We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little River Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Little River Inn to your Saves list
Little River Inn
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   7901 North Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hampshire, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is our second time at the Inn. We stayed in a Traditional room on the second floor, and while the view was amazing, the view from the room on our first stay (8 years ago...yes, it was that memorable) was a smidge better. There is nothing that will wash away your cares like relaxing on the porch, watching the sun dance on the ocean, and sipping a glass of fine wine.

I gave this a 4 rating only because the room looked a little tired. The carpet needs a good cleaning and the trim around the sliding door had begun to peel. We didn't really mind because our eyes were on the view!

We are planning our next stay for next March. No, we don't want to wait so long again for this treasure!

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs in the middle of the north building for an awesome view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    103
    25
    10
    3
See reviews for
65
342
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anacortes, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

What a jewel we found here! We stayed 2 nights and wish it would have been longer. Lovely, comfortable rooms. We traveled with my sister and her husband. We spent MANY hours just sitting in the rockers on the huge covered porch. The view is so peaceful! The restaurant on the premises was absolutely wonderful!!! We had just come from the Napa area but Little River Inn was the highlight of our whole week. We will definitely be back!!! Since we have been home, whenever life gets stressful (which is often) we picture ourselves in our rockers on the porch of The Little River Inn!

Room Tip: make sure you get an oceanview with porch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bluff, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have been coming here for more than 25 years ~ and it never disappoints. It is absolutely the most incredibly romantic and beautiful place to stay ~ and the service/kindness just makes everything better. From the moment you make the reservation, you are treated as a special guest by Pat at the front desk (there for more than 30 years) and every other person that works there. One of the best parts of this place is that you can be alone or you can go to Ole's Bar and have the best cocktails (anything you want) served by the best bartender (in my opinion) in the country. You can watch the sunset from your room or inside the bar with others...and you have your choice of eating informally in the bar or formally in the dining room. I cannot possibly say enough about this place. We hope to be coming here for the next 25 years ~ a "home" away from home...and I am certain you will feel the same way, too.

Room Tip: Every room is excellent ~
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willits, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went for a friends B-day. The guys golfed and the girls had a spa day. We all had dinner and brunch at the restaurant it was all amazing . I have been telling everyone about what a nice place it is. Every room has a great view of the ocean.

Room Tip: Room 104 it has a steam shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

After a terrible lunch at an establishment across the street, we decided to give this place a try for dinner. The Inn definitely redeemed the area's reputation for fine dining. We would highly recommend this place dinner. Don't know about other meals, but I would assume that they would measure up as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We love this place. The rooms are a bit elderly, but large. The staff is so friendly it really sounds like they want to be there, helping you. The restaurant is beautiful, the food delicious. We have been there before and will certainly go back. I prefer to stay at Little River instead of Mendocino; it is only a short drive, and the food is just wonderful, right there on the spot, better than anything in town.

On this stay, we were in Room 132, up behind the eucalyptus trees, so much of the view was lost. The price was more for these rooms because of a gas fireplace, but I would rather have had the view. Ask for a lower number, standard room, or go for broke and get a more upscale cottage. The rooms had rocking chairs on the balcony outside facing the ocean, but the weather makes using them problematical. However, Little River Inn is not responsible for fog or drizzle and they make the close up landscape very inviting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
642 helpful votes 642 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were only able to spend one quick night, but we will certainly return soon.
The restaurant is right in the hotel and both had a beautiful view of the ocean and gardens. One restaurant tip: They have a good selection of 1/2 size bottles of wine. So you can start with white and finish with red if you like.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little River Inn

Address: 7901 North Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic coastal resort with spectacular ocean views, scrumptious breakfasts and dinners in the garden-view dining room, lighter fare and libations in the popular Ole's Whale Watch Bar, golf course and tennis courts, inspirational meeting facilities, and pampering in the Day Spa. A tradition of family hospitality since 1939 will make you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Little River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little River Hotel Little River
Little River Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.