We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little River Inn

Save Saved
You added Little River Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Little River Inn
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   7901 North Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Little River
Redding, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great place for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

After a terrible lunch at an establishment across the street, we decided to give this place a try for dinner. The Inn definitely redeemed the area's reputation for fine dining. We would highly recommend this place dinner. Don't know about other meals, but I would assume that they would measure up as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    345
    84
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
59
307
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We love this place. The rooms are a bit elderly, but large. The staff is so friendly it really sounds like they want to be there, helping you. The restaurant is beautiful, the food delicious. We have been there before and will certainly go back. I prefer to stay at Little River instead of Mendocino; it is only a short drive, and the food is just wonderful, right there on the spot, better than anything in town.

On this stay, we were in Room 132, up behind the eucalyptus trees, so much of the view was lost. The price was more for these rooms because of a gas fireplace, but I would rather have had the view. Ask for a lower number, standard room, or go for broke and get a more upscale cottage. The rooms had rocking chairs on the balcony outside facing the ocean, but the weather makes using them problematical. However, Little River Inn is not responsible for fog or drizzle and they make the close up landscape very inviting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
628 helpful votes 628 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were only able to spend one quick night, but we will certainly return soon.
The restaurant is right in the hotel and both had a beautiful view of the ocean and gardens. One restaurant tip: They have a good selection of 1/2 size bottles of wine. So you can start with white and finish with red if you like.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Falls, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

After driving Highway One from Carmel, we would have been happy to pull over to the Bates Motel, but we were lucky enough to have made reservations at The Little River Inn. What a charming place that also happens to have an excellent restaurant, golf course, and tennis courts. The staff and service are friendly and efficient and really make one's stay pleasant and memorable.

Room Tip: Room #117 has no one above or below and has an excellent view of water. The balcony is also a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Excellent views of the Pacific Ocean!! We loved to watch the fishing boats each evening. Even had a pair of binoculars to watch the activities. The room was nice, clean and very spacious. We also enjoyed the attached restaurant, eating there both nights we were there. The location was great, right off the main road, making it easily accessible.

Room Tip: All rooms have views of the ocean. I don't think there is a bad location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I was going to make a reservation for the Mendocino, CA area, but decided to just drive through and see what was available instead. I passed this place, turned around, and pulled in to see what it had to offer. I was pleasantly surprised that it had a room available for that evening, it had a golf course (only one in that area to my knowledge), a fine restaurant, and very welcoming staff. The lady that checked my in was able to give me an upgraded room at no additional cost, was VERY knoledgable about local area, answered all of my questions and more!

The furniture in the room was dated accordingly since it was built in the 1850's and most of the main building is still original. Not really my style, but I can appreciate it for what it is and enjoyed it. If you are on the fence about whether to get an ocean view room or not, absolutely go for the ocean view. It was totally worth it. I opened the windows when I arrived and didn't shut them for two days - the cool breeze from the ocean kept the room cool at night and perfect during the day.

The restaurant is one of the local's favorite spots to come and I completely understand why. The food is very good. I had the fresh Alaskan Halibut and a paired it with a great IPA. The previous evening I had some of the homeade cobbler and paired it with a pinot noir. They were both absolutely delicious. The drinks and food are not cheap, and the portions are not large, but the quality is very high.

The bar staff was very friendly as well, which was important to me as I was traveling solo. Maria is the newest bartender (she's been there something like 14 years) and she is a keeper. Not sure what they are paying her, but it should probably be more because she is a great bartender.

I played a round of golf there as well, free clubs to persons that stay at the inn, which was a huge plus for me since I wasn't able to bring my clubs along. It is a challenging 9 hole course that offers some very nice ocean views on hole's 8 and 9, and 17/18 respectively. You play the different tee boxes on the second time around. I would come back to play it again for sure.

Well - that's about it. Great place that I would absolutely recommend to anyone. As long as you don't reserve a room for when I'm coming back!

Room Tip: Totally spring for the Ocean View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Overall, the stay was a nice experience. However, the pictures on the website are a bit "doctored". For instance, you are surprised to find out that the picture of the "golf course"
looking out over the ocean is completely false. There is a tiny course behind the property, with
no ocean in sight. On the website, the picture of our room looked as though from the sliding glass doors, the ocean was within yards of the place...wrong again, we were within yards (literally) of Highway 101! The view included the gas station across the street and their garbage
area...then there was the ocean! I mentioned my disappointment to the Hotel Clerk, and she
said that she was sure the website mentioned that the Inn is on the 'East" side of Highway101.
No, couldn't find that comment! Food was excellent, but you will contend with vehicle noise, especially if you are in the rooms closest to the highway....

Room Tip: I would ask for the rooms further away from Hwy 101, second floor, so ocean is in clear view witho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Little River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little River Inn

Address: 7901 North Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little River Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic coastal resort with spectacular ocean views, scrumptious breakfasts and dinners in the garden-view dining room, lighter fare and libations in the popular Ole's Whale Watch Bar, golf course and tennis courts, inspirational meeting facilities, and pampering in the Day Spa. A tradition of family hospitality since 1939 will make you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Little River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little River Hotel Little River
Little River Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.