We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay while exploring Sequoia National Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Plantation Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Plantation Bed & Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   33038 Sierra Drive, Lemon Cove, CA 93244   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Lemon Cove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place to stay while exploring Sequoia National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The owners are friendly and knowledgeable but not in any way weird or overbearing like they can be at some B&Bs. Pool was nice and refreshing after visiting the park and the grounds are beautiful. BUT, the highlight had to be the breakfast. It was simply incredible. These two know their way around a kitchen...

Also, the location is close to Exeter which has a few restaurants. And it is located about 20 minutes from the entrance to Sequoia National Park (about 45 minutes to an hour from the first stops inside the park).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    29
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
10
64
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I have been going to The Plantation for 12 years and we love it! So close to the National Parks it makes for a great place to come home to after a full day away. Especially the jacuzzi and pool---both open 24hrs a day and are wonderful. The grounds are beautiful and the breakfast is delightful. The fresh squeezed orange juice is such a treat! Scott and Marie are great hosts and I believe you'll be happy you stayed at The Plantation Bed and Breakfast!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Be very careful if you stay here. My make up bag and a hair brush were stolen from our room while we were at Sequoia National Forest for the day. The room was locked when we left and locked when we got back. It cost me $250 to replace the items that were taken. Obviously, I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottplantation, Owner at Plantation Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
The Plantation B & B has been owned and operated by the same 2 people for 17 years and has had over 43,000 guests. NEVER have we had an issue with theft from a guests room. We often do fine items that a guest has left in their room after departure and we box them up and mail them to them. Would someone really want to steal another persons hairbrush and make up?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duesseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stumbled on the Plantation b&b on a trip to Sequoia.

The property is not very large, as they have five rooms or so total. The rooms and the property are decorated with Gone With the Wind memorabilia. The rooms are large enough and all have toilet and bathroom inside. However, in the room we had, the bathtub was in the room itself -- there was no separation other than the shower curtain.

The common area has a fireplace and a TV with a large selection of VHS cassette tapes of various older films.

The owners serve breakfast from 0800 - 0830. The orange juice and mueslix were great, but the rest - eggs in particular - were not very good.

The place has a feeling of slow abandonment, and it feels that it hasn't been refreshed in a long time. In fact, there were fliers advertising the b&b's sale during our visit. $575,000 for whomever is interested.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This bed & breakfast was very charming. I'll start with the good stuff: very nicely decorated, LOVED the Gone with the Wind theme, nice pool & grounds, great location, very clean, hosts were nice, good morning glory muffins at breakfast. The things that weren't as good were: I could always clearly hear the neighbors in the next room even when they were talking in normal voices. Usually we have the TV on when we stay in bed & breakfasts to buffer the sound but there wasn't one. The lack of TV is our fault though as we should have checked that out before we booked. The wi-fi went in and out alot and the breakfast didn't have much selection. The first day we were there, the only choices besides yogurt & fruit were salsa muffins and chile relienos (not sure of spelling). I don't really like spicy things for breakfast so I would have liked to have had some other choices. Also, we had the Scarlett room and the quality of the bed could have been better. I thought it was a little pricey compared to what we've paid for B&B's in the past. In general though, I thought this place was very nice and we would recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We arrived late afternoon without a booking and was welcomed by Marie. She gave us a tour and selection of the rooms available. She also may a recommendation for dinner which were spot on! Breakfast was delicious with homemade granola and baked fritata. Breakfast is served between 8.30 - 9.30 which might be a bit restricitive if wanting to head off up the mountain early however perhaps something could be arranged. The price was higher than we would normally pay though. Air con was noisy. Otherwise, the rooms have a charming Gone With the Wind theme and it was very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Today was Marie's birthday and she was still at the kitchen serving breakfast. Happy birthday. Family run b&b with great atmosphere. 24 Hour swimming pool and hot tub was an unexpected bonus and choice for breakfast homemade with a gourmet aubergine omlette option. No tv in room ( bonus) but there was use of wifi . Never seen humming birds before. Enjoyed myself.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Plantation Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Bed & Breakfast

Address: 33038 Sierra Drive, Lemon Cove, CA 93244
Location: United States > California > Lemon Cove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lemon Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Plantation Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 16 miles from the main entrance of SEQUOIA National Park, with seven romantic "GONE WITH THE WIND" theme rooms. Swimming pool and Jacuzzi hot tub open 24 hours. A full gourmet breakfast is prepared by Chef Marie and served outside in the garden courtyard. AAA 3 diamond rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Plantation Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.