We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basking in the Woods” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stevenswood Resort And Spa

Save Saved
You added Stevenswood Resort And Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stevenswood Resort And Spa
Mendocino Coast, 8211 North Highway One, Little River, CA 95456   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Little River B&B and Inns
Walnut Creek, California, United States
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Basking in the Woods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I know - you come to Mendocino for the sea but some of the best finds are not right on the water. (and a short hike across the road brings you to some great vistas). This hotel is a great value - in one place, you have a small inn, a spa, a restaurant, a wine-tasting bar and more. For cat lovers, Marco the cat will cuddle with you and even allows people to pick him up. We may be the only ones, but we go for walks with him.

The rooms are comfortable and well furnished with real working fireplaces - this is becoming harder to find up here. Located close to everything, you can simply stay here for your vacation or quickly jaunt around to Mendocino or Ft. Bragg. The people are terrific here - you feel like you are a VIP! Make sure you ask the concierge, Nelson, for tips. He's been in the area forever and is a pro at his job.

Room Tip: Pick your room based on need. They do have a hot tub and if you care about using it, ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    52
    29
    31
    42
See reviews for
20
224
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Benicia, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The resort is not on the water side but a great walk from resort to the water. We saw deer everyday and we walked everyday. Great walk and the view is outstanding. However, dinner and breakfast at the resort is outstanding, just outstanding. The owners are making steady progress in upgrading the facilities. The rooms are comfortable and now have wifi. Little cleaning in the public areas would be great, the cobwebs in the windows or clean the windows but you are not there much. Mendocino is great and we have stayed in other BBs in the area and this is our favorite.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino,CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband & I have had several enjoyable stays at Stevenswood. When we found a Travelzoo voucher including a dining credit, we purchased it without reading recent reviews on any of the travel sites. Our mistake! Trying to redeem the voucher was a nightmare!! When we called to make the reservation, the person we spoke with was rude, arrogant & condescending. Because we had a discount voucher, we were treated like second-class citizens, and made to feel unwelcome. Only full-paying guests can speak with a "live person" and I was directed to their voucher website. (our friends in a similar situation were told they could speak with a person, but it would cost $100). Once at the website, there were several major problems. Our voucher said "king or queen suite", but there was an additional $99 charge for a king, almost all the rooms were king, & I couldn't talk to a person about it! Even though there were still 4 months left on our voucher, there was very limited availability, and again, no one at the hotel would assist me. There were 2 pages of "rules" requiring binding agreement to accept any extra credit card charges. The entire reservation experience was frustrating & humiliating. We finally found a night, booked a room, & decided to go with a good attitude. Once we were there, things improved. Nelson (who was not the person we spoke with on the phone), was a lovely host & even allowed us to check-in early. Dinner was good, not great, & the free wine tasting was only their own mediocre label. We were determined to enjoy ourselves, and we did, but we're never going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We found this place online for a one night $99 deal (booked that same day). If we had paid full price of $300 or $400 a night, this would have been a huge disappointment. You can tell this once was a nice place (maybe in the 80s or 90s), though it is very run down. For the price we paid it was actually a fun experience as it was weird and really odd (somewhat old haunted house like). There were only 1 or 2 other people staying there at the time and after 10pm most all lights in the hotel were out and there was no staff at all until like 9am the next day - really, really weird feeling. The room and bathroom were very worn out with peeling paint, frayed bed coverings, nasty carpet, etc. We could see the potential to bring this place back to life, but it needs a pile if work. It was a really weird experience and would recommend it for the $99, just for fun, but not at the high end regular rate - it's far from a high end experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Very expensive for the quality. The place is nice but not worth the top$$. It was a last minute decision to go with this place - booked it on Friday night for Sat checkin. While booking the room I told the staff that I had a 3yr old and a 6 yr old. They didnt talk about any extra charges then. When we checked out they charged us $25/kid. We didnt take any extra beds or roll aways or anything. Didn't appreciate it. When I spoke to the front desk about this, I was told that the kids consume water and towels in the room. Really!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This place is where romance went to die. If I could give this place 'no stars' I would.

We booked for our 2nd wedding anniversary and were looking for North Coast rustic for a romantic long-weekend getaway. From the high price we thought we were getting quality (just short of our favorites the Caneros Inn and Calistoga Ranch) and the pictures on their website looked pretty good (the photographer should receive the highest award from effectively spinning straw into gold with his shots)....all of this was far from the reality.

- The bedding looked dirty and the bed didn't look made, or the maid decided to take a snooze on it before we got there.
- With the door to our room closed we could hear the entire conversations of the people in the lobby - there was zero privacy.
- The entire place smelled like cat despite them trying to mask it with burning oils.
- All the fittings and fixtures were worn out - bedding, drapes, rug, even the chip-board flooring
- The 'fireplace' had not been cleaned and had a half burned dura-flame log in it.
- The amenities such as soap, shampoo looked like a random collection taken from all the bad hotels around the country.
- The bathtub wouldn't have fit a small child, no relaxation potential there.

We shelled out $750 for two nights and we were so horrified at the prospect of having to be there for the weekend, we left after 20 minutes and drove the 3 hours back to San Francisco.

If only we had Trip Advisored this absolute hovel before we booked (and shame on us for not doing that) we could have still had a magical anniversary weekend by staying somewhere else.

The one positive though from reading the reviews since, it appears we made the right decision to leave since the service sounds terrible and would have been a real kicker.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed two nights after Christmas 2012 with my Mom and we had a nice time. The hotel is cute and quaint. It's across the street from the ocean and really just a peak from some of the rooms is the ocean view from the hotel. We didn't experience any of the issues with the staff as described by others, but I can say that the lobby bar was totally shut down during the times they were said to be offering "wine and olive tastings." The restaurant had minimal selection, but everything was very good with made to order omelets or waffles in the morning and very nice dinner.
A couple of cons: the wi-fi doesn't work very well, so don't stay here if you are reliant on it (there is a community commuter available though), the path to the hot tub is not private either having to pass by the restaurant or the parking lot and lobby, I believe all the rooms are upstairs.

I would stay here again.

I would also be remiss if I didn't mention the on-site spa, it was very nice and I had a fantastic massage from Miguel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stevenswood Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stevenswood Resort And Spa

Address: Mendocino Coast, 8211 North Highway One, Little River, CA 95456
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual & refined elegance along the Mendocino Coast. The premier spa resort destination in the region with luxury full service spa, 4 diamond restaurant and all suite 5 star lodging. Situated on expansive manicured grounds, surrounded by ocean meadows, 2400 acre parklands and canyons in a forest by the sea. Just two minutes South of the popular Mendocino Village, yet tranquil, quiet and relaxing. Full service welcome desk, on staff concierge, turn-down service, complimentary 5 star breakfast, wood-burning fireplaces, espresso machines in suites and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Stevenswood Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stevenswood Resort And Hotel Little River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stevenswood Resort And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.