We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heaven on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glendeven Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Glendeven Inn to your Saves list
Glendeven Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   8205 North Highway One, Little River, CA 95456   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Little River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“heaven on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed unfortunately only 1 night at Glendeven Inn in the Garret room (upstairs with a stunning view over the grounds with Lamas, Chicken and the Pacific Coastline). By arrival already we were welcomed with personalised parking space with our names on it. On the room there was handwritten welcome card and fresh flowers aswell as handpacked chicken feed which we took along on our first walk along the inns garden and greens to feed the chicken. The room was increadibly nice furnitured with 5 windows in 3 directions. Exept for the bed which was a bit too soft everything was perfect. Downstairs there is a social room with fireplace (which was burning in the evening) homemade cookies and enough tables, chairs and sofas to relax. The garden is great with additional hiking trails around coastline or backcountry. In the evening they offer a free wine hour and as they sell wine you can also enjoy wine flights or oder any bottle they offer in the garden. We were very sorry for just staying 1 night - book at least 2 better 3 nights to enjoy this place aswell as the surrounding coastline and winecountry.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    26
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
374
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here with his mother and sister. The accommodations were outstanding and the breakfast (post running trail - stunning btw), started off the day on the right foot. Glendeven set up a private wine tour of the Andersen Valley for us and we signed up for their farm-to-table dinner that very same night - a must! It was our favorite meal of the entire trip! The grounds are charming and the staff is, hands down, the most informative I've met at a B&B. EVER! We will return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Briar Rose. Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Garret Room at Glendeven on May 15th for one night. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and since we had windows on 3 sides, we were able to greatly enjoy them. We loved the llamas, the chickens, and the goat statues on the front lawn that apparently come to life at night. The personalized welcome sign was also a delightful touch. The birds were as loud as the highway, so you just kind of have to go with that. Our only negatives were that the mattress was really soft and we prefer firm and that there really isn't a choice for breakfast. The breakfast we were served was quite yummy though. I am sorry we weren't able to try the dinner, but they were already booked full. John and Laura Rachel were very nice, helpful, and welcoming.

Room Tip: We enjoyed being at the top of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here on our anniversary and had an amazing time. The wine barn was a nice touch. We enjoyed walking the property and feeding the chickens. We stayed in Etta's suite in the farm house. I highly recommend the Farm to table dinner paired with the suggested wines. We look forward to visiting again in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed in the Briar Rose (again!) and thoroughly enjoyed the Farm-to-Table dinner. There were only six of us, and it was intimate and delicious! We hiked right from the property down into Van Damme State Park, and then onto the beach, up to Glendeven Trail Cottage and back to the Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Although the rooms were beautiful, we would probably not stay here again. We too stayed at the loft above the wine bar and there was a great deal of room to spread out. The rooms were beautiful and clean, although the carpet was a bit "old." Unfortunately the B & B was right on CA-1 and there was road noise all night. On warm nights you need the windows open so the noise cannot be abated by closing them . For the price I think there are nicer and quieter places to stay. Additionally, we found the "rules" a bit rigid. Checkout time was 11 AM and it would have been a great deal easier for us to check out at 11:30 AM however this was not something the innkeepers were willing to arrange. Another small annoyance was the inability of the innkeepers to get the printer on the shared hotel computer to function. All in all it was a very nice place but I think you can probably do better for the money.

Room Tip: If you stay here get away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichenhof, Owner at Glendeven Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write, we always appreciate all feedback!

To our future guests, we post a map of the property showing location in comparison to the views and to the road etc. In the Barn Loft, there is only one window that faces west toward the road, so there is little transfer of noise that way. The walls are built double-thick, so when everything is closed up it is quiet. On the unusual occurrence that it is a warm day here, I can see where an open window would make some noise carry inside. We like to be sure that folks bear in mind that inns in town have foot traffic noise as well as car traffic (as do all of the inns along the coast.)

Our Barn Loft carpet was installed new when we opened the Barn for rent in 2008, and that is considered fairly new, especially given that it is not 100% occupied. The point being that the carpets last longer here than they would in a person‘s house, and also have more rigorous cleaning and maintenance than in a person’s home. They are in fine shape and are on a cleaning rotation schedule.

Regarding our policies, we are a small inn and housekeepers usually need the full amount of time to turn a room, especially the Barn Loft which is nearly 2,000 square feet with three bedrooms. And as I say often, the fairest thing for everyone is to be consistent with our rules. They are not arbitrary and we try very hard communicate them well, so that no one becomes disappointed somehow.

The printer is functioning well. It turns out that another guest had a number of items in the queue, and so by clearing everything the printer was able to work fine. We are sorry for any inconvenience this cased this guest.

Thanks for reading, and we hope to see you soon! John, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockett, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Any stay at Glendeven is a truly marvelous and romantic experience. We have been fortunate guests of the inn several times over the last few years, ( through 3 innkeepers in fact!), but like a fine wine, the inn has only gotten better over time. Each stay has been more magnificent than the last. Since John and Michael have taken over as most recent innkeepers, you can tell that is has become a true labor of love, and it shows in every detail. Their additions and innovations have really enhanced the overall in experience. The wine bar, beautiful decor, spectacular views and excellent food are just a few of the inn's highlights that any stay in Mendocino would not be complete without. A short walk to the beach at sunset is an experience not to be missed. With the addition of several new properties added to the Glendeven family, we look forward to returning to our favorite inn for fine wine, delicious food and complete rejuvenation.
Terri Rodriguez

Room Tip: We have stayed in several different rooms over the years and they each offer a unique and special ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Glendeven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendeven Inn

Address: 8205 North Highway One, Little River, CA 95456
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glendeven Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'One of the 10 best inns in America'. This well appointed inn with its blend of fine antiques and contemporary art, offers wood burning fireplaces, ocean views, full in-room gourmet breakfasts, private baths, secluded patios & decks, featherbeds, plush robes, a wine and hors deouvres hour, and free-Wi-Fi. Glendeven is a Select Registry inn built on a serene eight-acre farmstead around an 1867 country estate situated on a headland meadow with grazing llamas, just minutes south of historic Mendocino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Glendeven Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendeven Hotel Little River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glendeven Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.