We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance and More” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little River Inn

Save Saved
You added Little River Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Little River Inn
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   7901 North Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Little River
Red Bluff, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Romance and More”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have been coming here for more than 25 years ~ and it never disappoints. It is absolutely the most incredibly romantic and beautiful place to stay ~ and the service/kindness just makes everything better. From the moment you make the reservation, you are treated as a special guest by Pat at the front desk (there for more than 30 years) and every other person that works there. One of the best parts of this place is that you can be alone or you can go to Ole's Bar and have the best cocktails (anything you want) served by the best bartender (in my opinion) in the country. You can watch the sunset from your room or inside the bar with others...and you have your choice of eating informally in the bar or formally in the dining room. I cannot possibly say enough about this place. We hope to be coming here for the next 25 years ~ a "home" away from home...and I am certain you will feel the same way, too.

Room Tip: Every room is excellent ~
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    331
    81
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
56
295
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willits, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went for a friends B-day. The guys golfed and the girls had a spa day. We all had dinner and brunch at the restaurant it was all amazing . I have been telling everyone about what a nice place it is. Every room has a great view of the ocean.

Room Tip: Room 104 it has a steam shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

After a terrible lunch at an establishment across the street, we decided to give this place a try for dinner. The Inn definitely redeemed the area's reputation for fine dining. We would highly recommend this place dinner. Don't know about other meals, but I would assume that they would measure up as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We love this place. The rooms are a bit elderly, but large. The staff is so friendly it really sounds like they want to be there, helping you. The restaurant is beautiful, the food delicious. We have been there before and will certainly go back. I prefer to stay at Little River instead of Mendocino; it is only a short drive, and the food is just wonderful, right there on the spot, better than anything in town.

On this stay, we were in Room 132, up behind the eucalyptus trees, so much of the view was lost. The price was more for these rooms because of a gas fireplace, but I would rather have had the view. Ask for a lower number, standard room, or go for broke and get a more upscale cottage. The rooms had rocking chairs on the balcony outside facing the ocean, but the weather makes using them problematical. However, Little River Inn is not responsible for fog or drizzle and they make the close up landscape very inviting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
488 helpful votes 488 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were only able to spend one quick night, but we will certainly return soon.
The restaurant is right in the hotel and both had a beautiful view of the ocean and gardens. One restaurant tip: They have a good selection of 1/2 size bottles of wine. So you can start with white and finish with red if you like.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Falls, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

After driving Highway One from Carmel, we would have been happy to pull over to the Bates Motel, but we were lucky enough to have made reservations at The Little River Inn. What a charming place that also happens to have an excellent restaurant, golf course, and tennis courts. The staff and service are friendly and efficient and really make one's stay pleasant and memorable.

Room Tip: Room #117 has no one above or below and has an excellent view of water. The balcony is also a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Excellent views of the Pacific Ocean!! We loved to watch the fishing boats each evening. Even had a pair of binoculars to watch the activities. The room was nice, clean and very spacious. We also enjoyed the attached restaurant, eating there both nights we were there. The location was great, right off the main road, making it easily accessible.

Room Tip: All rooms have views of the ocean. I don't think there is a bad location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Little River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little River Inn

Also Known As:
Little River Hotel Little River
Little River Hotel
Little River Resort
Address: 7901 North Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little River Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic coastal resort with spectacular ocean views, scrumptious breakfasts and dinners in the garden-view dining room, lighter fare and libations in the popular Ole's Whale Watch Bar, golf course and tennis courts, inspirational meeting facilities, and pampering in the Day Spa. A tradition of family hospitality since 1939 will make you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Little River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.