We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little River Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Little River Inn to your Saves list
Little River Inn
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   7901 North Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Novato, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Wonderful getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We needed a quick getaway and off to Mendocino we went. The LIttle River Inn is a Lovely seaside lodge. We stayed on the opposite side of the main lodge in a Seaside Luxury Room called Alice Abbott. The room was large with a fireplace ( all ready for us), hot tub on the deck, lovely chairs outside on the deck for viewing. The bed had nice comforter and the bathroom was large, with a jet tub and shower. It included nice bathrobes for each of us along with chilled glasses in the fridge. It was quiet and peaceful. Our neighbors had come from Missouri just to visit the hotel. We ate at the hotel the first night and food was excellent. The bar overlooked the water with a great atmosphere. I would only say it is a little noisy in the dining room as it was crowded.Lots to do in the area and a must is to go see the glass beach in Ft. Bragg . We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Be sure to reserve the Seaside Luxury room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    99
    25
    10
    3
See reviews for
62
332
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
oakland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

I stayed one night, with very short notice, at The Little River Inn. I spent a night a year ago. Both experiences were very good. The rooms above the office are very reasonable for this upscale area of the north coast. The TV's come with DVD player, and the office has a large DVD library. There is a golf course and spa, which I did not experience.
While I did not have a view of the ocean, it didn't matter since there was excellent access to views all around this very well maintained property.
Another "do not miss" is the breakfast special, Ole' Favorite, delicious, authentic Swedish pancakes. Sooo good.
Excellent food, Excellent bargain, friendly staff all the way around.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011 via mobile

Happened by a few years ago when driving up to canada and looking for dog friendly place. It is better than I remember it. Just gorgeous. Great breakfast of oatmeal too. (not so easy to find).

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We had a wondeful two night stay. The hotel has been around for years, but is very well maintained and beautifully landscaped. This hotel is all about amazing ocean views from every room. Sitting in our room with the wood burning fireplace going, hearing the waves breaking on the beach below us, sipping our wine and watching the sun set over the horizon - what else can you say.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good, but the deluxe fireplace rooms are the favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

The room was advertised as 'cozy' so we expected 'very small' but it was quite roomy.

'Ocean view' often means you can see a little sliver of the ocean out one window. Not here, room 105 has 2 big sliding glass doors for the front (one is the entry) so all you see on that side of the room is ocean. The drawback to all that glass is a bit more sound from hwy1 makes it in the room. It isn't bad but if you are a light sleeper it may be noticeable at night.
With the front being the entry and all windows the other drawback is your neighbors go right up the stairs outside your room but it doesn't get a lot of traffic (only 2 rooms next to it).

The main room was nice and looks like it is more recently done as it was up to date. Very comfortable sheets, reasonable mattress. There isn't a real good angle to watch TV from bed but that is just because the one wall is all for ocean view so not a bad trade-off. There is a good sized dining table fitted into the side out of the way which is also nice.
In this room you only share one wall with neighbors so that is nice and no second floor above either.

The weak link is the tub area, although it is quite nice that the sink is outside the door to the tub/toilet area it looks like the tub itself either hasn't been gotten to yet or they just skipped it when they made the main room nice. The area where the shower surround meets the tub isn't nice at all and the shower head could be about a foot higher.

My other minor gripe is they have a card in the room about a 'voluntary' donation to help the local park. But the donation is automatically added to your bill. It isn't much money but it would really be nice if they'd just ask at check-in "do you want to donate a dollar or so a night to help the park"

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sf Bay Area
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Stayed here with a couple of GFs, and we chose a room with two beds. When we first walked in, we were awe-struck by the beautiful view. There's a long veranda outside our room, connecting all the downstairs rooms. Upstairs oceanview rooms have king beds. I believe most all the rooms at this hotel have some sort of ocean views - simply because of how the inn is situated. I understand there are larger units (cottages) across the street (west of Hwy 1) with much better amenities and privacy. We will give that a try next time. Staff is courteous and friendly. Did not try their restaurant, but have heard good reviews.

Room Tip: Check their website for promotional rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We've stayed here many times and it's always perfect. The clean, spacious rooms with the two-person whirlpool tub, fireplace (yes, in July), gorgeous grounds and unsurpassed view make this our favorite romantic getaway. Expensive and worth it.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have balconies and an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little River Inn

Address: 7901 North Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic coastal resort with spectacular ocean views, scrumptious breakfasts and dinners in the garden-view dining room, lighter fare and libations in the popular Ole's Whale Watch Bar, golf course and tennis courts, inspirational meeting facilities, and pampering in the Day Spa. A tradition of family hospitality since 1939 will make you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Little River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little River Hotel Little River
Little River Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.