We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Surprise-Awesome Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thunder Valley Casino Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Thunder Valley Casino Resort to your Saves list
Thunder Valley Casino Resort
1200 Athens Ave, Lincoln, CA 95648   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise-Awesome Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

We were booked for a Deluxe room but it was not yet available at 7 pm check-in. They upgraded us to a Suite. It was a very nice surprise and the room was awesome. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    58
    17
    8
    11
See reviews for
36
71
14
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

Everything was impeccable: the cleanliness of the rooms, roominess of the suite, 12 foot ceilings with a floor to ceiling picture window, the wonderful views of the snow capped Sierras in the distance. The turn down service with chocolates and rose petals, quiet nights on a comfortable pillow top bed, and in room services. All of the staff in the hotel and casino were very friendly and helpful and ended each conversation with a smile. They were glad to help you and made you feel welcome. Security personnel in the lobby and the card keyed elevator floor access gave you piece of mind. The casino was large and roomy. Plenty of room between the slot machines to move around. The Starbucks was, well Starbucks! and the pizza and Caesar Salad were delicious. The casino was on the scale of many larger Vegas casinos and better than a lot of them. This was our first time to an Indian Casino and I was very impressed. I would definitely recommend this property and will return to enjoy the resort and outdoor attractions in the area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

We took a trip to San Francisco from Reno, NV and happened across this casino near Sacramento, CA. We stopped in and gambled (won, yeah!) and then headed onto San Francisco, when our day was done, we called the casino to see if there was any rooms available and they were booked, but we wondered back (it was so familiar to us, we are so used to use to Indian casinos is Oklahoma) We ate at the buffett (very affordable) and played on the games about 12p.m. my husband wondered up to the front desk and they had someone that had cancelled and we got a room and they gave it to us at an affordable rate ($79)-the room was huge (the bathroom was awesome, had a huge shower and marble tub). The only downside of this trip was that we had valet parked and when we left the next day we relied on the guy to put our luggage in the car and they called about 2 hours later and let us know they had our luggage and we were in San Francisco and had to drive back for it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

It's really a beautiful thing when a hotel staff recognizes the value of the customer and gives them five star service every day. Everyone, from the valet, bellman, hotel desk, housekeeping and room service, gave us a sincere smile and took time to inquire if there was anything they could do for us. The bellman actually asked us if he could get us a bucket of ice or make us some coffee when he brought our luggage to the room.....that is a first for me! The hotel is very new and everything looks and smells new (absolutely no cigarette smell from the casino!). I only have a couple of issues, the check-in time is very late (4pm) and when we arrived our room was not ready (which seems to be a common occurance). We were given a 10% discount for the inconvenience and had to face the casino crowd and noise before we were really ready. They take a $100 deposit against your credit card for incidentals (in addition to regular room charges) then credit it back in a few days, which is something I have experienced at any other hotel. Unless you can take advantage of the midweek $99 per night rates, the room rates are high. I live in Reno and I have put my friends up in a Peppermill Tuscan Suite for far less (and the suite much more luxurious).

Now, the casino part. They have hundreds and hundreds of slot games, and new ones that I had not seen at any other casino property, but the casino floor is VERY crowded and loud. I'm sure you are saying, well it's a casino, what do you expect? But I have a lot of experience in this area, and believe me, it is louder than any other casino I have spent time in. I really liked the smaller, completely enclosed, non smoking area, which I hope they will expand at some point. This is not a luxurious casino with lovely decor. It is all about how many machines and tables can be squeezed into a large open space (a LOT).

We had dinner in the coffee shop. The service was pretty good, but the food was very mediocre.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

I have had the pleasure of staying in many hotels. I like to gamble, and they almost always reciprocate w/a free room stay.

Thunder Valley finally opened it's hotel and spa portion this last year, and I must say - it is beautiful!

As you arrive, the valet greets you with a smile, and, they're always polite (even @ 5 am)!

You then enter the lovely lobby, where you check in with the wonderful folks at the desk.

Mind you, you can request the turn-down service when you check in, where you'll be spoiled w/delicious chocolates, slippers, and sometimes they even put rose petals on your bed. (if you need any other beverages, they're all to happy to accommodate those requests as well)

As you head towards the elevator, don't put your room key away - you'll need it to use the elevator.. w/o it, you can't leave the lobby. You'll notice the Asian influence, when you get into the elevator, and look at the floor numbers - you'll notice some are purposely missing.

You enter your room, and are completely blown away by the spaciousness, and plushness of it all. If you get a room w/a king sized bed, you also get a small sitting area, that includes a loveseat, chair and table.

If you get the 2 queen room, the extra space is taken by the 2nd bed, but they still manage to get the extra chair and small table in there.

And, if you're like me, who sometimes has to work on vacation - all the rooms also feature a desk with FREE we-fi! now, that's aweesome!

The beds are comfy, and the Sony dream machines are nice, so you can plug/charge your ipods and iphones.

All rooms have a nice mini bar, that has a small fridge, and Keurig coffee maker, so you don't have to make a pot of coffee for just 1 cup. They have a nice assortment of flavors, and if you have a favorite, you can ask them to leave you a couple more w/the turn-down service.

