We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glendeven Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Glendeven Inn to your Saves list
Glendeven Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   8205 North Highway One, Little River, CA 95456   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 20% off thru Feb.
Ranked #2 of 6 Little River B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wedding trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My family stayed at Glendeven for 3 nights when we visited Mendocino for our wedding. I cannot say enough to express how wonderful the experience was. Everyone that we dealt with was friendly and very accommodating. Our room was perfect for us. A beautiful view of the pacific and the gardens on site, we enjoyed the fireplace that was always well stocked with firewood and our king bed was one of the best that Ive ever slept on. Their attention to every detail was appreciated from the delicious farm to table breakfast delivered each morning to our room to the quality of the sheets. I am looking forward to another visit very soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pinewood room. It was absolutely perfect. The room was spacious, had a beautiful vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    25
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
344
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The Glendeven Inn has just become my new favorite place to stay in Mendocino. I had the good fortune to stay in the Briar Rose room for 5 nights over the Thanksgiving holiday. John & Mike, the proprietors, could not have been more warm, friendly, and genuine. This place is a Godsend for weary people of the world to unplug and reconnect with nature. I had the most relaxing week, lighting a wood burning fire every night, reading in the morning sunshine on the deck, watching and communing with the llamas (which are amazing animals),walking the trails to the beach and the headlands - this place has it all! The farm-to-table dinner was fantastic fun with an eclectic mix of interesting people from all over the world. The pictures here don't lie - if you are looking for a romantic spot or a place to unwind, don't hesitate to book yourself a room here, you won't regret it!
Thank you John & Mike for such an incredible stay at your inn - I will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Glendeven last week. We were not familiar with the property and were pleasantly surprised to discover this gem in Mendocino. We arrived on a foggy Wednesday evening and stayed two nights. We enjoyed a complimentary glass of white wine on arrival (and each evening) and given a number of dining options for our two evenings, and hiking options for the daytime.
We enjoyed a crackling log fire in our room, which overlooked beds of rhododendrons and lavender. We slept soundly on fine thread-count sheets and awoke each morning to a large breakfast basket brought to our room with French press coffee and home made baked goods and omlettes using eggs from the chickens on the property.
Although we slept on the lower level of a two level building, we did not hear the other guests upstairs, which added to the privacy of our stay and charm of the property.
John and the staff were remarkably warm individuals with many recommendations to occupy our time in Mendocino. We enjoyed our hike up Fern Canyon along the Little River and along the bluffs north of the beach at Van Damme State Park.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Pinewood room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

5 stars all the way! We stayed for 3 nights over Veteran's Weekend and loved every minute of it. The farm to table dinner with wine pairing was delicious and a fun evening with some of the other guests. Eve was great and helped with everything, from dinner reservations to different activities during our stay. Our room was beautiful, loved the fireplace, and really enjoyed reading the journal entries from previous guests. Glendeven is a beautiful and worth splurging on!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, MT
Top Contributor
511 reviews 511 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 378 cities Reviews in 378 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed during that sweet spot between Mothers Day and Memorial Day, when not all the world is overcrowded. Not all the rates are at their highest. We got a room with a view of the water, a great fireplace. Luxurious.

We had been coming up the coast with our vintage travel trailer and tow rig on our way back to Montana and wanted a couple of nights of sheer luxury and this was it. The bed was great, the service was great, the breakfasts were really great and even the chickens in the yard were friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Beautiful Setting-Terrible Customer Service

What could have been a great getaway, albeit under unfortunate circumstances, ended up being a most regrettable. At the beginning of the current off-season month our friends invited us and another couple to join them for a two-night stay at Glendeven. They had stayed here before and really enjoyed the peaceful setting. The main reason for this somewhat last minute plan was because our friend is dying of cancer and was given weeks to live. It was to be three couples sharing time together for the last time at a beautiful place that he so enjoyed.

We three couples booked our respective rooms, signed up for the dinner and planned to dine together following our drive from the Bay Area. Unfortunately, on the morning we were to leave home, our friend was too sick to travel. He insisted that we go anyway and even tried to convince his wife to go enjoy herself, saying he’d be OK at home. Well, that wasn’t going to happen. We and the other couple decided to go on his insistence. We knew it would be more upsetting to him if we didn’t go than if we cancelled and stayed home. Shame on all of us because we didn’t buy trip cancellation insurance. For me personally, I was convinced our friend would make it. I couldn’t afford another dime after spending over $750 for a dinner and two nights stay. My sister lives in the area and told me what she knew of the Glendeven Inn. More ironically, she is acquainted with the chef, Troy, and spoke highly of him.

