We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wet Wintery Christmas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottages at Little River Cove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cottages at Little River Cove to your Saves list
Cottages at Little River Cove
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   7533 North Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Little River B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
NorCal
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Wet Wintery Christmas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2008

My Husband & I have stayed at many properties in this area since we grew up here, have family here & shoot many Weddings each yr. After walking in to our Cottage (Ignacio House) - I never want to leave! I sure wish we'd found this place sooner! It's clean, modern, picturesque & cozy! Even at the back of the property, we have a stunning view. All the doggies here are friendly & the grounds are tidy. I wish it was closer to town (FB or Mendo), but they can't help that! Cottage is full of amenities (blow dryer, robes, iron, umbrella, kitchen needs) - all you'd need is some more doggie towels & sheets + food! Definitely our fav place on the Coast now!

  • Liked — Everything - look, feel, views!
  • Disliked — Brown water
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    18
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
49
79
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

We stayed at the Cottages at Little River Cove (formerly the Fools Rush Inn, and now completely remodeled) the weekend after Thanksgiving. It was absolutely one of the best experiences we have had in a long time! Tony and Julie, the onsite managers, greeted us warmly when we arrived, and we were shown to our cabin, Gualala. It was a perfect set up for us and our 7 year old son. The living room was spacious and had lovely ocean views, a flat screen TV and cozy fireplace. The kitchen was fully and thoughtfully stocked with utensils, pots, plates, etc. In fact, that's what made staying at the Cottages so special. It was obvious that the innkeepers/owners were going out of their way to anticipate what a guest might need and already have it waiting. We brought food with us (but the inn will do the grocery shopping for you upon request) and cooked dinner in our kitchen when we arrived. The comfortable sofa opened out into an even more comfortable bed for our son, and my husband and I had a cozy queen bed in the next room. We also dined next door at the Little River Inn, which will provide its excellent food via room service to the Cottages if you don't want to go out. We borrowed a DVD from the hotel's extensive library, as well as a Scrabble game to play in front of the fireplace. The hotel has a large grass area perfect for romping with pets or throwing the football around. It was so peaceful to wake up and see the ocean from the living room and hear the gentle ring of the buoy in the cove. I'd highly recommend the Cottages, and we will definitely return!

  • Liked — The full kitchen
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

Our cottage was spacious, clean, and very well equipped. We have four boys, so it was nice to have the extra room (the DVD and LCD HDTV, was a great bonus) and the fully functional kitchen (refrigerator, microwave, oven, utensils, dishes/bowls...). The cottages are located only minutes from the Big River Beach and downtown Mendocino, which made it convenient to get to meals and recreation.

We went for an hour and half kayak ride up the river (rented at the rental store right next to the river - the owner and instructor were both very friendly and helpful) with our two older boys and they loved it. Dad is a bit sore from paddling, but you could not ask for a more beautiful setting. We took advantage of an unusually warm December and had sunshine all weekend. We would highly recommend these cottages for a family.

  • Liked — It was very clean and quite new
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2008

My Wife and I went to a wedding in Mendocino in July. We made reservations at this place and I have to admit it was more then we expected. The sun was actually out and the view from our room was really nice. You could the see the ocean! In the morning we saw deer and wild turkey roaming the grounds. Our dog especially like the huge lawn where he could run around and play. The managers were very friendly and knew the area quite well. We plan on coming back sometime next summer. We love this place!!

  • Liked — Dog friendly
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2008

I was organizing my pictures this morning and remembered what an AMAZING weekend at The Cottages in August so I decided to write a review after all this time. Our room was perfect. Updated features and peaceful views. I had plenty of room to stretch out without getting in my husband's way. The staff was warm and friendly. In fact, my husband asked them to assist him in creating an early 5th Anniversary surprise for me. They were really great!! The housekeepers were wonderful people.

I wish the team at The Little Cottages all the best and we will return soon with all of my family and their dogs. This is a great space for our family getaway!!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

We were really surprised to see the good reviews for this place. Our experience was just the opposite.

The view? The motel is on the inland side of the road so you’re looking at the ocean in the far distance across a highway. The only unobstructed views are the first two cabins. Otherwise you’re looking around the other cabins – kind of an urban view of nature.