The bathroom's beautifully decorated w/granite countertops, hairdryer, make-up/vanity area, and lots of and a separate toilet area. The jacuzzi tub is sooo great for those aches and pains, and I really love the shower that lets you set the water temp on the handle - so you won't have to do the wait-for-the-water-to-get-hot dance.

As a tip, if you want the temp to be hotter than the dial seems to let you - it's got a kid-proof button that you push in the middle, that lets you increase the temp past the non-burn setting. You push it in, then move the dial past to the hotter settings.

Did I forget to mention the huge showerhead and perfect pressure? I could wash my hair all day!

Nice flat screen tvs, and thick carpet make this room so nice.

The only problem with the beautiful rooms are the loud wall units that run your heating and cooling needs. For those light sleepers, it might pose a problem, if it runs constantly.

A trip to the spa is first-class, and, if you're from the area, they give locals a 20% discount on reg. priced treatments.

I'd love to give them 5-stars, but despite the fact this is supposed to be non-smoking hotel (you'll find post-it's on your mirror reminding you there's a $250 fine if they find you smoking in your room) - they now allow smoking in the hallway by the elevator, if there's an ashtray present.

This new rule definitely poses a problem for me, as I relish my clean-air, non-smoking room, after sitting in the casino w/all the smokers. The problem w/letting people smoke by the elevators, is the smoke gets so heavy, that I would open my door (at the end of the hallway) - and, it appeared to be foggy out there. Now that's a lot of smoke! It's disgusting, and if the hotel's supposed to be non-smoking, it should be so in all the areas. I don't like smoke wafting into my room, especially if they might impose a fine because they thought I was in there smoking.

Due to this huge annoyance, along w/a couple of times my requests were not ful-filled, I can't, in full conscience, give them the whole 5 stars.. but, 4's really good I think.

All in all, I've had the pleasure of staying in this luxurious place for free - but, for it's amenities and *usually* first class service, I'd gladly pay $99.00.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

Rooms are fresh, clean and well appointed.

Large soaking tub and separate shower. Double sinks and sitting area in bath.

Bed was extremely comfortable with duvet cover and soft sheets.

Quiet and large room with couch. Large flat screen TV.

Hotel stay includes use of Spa--steam room, dry sauna and tranquility room.

Casino has it's own Starbucks.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympic Penninsula
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

One bartender (in the Fallsbar) and the valet service people were very nice and friendly. The rest, at best, were only business-like. One casino employee peed all over the only handicapped toilet seat and didnt even try to clean it up. A dest man never warned me that I needed to insert my room key to make the elevator work. Since I couldnt read the explanatory card from across the elevator, I did not know why it wouldnt work, had to put all my things on the floor to use 2 hands, and road up and down and up again before figuring it out. for someone allergic to onions and garlic the Food Court is dangerous, my eyes were itching before I got near it. The Thunder Cafe is worse. I ordered potato skins with nothing but cheese and bacon and potato--no sauce, onions, sour cream, garnishes, nothing. They came with some kind of small hot green peppers on the plate. Fearing their juice, but too hungry to wait any longer, I started eating from the opposite side of the plate. The waitress came back, asked if anything was wrong, and when I said I wouldnt eat the skins next to the peppers because I was allergic to them, she just grabbed the plate and refused to let me eat anything. She called the manager who came over and acted like it was my fault. The cook came out and said I should have told them I was allergic. I said, if I said I dont want to eat it, that should be enough to keep it off the plate. They blamed me again so I left.
The casino has limited slot machine types. I counted only 3 machines that were not video poker and not the kind that promote free spins rather than credit winnings.
The room had non-opening windows with a vent that blew icy cold air all night. Very unpleasant.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thunder Valley Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunder Valley Casino Resort

Address: 1200 Athens Ave, Lincoln, CA 95648
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Lincoln
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thunder Valley Casino Resort is a AAA Four Diamond award-winning casino and resort located in Lincoln, California, 30 miles east of Sacramento. It is owned by the United Auburn Indian Community and opened in June 2003. Thunder Valley Casino Resort features a 250,000-square-foot Las Vegas-style casino, offering over 2,500 slot and video machines, 100 table games (including Blackjack, Baccarat, California Craps, Mystery Card Roulette, and Pai Gow) and a live Poker Room which accommodates more than 250 players. The casino regularly holds major promotions and special events including drawings, cash prizes, and tournaments. The expansion completed in June 2010 includes a 17-story luxury hotel with 297 rooms, 40 suites, a full amenity Spa, gift shop and boutique. The resort boasts 14 restaurants and bars, as well as Pano Hall, a large banquet and entertainment center with a capacity of up to 900 guests. The outdoor pool offers a tropical setting with cushioned chaise lounges, private cabanas and Coconut Bar. The highly popular Summer Concert Series outdoor amphitheater seats over 5,000 while attracting major headliners. Additionally, Thunder Valley acquired Whitney Oaks Golf Club, a championship 18-hole course just 15 minutes away in Rocklin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Thunder Valley Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunder Valley Hotel Lincoln

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunder Valley Casino Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.