We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant ,gas station and post office” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Fish

Wild Fish
7750 N. Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456
707 937 3055
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Restaurant ,gas station and post office”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Tiny place with an unusual location. But it has ocean view and wonderful food. Good staff, too What fun!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    52
    13
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Culinary Highlight of Our Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Tiny, well-run restaurant knocking one dish after another out of the ballpark. Truly excellent in all ways —we didn't have reservations, but went early and were warmly welcomed.
It's the only seafood restaurant in the area, and the chef's expertise shows. There's one vegetarian option on the menu; my guess is flexatarians will opt for fish, and carnivores will leave well-fed and happy, too.
Thoughtfully curated wine list emphasizing area vineyards available by the glass and by the bottle. Wild Fish is spend-y, but a great value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very good, not great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

While the affable hosts made the experience extremely pleasant, the food was very good, and the service was average. Prices were extremely high, especially for wines.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is the best fish restaurant in California”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We dined at Wild Fish on July 27, 2013 in the height of wild salmon season in Northern California. The preparation of the salmon was a good as either of us have ever experienced anywhere and we eat wild salmon at least once a week in season. The fish itself was remarkably fresh and it was cooked exactly to our order (eg: rare). The preparation was imaginative and complemented the fish well. The premises are a bit small and unassuming and the service seems a bit disorganized (but conscientious) but the food overcomes it all. It is a four hour drive from our home but it would be worth doing for such an outstanding dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California, United States
1 review
“Fantastic Seafood Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Wild Fish was the best restaurant of a 3-day stay in Mendocino. The restaurant is small, so definitely make reservations. The interior is attractive, but feels a little cramped. The wonderful view makes up for it - they're on a bluff overlooking the ocean. They had a good wine list, but to limit my alcohol, I started with their house-made limeade. It was the best limeade I have ever had. My husband and I both ordered fish, which was both very fresh and carefully and imaginatively prepared. The vegetables were as carefully prepared as the fish - every ingredient was prefect. The desserts were well-done, also.
The overall experience was elegant simplicity in both food and ambience - to my taste just perfect for our 30th anniversary.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Fish also viewed

 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 

Been to Wild Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.