We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definition of Mediocre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Lemon Grove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Lemon Grove to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Lemon Grove
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7458 Broadway, Lemon Grove, CA 91945   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lemon Grove
Palmdale, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Definition of Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Welcome to a small, not dirty, not immaculate room. If your plan is to spend anymore time than sleeping and showering in the room this is probably not the place for you. If you're not picky and want a decent place to sleep that has a shower, a working TV, a cool-ish refrigerator for a few cans, and a coffee maker it will do just fine. For me it was about connivance, within 2-miles from where I was visiting, and price, $50+ less than the next available (not booked) hotel. Certainly not a "destination" but a fair overnight stop on your way to one.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M P, Manager at Econo Lodge Lemon Grove, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you fro the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    5
    1
    15
See reviews for
10
6
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yuma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Location is great I always pick to stay at this motel due to it's location and great rooms. Every time I come out to San Diego I always choose to stay there and would highly recommend it to anyone in the local area to try sometime

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M P, Manager at Econo Lodge Lemon Grove, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for the feedback! We appreciate your business! Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The room was small, but very clean and well decorated. The bed was great. It was a very nice room for us. Very easy to get to from the highway. Very nice people that own it. We would stay there again if needed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M P, Manager at Econo Lodge Lemon Grove, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you so much for the feedback, we really appreciate your patronage. Please come back and stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during my first visit to San Diego and I must say I am disappointed, San Diego. I understand that this is a value motel but that is no excuse for what I witnessed here. First and the most cardinal sin of a hotel is that there was still trash in my room when I checked in. There was a hair pin on my bedside table and half a pen beside the bed. This alone would be bad enough but the horror did not end there. I decided to take a peek behind the bedside table and there appeared to be weeks if not months of debris collected. There were light rail tickets, crumbs, and granola bar wrappers just to name a few items of garbage I discovered. There was a bug that crawled out from my bed that was at best a baby cockroach and at worst a bed bug. The shower tile and grout were all quite moldy and one of my towels had a curly black hair ingrained into it and I really don't want to imagine what the bodily region of its origin is. On top of all this the mananger was quite rude at check in. This motel has a potentially very cool little set up and with proper staff training could be a nice value motel. This place would be the perfect candidate for Hotel Impossible. Plus sides are fridge in room and decent channel selection.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M P, Manager at Econo Lodge Lemon Grove, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We are very sorry for your unpleasant stay, we have renovated and we are making changes to this hotel. Thank you for the information..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

the manager of the hotel is rude, he was very uptight and made my stay very uncomfortable. coming from out of town I had a couple of family members come see me he made them feel very uncomfortable too, he banged on my door and made all of my company leaves I had my sister and my brother in law there I was so embarrassed I didn't know what to say. he also would not change my room I told him the air condition did not work I had to sleep in a hot stuff the room all night then the next day you finally switched my room and made me pay the deposit again. one day he also banged on my door asking me if there is a white boy in my room who had owed him money. I'm a single woman and he search my room I felt very unsafe.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M P, Manager at Econo Lodge Lemon Grove, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We apologize for your unpleasant stay. We are taking your info into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbine, Maryland, Usa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here two nights. It's an easy 10 to 15 minute drive into SD. The room was small but comfortable. It had a large refrigerator & microwave. The overall cleanliness appeared to be good. The neighborhood looks a little sketchy. There is a grocery store next to the motel and it had a bum hanging out in front of it. I wouldn't let this sway you from staying here but it's good to be aware of things like that, as far as what you leave in your car.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M P, Manager at Econo Lodge Lemon Grove, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us, the neighborhood is safe but yes we are a small suburd of San Diego and the weather is great all year around and sometimes we have the occasional person on the street, however we do not allow them into our facility. and there is only one way in and one way out of our hotel. This is a great place for the budget concious traveler as well as the corporate travel. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I booked through a travel site and only paid $53, so I got a smokers room. The front desk guy felt really bad about it. He said if I would have booked with him directly he would have given me my money back. Great location. Friendly staff. The room was pretty clean. There was a microwave and fridge. I'd stay there again in a non smoking room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M P, Manager at Econo Lodge Lemon Grove, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Yes we are a limited service budget hotel and we have tried our best to make our rooms clean and comfortable. Unfortunately when a third party is involved in the reservations we can not refund money and sometimes third parties over book and the fact that you were open to understanding is awesome. Please come back and stay with us we really appreciate your patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lemon Grove
1.1 mi away
Super 8 San Diego Area  / La Mesa
1.5 mi away
Travelodge La Mesa
Travelodge La Mesa
#4 of 10 in La Mesa
3.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn near Qualcomm Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Lemon Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Lemon Grove

Address: 7458 Broadway, Lemon Grove, CA 91945
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lemon Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lemon Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Lemon Grove 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 80 Rooms and we sit in the heart of Lemon Grove, Ca. We have newly renovated rooms with new beds and new amenities including 32" LCD Tv's. We have Free Continental breakfast and Free off street Parking, and we are just minutes from downtown. Come check us out we are very affordable and family owned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Choice Hotels, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge Lemon Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemon Grove Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Lemon Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.