We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected gem!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little River Inn

Save Saved
You added Little River Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Little River Inn
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   7901 North Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Little River
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An unexpected gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We spent one night here while on a road trip and had a lovely experience. We stayed in a Traditional Ocean View room. The accommodations were clean and simple w/modern conveniences such as a flat screen TV and free Wi-Fi. The ocean view was memorable when the sun set while fogged in and spectacular the next morning when it was clear. We ate dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and both were delicious and accompanied by excellent service. In a wonderful way it reminded me of the kind of place my family would have stumbled upon and stayed at when I was a kid. Highly recommend this place ... and we stayed here because a family member recommended it to us!

Their website says it best: "Like every family living in an old house we’ve made changes over the years, but at Little River Inn we pretty much like to keep things just the way they are and always have been. ... So - whether you’ve come for a romantic getaway or an executive retreat, you will be met with our genuine hospitality and warmth. When we say five generations of hospitality, we mean it." Agreed and thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    345
    84
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
59
307
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Bragg, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My hubby and I stayed for two nights in room 130 and it was like being in a tree house! Great views of the ocean and the beach up from in the trees. We enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel is older but the rooms are clean and the people working there are the best! They have a wonderful spa and great food! Can't get much better than this!

Room Tip: The only room I know about is 130 and it really was the best. My hubby love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We loved this sprawling Inn by the sea in Little River. Our room was lovely if a bit dated, but very well-appointed, with fireplace and a shared balcony with an amazing view of the ocean that we just couldn't get enough of. The room had a great bed, flat-screen with cable, Wi-Fi, fridge in the bathroom, and coffeemaker. There is no A/C, but you don't really need it up here. Very quiet at night. We walked over to their dining room for dinner both nights that we were there - great food! Highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: any ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We would have had a wonderful view from our Ocean View room, had the mist not rolled in continually from the Pacific whilst we were there! Certainly not the hotel's fault, and by providing comfortable chairs on the balcony outside the room, they certainly intend to help their guests make the most of it.

The room was great, staff were friendly, there was free access to a computer (very helpful) and the breakfast was tasty. My sons enjoyed the tennis courts. We didn't use the spa. We ate in the bar one evening - the fish and chips were good.

We escaped the mists in the Van Damme forest nearby - an enjoyable and well-maintained couple of hours' walk through majestic forest, accessible from the hotel.

The only niggle I have is this: why the little envelope left in the rooms asking for tips/chocolates/flowers?? These are used by charities and churches. Just not on.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Excellent stay with family of 4 for three nights. Hotel staff is very good and quality of the rooms are excellent with great view. We stayed in room 165 ( Ocean view room with fireplace & Jacuzzi) and room 120 (Ocean View). My son and I played golf in the morning.

Location is ideal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Little River Inn is a gem along the Coast just a little south of the town of Mendocino. We splurged for one of the best rooms, a little attached "cottage" with an I obstructed, close and absolutely breathtaking view of the coast. Theorist of our room was all windows and we had a private veranda and a private hot tub. What a wonderful stay! The main cottages are across the street and are very well maintained and inviting and also have ocean views. We divined at the restaurant of the inn and the food and wine were excellent. Top recommendation for Little River!

Room Tip: Best rooms, but pricey are those across the street. Very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

From the helpful folks on the phone when we first called until our final wave out of the parking lot the staff at the Little River Inn did everything they could to make our stay perfect.

Our room had a fireplace and large windows that looked out to the surf. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The grounds were very quiet, allowing the sound of the waves to be the only distraction.

There is a restaurant on-site that was quite good. And there was a complete room service menu that we took advantage of for breakfast a couple of times.

The location is close to Mendocino and Fort Bragg so you have a good selection of dining and shopping choices.

If you need it, there is internet available, but cell phone coverage is a little spotty. Not a bad thing if you are looking for a great get-away. There is no pool, but there is a golf course and spa on-site. One of the best features of the rooms are the comfortable rocking chairs that are on the deck of each room.

We shared this vacation as a family, but the Inn would certainly make a wonderful romantic getaway. It's a little drive, but well worth it to get away to the coast for a while.

We have stayed in Fort Bragg several times before, but the Little River Inn has now become our coastal "home away from home."

Room Tip: Almost all of the rooms have a great view of the ocean. We opted for a deluxe, fireplace room. A lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Little River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little River Inn

Address: 7901 North Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little River Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic coastal resort with spectacular ocean views, scrumptious breakfasts and dinners in the garden-view dining room, lighter fare and libations in the popular Ole's Whale Watch Bar, golf course and tennis courts, inspirational meeting facilities, and pampering in the Day Spa. A tradition of family hospitality since 1939 will make you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Little River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little River Hotel Little River
Little River Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.