The noise? It’s right on the highway and on a curve so you constantly hear road noise, including logging trucks accelerating up the hill.

The management? We told the manager we would arrive between 4 and 5 p.m. When we got there at 4:10, there was no one in the office. The housekeepers (who spoke only Spanish) didn’t know anything and didn’t even know how to contact the manager. He finally got back about an hour later and was very unapologetic saying, “there’s no guarantee there will be management on site 24/7”.

We had reserved one of the cabins on the end with the unobstructed view. We were given a cabin further back – with the urban view. The manager tried to tell us that the people in the cabin we’d reserved had decided to stay longer, but the housekeepers had shown us the cabin. The manager had used it for big birthday blowout for his wife the night before and tit was still full of dirty dishes.

This might be a good place for a large group of people or family reunions, but it sure wasn’t the experience we were hoping for. This was a splurge for us. If it’s a splurge for you, we definitely wouldn’t recommend it. If it isn’t a splurge, I’m sure you already know better places to go with a real view of the ocean, the sound of the wind rather than traffic, and management that takes care of their clients before their personal needs.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samirjt, Owner at Cottages at Little River Cove, responded to this review, December 10, 2008
We are very sorry that this guest apparently did not enjoy her stay. We are, however, puzzled by her comments. She says "we were given a cabin further back" but, in fact, she was given the cabin closest to the ocean, which is the one she had reserved. What's more, there was no "we" -- this guest was traveling alone. Finally, the guest refers to having "an urban view", but as anyone who has been to Little River (population: 410) knows, there are no urban views from anywhere in Little River! So our sense is there is some confusion here. We take guest satisfaction very seriously and are pleased that so many other guests have greatly enjoyed their stay with us at the Cottages at Little River Cove.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur CA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

This will be our new first choice for travel to Mendo with our dogs. (and without!) Clean, very well equipped, first rate hillside rooms. Dogs were welcomed with their own beds, dishes and treats, and supply of doggie poop bags. A flashlight also provided for those evening walks and cleaning up after pets is a personal must, and the owners make it easy. Area is so lovely, keep it that way. Also thoughtful ammenities like binnoculars in the room. Could not find a thing that was not thought of to make our stay complete. Lovely gas fireplace and flatscreen tv made us drool. Nice outside patio off the bedroom for afternoon reading. Community bar-b-que and picnic table, overlooking spectacular views (next time we will bring something to grill) Luxury bedding and towels. Nothing scatchy or cheap. Coffee/tea/creamer and sugar supplied, so no immediate shopping required. Brought our food from home for breakfast and lunches and hit Mendo Bistro (Fort Bragg) and Little River Inn for dinners..then leftovers and local wine on our 3rd night in front of the fire watching the fog roll in. Other favorite dining: Mooses downtown Mendo and Le Petite Rive by Little River Post office for dinner, but only open Thurs-Sunday. Small store in Little River closed, so bring your food or plan to go to Fort Bragg for shopping. ( go to Carole Hall jelly store...Peach Cobbler Jam, made locally, is yummy, great take home gift) Mendocino not a grocery store mecca, but charming and don't miss the white chocolate raspberry at the chocolate store on the main street. Be prepared, no cell phone access in Little River.

I would recommend bringing an old towel to wipe your dogs feet after beach walks and meadow romps.

Great facilities and wild turkeys abound. Easy access to Mendocino and within walking distance of the Little River Inn (chef Marc Dym). Pride of new ownership is reflected in these lovely cottages. Thanks Tony, for your hospitality.

  • Liked — Comfort-pet friendly
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottages at Little River Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages at Little River Cove

Address: 7533 North Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages at Little River Cove 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottages at Little River Cove are a haven for travelers who want to enjoy the best that the Northern California Coast has to offer. The unique property is situated high on a bluff, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Comprising 9 stand-alone cottages, the cozy, two-acre property is perfect for travelers who desire private accommodations, fireplaces, modern, full kitchens and baths, comfortable bedrooms and amazing ocean views. While our cottages are luxurious and our views are spectacular, we're still the best value on the Mendocino Coast. Come check us out soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Cottages at Little River Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages At Little River Cove Hotel Little River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottages at Little River Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.