We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location! A million dollar view.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little River Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Little River Inn to your Saves list
Little River Inn
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   7901 North Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Location, location, location! A million dollar view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Spent 3 nights last week and it was phenomenal. Since the weather was so beautiful (in the high 60's and sunny) that added to it. The rooms like right out onto the ocean about 200 yards away so the view was exceptional. The rooms were a tiny bit "tired" but it does look like they are doing some renovations. I had a wood burning fireplace with limitless wood..As the evening got cold the fire was wonderful. Two chairs and a table just inside the picture windows and chairs on the deck outside made it perfect for reading a book, watching the fire, or staring out into the ocean. If there HAD been whales, I would have seen them from the room. Highly recommend this place as one for a personal or couples retreat. Also had a facial in their spa by Laurie -- which was heavenly. Only 2 miles to Mendocino for daily jaunts or a little activity. I'll be back!

Room Tip: The single story rooms get more sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    118
    25
    10
    3
See reviews for
77
361
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos
Level Contributor
357 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We arrived just as the sun was going down and we had the perfect sunset over the ocean to enjoy from the deck off our room. The views were fantastic. We loved our extra large room. It was very comfortable and had ample sitting area and lighting for reading and a small bistro table to eat our breakfast at the next morning. Loved the large spa tub and the fireplace worked to perfection. The bed and bedding was excellent and we had a great sleep each night. The only improvement we would have liked is to have a breakfast provided in the cost. Little River is very deserving of the outstanding reviews.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Just got back from a family reunion , where we stayed at Little River Inn. The view from our porches was spectacular, the food in the restuarant was great and all the staff was very friendly and make the vacation special for us all.
Definitely a do again vacation!

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor suites- they have a better view of the waves
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calistoga, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

This is convenient to the town of Mendocino, as well as a couple of excellent restaurants in Albion. About 20 minutes south of Fort Bragg, which is getting better and better. Check out the Pacific Star Winery about 10 miles north of Fort Bragg.

The restaurant at the Little River Inn is very good. For less expensive meals you can eat good food at the bar and look out over the water. There is even an indoor dining area where you can eat with your dog by your side.

We have stayed at the Little River Inn about a half a dozen times. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Any room with a bay or ocean view, which is most of the rooms. There are lesser expensive ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Wonderful, large inn with beautiful grounds and gardens. I had no real qualms about the stay or decor, but my spouse did with the latter, which is why I gave TLRI 4 stars. I've included his input with my personal review.

We stayed in room (cabin) 106. My spouse felt that we should have been told that this cabin is for handicapped guests upon booking on the Internet and on the Inn's web site. The bathroom is one, stark huge tiled room with a steam-room look to it, with the shower, jacuzzi tub and seating area all joined; the toilet is higher than average and the sink has space for a wheel chair to roll up under it and no counter space anywhere in the vastness. My spouse minded all this, however, I didn't.

My praise lies with the staff--very attentive at all levels. Maid service was excellent with a focus on details. The dining room is excellent. Everything from the food to the wait staff rates high with me. We ate our breakfasts and dinners here and each meal was lovely. A warning though: meals are pricey.

This cabin offers a fantastic, birds-eye view of the coast and ocean, and despite it also facing Hwy 1 and being only a couple yards from it, the room/cabin is well sound-proofed and no highway noise is heard. There's also free Internet, 60 TV channels, wood-burning fireplace with daily pre-assembled fire logs so all one has to do is light it and up it goes, and in-room coffee/tea. Because we went in the off-season, rates for our room/cabin were reasonable.

There is no gym or basic work-out room on the premises. I hope TLRI reconsiders, as it does offer a golf course, pro shop and spa.

Also, it should be noted there is absolutely no cell service in the area until one approaches the village of Mendocino, some 4 miles up the road.

Still, this is a romantic inn and my spouse and I plan on returning next year, same time.

Room Tip: Ocean view cabins are quiet and an uphill walk to the main inn and dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

My wife and I have visited many places on the coast of Northern California and the wine country, but without a doubt, Little River Inn is #1. It's true, some of the furnishings are a little dated, but the hospitality is first class, and the views spectacular.

Our favorite past time is sitting on the deck, first thing in the morning, with a cup of hot coffee, a blanket, and the binoculars, watching whales as the sun comes up.

Well, actually our favorite is sitting in the hot tub on the deck, having a glass of champagne , sitting under the stars.

Close 3rd is sitting at the window, playing scrabble, with a fire going, and watching the rain come down.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, TX
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here one night, had a lovely fireplace room, overlooking the beach.
Very homey feeling here, and everything was perfect.

Room Tip: Don't pick one toward the end, past 126, because the trees block the ocean view. we were in 127...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
2.3 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
10.9 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
9.9 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
2.2 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
1.4 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 stars 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little River Inn

Address: 7901 North Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic coastal resort with spectacular ocean views, scrumptious breakfasts and dinners in the garden-view dining room, lighter fare and libations in the popular Ole's Whale Watch Bar, golf course and tennis courts, inspirational meeting facilities, and pampering in the Day Spa. A tradition of family hospitality since 1939 will make you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Little River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little River Hotel Little River
Little River Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.