While enroute we called and advised the Glendeven staff that our friends were not able to make it that day and explained their circumstances. We kindly asked for some consideration in crediting their dinner charges back. It was early enough and the food was not prepared. Those dinner charges were credited back and very much appreciated. Although our friends back home wanted to try to come up the next day, again he was too sick and could not make the trip. We passed this onto the inn staff and again, politely asked them to consider some measure of credit back to our friends. Any consideration would have helped, but we also understood that without trip insurance, business is business. I think we were hoping perhaps a partial credit or something in the spirit of good Customer Service to a couple who’d been prior customers and referred us. What they are dealing with is unimaginable for many. Regrettably, Glendeven saw it differently-NADA. We did all we could on behalf of our friends and did not want to bother them with any of this.

We tried our best to have an enjoyable time and did enjoy the Inn for many of the same reasons others have commented. We don’t normally take the time to jump on these review sites and likely would not have even in light of our friends losing out near completely. The final straw however was my fiancé calling Glendeven a few days after we were back home. She had left a pair of earrings in our room and asked if they could look for them. She got a phone call message back telling her they’d found her hoop earrings, but that she would need to call back with a credit card before they’d consider mailing them back. Our reaction was, “Are You Kidding? We’d just spent over $750, not to mention what the other two couples spent. These were not expensive earrings. They could be easily mailed in an envelope with a single 47cent stamp. The owner(s) of Glendeven should be ashamed of themselves. The terrible customer service far outweighs the enjoyable aspects of our stay. My sister ended up picking up the earrings for us. She is very well aware of the entire fiasco and I think somewhat embarrassed with the treatment we received in the area she has considered home for many years. It is noteworthy to mention the staff we encountered were friendly and empathetic, however the decisions were clearly that of the owner(s). I read a previous review from August 2013 detailing a similar situation in which a gift certificate for a future date was offered to those guests. In one of his responses, owner John mentions the necessity in being consistent….?? I question this and others should as well. There are many other options for lodging in this beautiful Mendocino Coast.

Mark C
Pleasanton, CA

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichenhof, Owner at Glendeven Inn, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
We appreciate all feedback, and appreciate that our guest took the time to share his experience.

We had hoped, along with everyone, that our guests would be able to come to the inn with their friends. When they couldn’t come the first night, we'd offered a late breakfast for the next morning in case they were able to drive up in the morning as they had hoped, but they couldn’t. That afternoon I left the area on a long-planned getaway myself and so wasn't personally aware that they weren't able to come on the second night until after the fact. I'm sorry I didn't get a chance to personally discuss this with our guests. In any case, each night was essentially canceled the day of the stay which makes it nearly possible to resell a guest's reservation for them.

It was unfortunate all around, and we are very personally empathetic given the situation.

Regarding the left-behind items, it has always been my policy to not charge any sort of fee for return of items left behind, whether a large suitcase or a small phone charger. We return items frequently and only ask guests to cover the cost of shipping which is generally put on a card on file, and we always send every item with tracking, either by FedEx or flat rate USPS boxes depending on the items and how critical their return is. My innkeeper called to ask which credit card to use as a courtesy because there were a couple cards on file for this reservation, which is how I understand it.

We are very sorry that the way it was handled or communicated made them feel that the customer service we provided was lacking. It was not the intention.

Thanks very much for taking the time to read.

With the kindest regards,
John, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have stayed at Glendeven Inn for several years and have never been disappointed in tje rooms or the excellent staff. The breakfast is delivered to you door and it always has fresh squeezed orange juice, fruit and a wonderful egg creation from the fresh eggs of Glendeven chickens! The property has beautiful flowers , llama and great accessibility to the beach as well as the Van Damn Headland trail. The staff is wonderful in making dining suggestions and any other accommodations that you need. The complimentary wine in the wine bar(n) is a great way to relax in the afternoon.

Room Tip: We have stayed on both of the properties Glendeven and Cobblers Walk several times and all the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Glendeven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendeven Inn

Address: 8205 North Highway One, Little River, CA 95456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glendeven Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'One of the 10 best inns in America'. This well appointed inn with its blend of fine antiques and contemporary art, offers wood burning fireplaces, ocean views, full in-room gourmet breakfasts, private baths, secluded patios & decks, featherbeds, plush robes, a wine and hors deouvres hour, and free-Wi-Fi. Glendeven is a Select Registry inn built on a serene eight-acre farmstead around an 1867 country estate situated on a headland meadow with grazing llamas, just minutes south of historic Mendocino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, T4B, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Glendeven Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendeven Hotel Little River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glendeven Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.