We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place has seen better days” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Plantation Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Plantation Bed & Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   33038 Sierra Drive, Lemon Cove, CA 93244   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Lemon Cove B&B and Inns
Duesseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“This place has seen better days”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stumbled on the Plantation b&b on a trip to Sequoia.

The property is not very large, as they have five rooms or so total. The rooms and the property are decorated with Gone With the Wind memorabilia. The rooms are large enough and all have toilet and bathroom inside. However, in the room we had, the bathtub was in the room itself -- there was no separation other than the shower curtain.

The common area has a fireplace and a TV with a large selection of VHS cassette tapes of various older films.

The owners serve breakfast from 0800 - 0830. The orange juice and mueslix were great, but the rest - eggs in particular - were not very good.

The place has a feeling of slow abandonment, and it feels that it hasn't been refreshed in a long time. In fact, there were fliers advertising the b&b's sale during our visit. $575,000 for whomever is interested.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    27
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
10
56
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This bed & breakfast was very charming. I'll start with the good stuff: very nicely decorated, LOVED the Gone with the Wind theme, nice pool & grounds, great location, very clean, hosts were nice, good morning glory muffins at breakfast. The things that weren't as good were: I could always clearly hear the neighbors in the next room even when they were talking in normal voices. Usually we have the TV on when we stay in bed & breakfasts to buffer the sound but there wasn't one. The lack of TV is our fault though as we should have checked that out before we booked. The wi-fi went in and out alot and the breakfast didn't have much selection. The first day we were there, the only choices besides yogurt & fruit were salsa muffins and chile relienos (not sure of spelling). I don't really like spicy things for breakfast so I would have liked to have had some other choices. Also, we had the Scarlett room and the quality of the bed could have been better. I thought it was a little pricey compared to what we've paid for B&B's in the past. In general though, I thought this place was very nice and we would recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We arrived late afternoon without a booking and was welcomed by Marie. She gave us a tour and selection of the rooms available. She also may a recommendation for dinner which were spot on! Breakfast was delicious with homemade granola and baked fritata. Breakfast is served between 8.30 - 9.30 which might be a bit restricitive if wanting to head off up the mountain early however perhaps something could be arranged. The price was higher than we would normally pay though. Air con was noisy. Otherwise, the rooms have a charming Gone With the Wind theme and it was very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Today was Marie's birthday and she was still at the kitchen serving breakfast. Happy birthday. Family run b&b with great atmosphere. 24 Hour swimming pool and hot tub was an unexpected bonus and choice for breakfast homemade with a gourmet aubergine omlette option. No tv in room ( bonus) but there was use of wifi . Never seen humming birds before. Enjoyed myself.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

It is a B&B in an older house in rural Cali, it's no concrete block Marriott and that surely is why you choose it. The rooms were pleasant, the location serene, the food and company were great. I am not sure why some here complain about gaps under some doors and traffic, it's an old house in a teeny town. There is AC. I like the surrounding landscape a lot.
I would go back for sure - it is unpretentious, but sound, with a nice garden, caring owners, and the humming birds in the flowers just ooze the word serene...

A lovely stop in a nice spot :)

Only Two tips: The Prince Mart, the nearby convenience store sells gas and food, is a miserable place with lousy service, the son of the owner is simply awful - rude, nasty, bleating at people, and a definite screw-you attitude, you get much nicer folk before this store on as you head north on Sierra Drive or in Three Rivers beyond.
Across the street from so called Prince Mart is a lovely little bakery and sandwich shop, grab your food here for the trip up to Sequoia. Tasty!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire uk
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Great stay quite expensive but room was gorgeous and hosts charming.Would liked a little more choice of cooked breakfast but it all was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Region, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

but then isn't everything. One of the great things about Plantation is that the owners know that they serve best when they are rested themselves and so they do not wear themselves out chasing the guests around. Our keys were waiting for us with some simple instructions. The room was quiet comfortable and quiet, the Tub was deep and the water was hot! I particularly loved walking in the grounds, bot in the early morning and at twilight.

Room Tip: ask upon reserving about which rooms are upstairs, if this is a consideration for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plantation Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Bed & Breakfast

Address: 33038 Sierra Drive, Lemon Cove, CA 93244
Location: United States > California > Lemon Cove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lemon Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Plantation Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 16 miles from the main entrance of SEQUOIA National Park, with seven romantic "GONE WITH THE WIND" theme rooms. Swimming pool and Jacuzzi hot tub open 24 hours. A full gourmet breakfast is prepared by Chef Marie and served outside in the garden courtyard. AAA 3 diamond rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Plantation Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.