We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal at Wild Fish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wild fish

Wild fish
7750 N Hwy 1, Little River, CA 95456
707 937 3055
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lafayette, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great meal at Wild Fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a place you must try. It has limited seating so be sure to make a reservation. (8-10 tables) It is run by a sweet British couple. The seafood/fish is fresh off the boat and fabulously prepared. The clam chowder is light and flavorful. The oysters on the half shell were large and luscious. They offered tombo tuna which was served with sticky rice and a soy/ginger reduction which was out of this world. You also need to try the Sticky Toffee pudding. The reason I gave 4 stars and not 5 was because the service is very leisurely and as such we and several others had to wait 30 minutes past our reservation time to be seated because the tables before us were still finishing their meals.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    42
    12
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Fresh Caught Salmon EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We had the most delicious fish dinners here. Both the salmon and halibut were perfect. The potatoes, risotto, salad and creme broule were perfect additions. This is a "must go" place if near Mendocino.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avila Beach
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An English Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This outstanding but small (10 tables for 2) unassuming restaurant in Little River, two miles south of Mendocino and across the street from the Little River Inn, is a great find. I had the duck confit and my husband had the tuna. He did not want it sushi style and they gladly accommodated him, cooking it medium. They feature the wines of Mendocino County, which is renouned for its Alexander Valley pinot noir, but have other premium wines, many by the glass. There is a pre fixe three-course menu for Tuesday we were sorry we couldn't try. Be sure and get reservations because it fills up quickly. By the way, the restaurant is perched right on the cliff with views of the spectacular Mendocino Coast from almost every table.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great fish & charming owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Located in Little River just 2 miles south of Mendocino. Small charming room with small tables, but wonderful ocean views especially at sunset. Owners are from Devon in Great Britain and are especially charming & attentive. The fish is fresh, tasty and well prepared. Tuna & halibut were outstanding the evening that we dined. There are small plates of seafood for starters. There is a simple dessert list and a varied list of mostly local wines. In sum, it was a most enjoyable dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous fresh, local fish! What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

On a recent 32nd anniversary trip, we were particularly interested in finding a good restaurant with well prepared fresh, local, wild fish. To our absolute delight, the Wild Fish restaurant, a recent arrival, presented us w/ some of the most elegantly tasty, and well prepared seafood we have ever eaten. The owners, Kelvin & Liz Jacobs are a warm & lovely presence. The crispy skin King Salmon & Black Cod were perfection! The wine & beer list is notably eclectic & local but also includes the delicious Old Speckled Hen Ale from the U.K. For dessert, their Sticky Toffee Pudding was incredible & if it's not already, should become a signature dish. A small, intimate restaurant, the service was spot on (Kelvin & Liz themselves!). They recently opened for lunch service, something that will be highly anticipated on our next trip!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild fish also viewed

 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Little River, Mendocino County
 

Been to Wild fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.