We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky but very good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Fish

Wild Fish
7750 N. Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456
707 937 3055
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Quirky but very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a little restaurant looking over the Mendocino Headlands, so it is a lovely spot to dine. If you get there around sunset on a clear evening, the view is really beautiful. With candles lit it is all quite romantic.

A British couple run the Inn. They take the reservations, help serve the meals, and serve drinks. Wisely, they let their talented young chef run the kitchen and the menus. Go early if you want to enjoy the evening's specials because they don't have many portions in this small restaurant. The evening we dined the special - to our everlasting delight - was fresh sand dabs - and we ordered the last two available! We also watched the chef go from the kitchen out into a great herb garden and pick various herbs for the evening meals!

The service is a bit erratic but the British couple are so charming and the Inn is small, cute and romantic that much can be forgiven....particularly since the food and wines are good. If you are in a hurry, however, best to come here another time as you can expect some delays.

We would definitely return to this little gem on our next visit to Mendocino!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    52
    13
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cozy Resturant with great view and food. Quite expensive.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife and I had dinner on the evening of Tuesday, Feb 26, 2013 at 5:45PM. We had made a reservation but it was relatively slow that early and we had our choice of tables. My wife ordered a salad and I had a soup for starters. Both were excellent, fresh and well presented. We both ordered a glass of wine. Nice if limited selection, well matched to the menu, but over priced for all selections by about 25%. Bread was somewhat small and very small amount. Not offered any seconds.
My wife enjoyed the California Halibut prepared and presented to perfection and I was thrilled with my blackened Steelhead. Vegetables were fresh and cooked just right and all was seasoned well without any adjustments. My wife had the Orange Tort and I had the Sticky Pudding deserts with coffee, both new to us. I rarely have deserts, a real treat. Good coffee, good service and a lovely sunset. Pricey but a good find in a small and out of the way venue. It is very handy to Ft. Bragg and Mendocino, however and worth looking for behind the Post Office opposite the Little River Inn where we were staying.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capay
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The worst experience we've ever had in Little River”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The restaurant is very crowded, too many tables to eat comfortably, the food is mediocre. Our reservations were for 7pm and they were already out of some of the menu items. There were four of us and we all agreed to cross it off our list. They took a nice piece of halibut and ruined it by overcooking it and then drowing it in sauce. The shrimp and the fish in the bouillabaise was dry and tough. This restaurant is located at the end of an auto repair garage and that is where it belongs. It is not a place we will ever go back to..

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelvin J, Manager at Wild Fish, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Candice,
Thank you very much for your review. We are truly sorry that you and your companions did not enjoy your meal. We were not aware of any problem, as when we checked on you, everyone seemed to be enjoying the meal and no one mentioned anything except that it was good. If we had known you were unhappy, we would have tried to fix the problem. The halibut actually has no sauce on it,, so we don't know what the problem could have been there. Rather the sauce is drizzled around the edge of the plate, as with all our fish, since the fish is so fresh and vibrant that we do not want to spoil it by masking its flavor. We cook all fish medium rare and the garnish in the bouillabaise is added at the last minute so that it is just cooked. If all that was not done properly we would certainly have seen to making it right for you. We hope you will try us again, as we care very much about giving patrons excellent meals.
Kind regards,
Kelvin and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great food and views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had dinner here recently and found it to be a wonderful place to dine. If you can arrive shortly before sundown, you are in for a particularly wonderful treat. The view is beautiful. The food is extraordinary. Every aspect of the meal was great. Preparation, flavors, presentation, and service were impeccable. Save room for their orange tart. It is not to be missed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelvin J, Manager at Wild Fish, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Robert,
Thank you so much for your review! It means a lot to us - really - that you had a great evening out! We hope we can look forward to seeing you back here soon!
Kindest,
Kelvin and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otho, Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wild Fish - Don't drive too fast or you'll miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

What a lovely experience. The Wild Fish is a tiny little hole in the wall ran by a lovely couple who obviously enjoy what they do. Our fish was fresh and perfect. My oysters on the half shell were uniquely wonderful. I so enjoy seafood and being from a small town in the Midwest, our restaurants know what to do with beef and pork but I usually have to wait for visits to places like the Wild Fish for my seafood fix.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelvin J, Manager at Wild Fish, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Linda,
We want to thank you for your review - we are thrilled that you had a wonderful evening and enjoyed the fresh seafood. It SHOULD be an exhilarating experience - if it's done right - so we are really glad to hear your review! Hope we can see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Kelvin and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Fish also viewed

 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 

Been to Wild Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.