We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday celebration made perfect by staff and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Schoolhouse Creek

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Schoolhouse Creek to your Saves list
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   7051 North Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Easy as 1,2,3...
Ranked #3 of 6 Little River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Birthday celebration made perfect by staff and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I wanted something extraordinary for my husband's 65th birthday surprise. When I found The Inn at Schoolhouse Creek on Trip Advisor and saw I could include our golden retriever Sunny in the "party" (thanks to their "dog friendly" policy) I thought I may have hit on something special. I had NO IDEA just how wonderful our three days would be thanks to owners Sandy and Kevin and their special A+ customer service oriented staff.
The views of the ruggedly beautiful Mendocino coastline from the deck of our private unit "Shangra La" were nothing short of breathtaking. The Adirondack lounge chairs were perfect for relaxing in the warm sunlight listening to the sounds of the surf. The unit has a spacious kitchen which we used for snacks and dinner one night but the incredible breakfasts offered at Circa 62 (the restaurant at the Inn) were so spectacular you mustn't pass them up! We even received a significant "guest discount" for each day we had breakfast...unexpected but much appreciated!
The bed was so cozy it was hard to get up every morning especially after taking a hot tub the night before in our private hot tub which overlooks the cove below. The Inn has a spa on the main property in a very cool "yurt" with a hot tub and sauna that is available to guests 24/7 ,a BBQ, a fire pit (they even have s'mores available for the camp fire!) and an incredible 9 acres of open space for pets and people to explore. The Inn is 20 minutes from Fort Bragg (beautiful botanical gardens as well as the "don't miss" Glass Beach) and 5 minutes from downtown Mendocino. However what really makes this Inn special is the beautiful location of Little River itself. It is private, quiet, romantic and has the benefit of being nestled up against the forest as well as having a beach a mere 150 yards from the front door..Sunny loved that! They offer dogs beds, blankets, home made doggie treats and complimentary doggie pick up bags!
What made the celebration perfect? We opened the door to find balloons inside the room along with a handwritten welcome card. Inside the refrigerator there was a spectacular basket filled with local cheeses,crackers, Mendocino chocolates, fruit and champagne we had ordered for our birthday celebration. The chef graciously included a delicious birthday cake complete with candles! We had arranged a "couples" massage at the yurt the next day and the masseuses were experts...we could barely talk we were so relaxed after that hour of bliss!
We are already making plans for our return...this place is a jewel not just a gem!
Kate and Tom

Room Tip: If you want FANTASTIC views of the Pacific ocean, privacy and affordable luxury go to "Shangra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    25
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
97
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
US
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We absolutely loved the Sea Cloud! It was secluded, romantic, tiny, cozy, lovely...We wanted nothing more than to hole up for a few days and not see another soul. The bed, indoor gas fireplace, deck, hot tub, amazing view of the crashing waves and the sunset are just phenomenal. So private! Very clean and nice towels and linens.

Very disappointed, though, to find that not of all the amenities listed on the VRBO site or the Inn at Schoolhouse Creek are up to date. There is NO outside barbecue grill which was a huge disappointment to us since we brought a lot of marinated meat and veggies to take us through the 3 days. We even emailed to confirm this but with no response from the Innkeeper. The kitchen is fine, but stocked with nothing but coffee, tea, spices and sugar packets. Bring absolutely everything you need including salt and oil if you want to cook anything at all. The proprietors said they cannot have any food, but there is a sign asking to let them know what's missing, so?

There are no DVDs and no stereo and we did not find any books though there were some puzzles. We didn't care, we brought our own, but others might not have. There is wifi available on an open network, BUT it was not discoverable by iPhone or iPad, only by my computer which I brought at the last minute. I did not need my computer at all, but because there is no AT&T service and no 3G in the region, the thought of not having wifi access was very unnerving. Yes it was very slow but that is expected in remote areas.

Not huge problems, really, but when there are SO many choices in the area for a vacation, guests really scour these sites for the amenities in order to make their vacation selection. There is is just NO excuse for any website listing to be out of date.

