfy swizzle chairs in front of the gas fireplace. The bathroom was beautiful and completely updated, and included a jetted 1-person tub with a view of the ocean. Highlight of the room was the deck with two cozy chairs and a private 2-person jacuzzi with an amazing view of the ocean!

The Little River Inn really pays attention to details. In the room there was a refrigerator, a coffee make, wine cork, wine glasses, coffee mugs, glasses and robes. The fireplace had an automatic turn off so you could go to sleep with the fireplace on! There's even a nice size diningroom table. Plenty of space to spread out.

There are a few rooms on the ocean side of Hwy 1 to choose from. Margaret Bullard has a view of the ocean from the dining room and from the bathroom, but not from the bed. I believe others on this side do have views of the ocean from the bed (although then you may never get out of bed!) Something to consider when choosing. The lesser expensive rooms are on the main property. Many have views of the ocean, but the view are across Hwy 1 and further away and (I would think) could be obstructed. We felt it was worth the extra splurge to be closer to the ocean. Also, we called and got a better rate then was posted online.

Sunday brunch in the restaurant was really good, and reasonable. We opted to try Wild Fish for dinner, within walking distance and absolutely delicious. We also opted for breakfast at Little River Market one morning, within walking distance, delicious, inexpensive and great views of the ocean! Little River Market also has a great selection of reasonably prices wines. Great spot for picnic foods too. Great hiking in Van Damme State Park, within walking distance of the hotel. And a little bonus, there's an old classic rock and roll, DJ-driven radio station 95.3 The Coast. Worth a listen :-)

Room Tip: Rooms on the ocean side of Hwy. 1 are more expensive, but offer the best views and private hot tubs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed in one of ocean view Mallory suites. Our surprise was that it was one mile from the main inn. The room was adequate but dated. It was definitely overpriced. The pluses to the suite were the size and view. Views however are available at almost all inns in the area.
The staff definitely needs some training. The receptionist was not very friendly and gave little information about the property. In fact her focus was more on warnings about their no pet and smoking policy than welcoming guests to the inn.
We had reservations for dinner at the restaurant and were greeted by the hostess who was seating another couple.
We were waiting for her return at the hostess stand when she walked right past us to greet her friends who had just arrived. She escorted them to their table and spent the next five minutes talking and catching up.
We should have left as the meal was so so at best.
My wife ordered a vegetable torta that was all dough with a couple of veggies. My scallops were dredged in way too much flour before they were sautéed, and were doughy.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little River Inn

Address: 7901 North Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little River Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic coastal resort with spectacular ocean views, scrumptious breakfasts and dinners in the garden-view dining room, lighter fare and libations in the popular Ole's Whale Watch Bar, golf course and tennis courts, inspirational meeting facilities, and pampering in the Day Spa. A tradition of family hospitality since 1939 will make you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Little River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little River Hotel Little River
Little River Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.