This is a fantastic place, but would be even more fantastic if the description matched the reality more accurately. Seems like it would be easy to do that!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Wanted a special time with my husband for our 26th and we were not disappointed. Wonderful property, room and experience. The bed was so comfy that I didn't want to get out of it. Attention to detail, cleanliness, and wonderful dining suggestions. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Comfortable room with a nice, firm mattress (not hard, but firm for those of us with bad backs, and a good sleep). The staff was fantastic. Breakfast was great, the view wonderful, and the birds in the garden were amazing (I have never seen so many hummingbirds in my life). Get a good seat by a back window at breakfast and you can watch the wildlife around the bird feeder. It is great fun. The staff knows the local restaurants and can help you book a good spot for dinner, too. I'd stay there again in a flash.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

With our 10 month-old Mini Aussie we traveled from Placerville to the Inn at Schoolhouse Creek for a wonderful get-a-way. The location is perfect...close to Mendocino and Little River. We received a very warm welcome to the Garden Cottage. We liked the privacy of the cottage with it's free standing gas heater and deck. The inn's hot tub and sauna heated us to our bones after a day at the beach.

Although we didn't have view it was nice to sit on the hill with an ocean view (beautiful sunsets) next to a large area for dogs and puppies to play. Home made doggie treats spoiled our pup but the breakfast at the on-site restaurant Circa '62 serves awesome people food. Be sure to try the almond flour pancakes! Even with pets around there were an abundance of critters-birds, rabbits and chipmunks.

It was our first long trip with Kora and she did great! We will definitely be returning to the Inn at Schoolhouse Creek!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a wonderful property overlooking the ocean south of Mendocino. The owners are fantastic and very interested in you having a wonderful and relaxed time. One of the most dog friendly hotels I've found. Lots of space for the dogs to run around and have a ball. The spa is another fantastic part of this whole scene. And breakfast was to die for! You won't regret a trip to this heavenly place!

Room Tip: An ocean view was great! They also have a beautiful building at the back of the property with spect...
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel uses environmentally friendly products for cleaning and bath amenities.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My friend from England had a house swap in Redwood City but wanted to see as much of California as she could during her 3 week visit. After heading south down the coast for a while we then ventured up north of San Francisco along the rugged coast and happened to get the name of the Inn at Schoolhouse Creek for a one night stay. What a find! I have never stayed at a place that was so accommodating and just plain fun! We didn't have animals with us, but as my friend dipped into the cookie jar on the reception desk and was about to consume the "doggie treat" she was assured it was home-made and good for humans too! A bottle of wine, a postcard addressed to me with a welcome message on it, were waiting in the room, as well as a speciality coffee with fixings. The room had a deck with a view of the ocean, a log burning stove and wonderful toiletries in the spacious bathroom. Wifi and cell phone connectivity were processed by June, the receptionist. We loved the wine so much I asked to purchase a bottle and was supplied with one for the asking, a parting gift. A voucher for breakfast was included and the food was amazing! Homegrown ingredients that melted on the tongue.
My only concern is that I live so far away in Louisiana and may not have the opportunity to visit this oasis again. It would certainly be on the top of my list!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room, we stayed in the Van Damme.
See more room tips
Green Features: I love the fact that so much recycling goes on all over California! We especially loved the nature friendly environment and were introduced to different birds we had not seen before, the Stells Jays, and saw lots of chipmunks.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Schoolhouse Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Schoolhouse Creek

Address: 7051 North Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Schoolhouse Creek 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Schoolhouse Creek on the Mendocino Coast provides a unique experience on the Northern California Coast with cottages and rooms spread out over 9 acres of lush gardens, meadows and forested land as well as our cliffside cottages with amazing white water ocean views.Come escape to the coast and discover our distinctive Inn’s cottages and rooms offering all the amenities you are looking for to relax, unwind and get away from it all--ocean views, fireplaces, cliffside cottages, hot tubs, Jacuzzi tubs, bountiful breakfasts, spa services and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, T4B, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Schoolhouse Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Schoolhouse Creek Hotel Little River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Schoolhouse Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.