We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Plantation Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Plantation Bed & Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   33038 Sierra Drive, Lemon Cove, CA 93244   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
TRIPADVISOR SPECIAL RATE!
Ranked #1 of 1 Lemon Cove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This bed & breakfast was very charming. I'll start with the good stuff: very nicely decorated, LOVED the Gone with the Wind theme, nice pool & grounds, great location, very clean, hosts were nice, good morning glory muffins at breakfast. The things that weren't as good were: I could always clearly hear the neighbors in the next room even when they were talking in normal voices. Usually we have the TV on when we stay in bed & breakfasts to buffer the sound but there wasn't one. The lack of TV is our fault though as we should have checked that out before we booked. The wi-fi went in and out alot and the breakfast didn't have much selection. The first day we were there, the only choices besides yogurt & fruit were salsa muffins and chile relienos (not sure of spelling). I don't really like spicy things for breakfast so I would have liked to have had some other choices. Also, we had the Scarlett room and the quality of the bed could have been better. I thought it was a little pricey compared to what we've paid for B&B's in the past. In general though, I thought this place was very nice and we would recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    32
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
15
81
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We arrived late afternoon without a booking and was welcomed by Marie. She gave us a tour and selection of the rooms available. She also may a recommendation for dinner which were spot on! Breakfast was delicious with homemade granola and baked fritata. Breakfast is served between 8.30 - 9.30 which might be a bit restricitive if wanting to head off up the mountain early however perhaps something could be arranged. The price was higher than we would normally pay though. Air con was noisy. Otherwise, the rooms have a charming Gone With the Wind theme and it was very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Today was Marie's birthday and she was still at the kitchen serving breakfast. Happy birthday. Family run b&b with great atmosphere. 24 Hour swimming pool and hot tub was an unexpected bonus and choice for breakfast homemade with a gourmet aubergine omlette option. No tv in room ( bonus) but there was use of wifi . Never seen humming birds before. Enjoyed myself.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

It is a B&B in an older house in rural Cali, it's no concrete block Marriott and that surely is why you choose it. The rooms were pleasant, the location serene, the food and company were great. I am not sure why some here complain about gaps under some doors and traffic, it's an old house in a teeny town. There is AC. I like the surrounding landscape a lot.
I would go back for sure - it is unpretentious, but sound, with a nice garden, caring owners, and the humming birds in the flowers just ooze the word serene...

A lovely stop in a nice spot :)

Only Two tips: The Prince Mart, the nearby convenience store sells gas and food, is a miserable place with lousy service, the son of the owner is simply awful - rude, nasty, bleating at people, and a definite screw-you attitude, you get much nicer folk before this store on as you head north on Sierra Drive or in Three Rivers beyond.
Across the street from so called Prince Mart is a lovely little bakery and sandwich shop, grab your food here for the trip up to Sequoia. Tasty!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire uk
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Great stay quite expensive but room was gorgeous and hosts charming.Would liked a little more choice of cooked breakfast but it all was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Region, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

but then isn't everything. One of the great things about Plantation is that the owners know that they serve best when they are rested themselves and so they do not wear themselves out chasing the guests around. Our keys were waiting for us with some simple instructions. The room was quiet comfortable and quiet, the Tub was deep and the water was hot! I particularly loved walking in the grounds, bot in the early morning and at twilight.

Room Tip: ask upon reserving about which rooms are upstairs, if this is a consideration for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed there a few years back. What I remember the most is the food, being the foodie that I am. Chef Marie (I belive that's her name) made some fabulously exquisite dishes for breakfast. To this day, I even remember a wonderful granola mixture she made..something that sounds so simple, but had such a gourmet twist to it! There was a wonderful quiche..just wonderful.

The "back yard" is so spacious and not yard looking at all. It was like a mini getaway forrested park with trees and green lawn that stretched out back..rather big and nice if you want to sit out or walk around..it was huge so a few people could walk around back there and still feel some sense of privacy. The rooms were very old hollywood style (in my opinion)..we liked it a lot. A nice get away and I would recommend it!

Room Tip: The smaller room has a full bed which my husband and i thought was too small once we got there. Defi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lemon Cove
9.0 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#6 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
22.9 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Exeter Inn & Suites
21.5 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,536 reviews
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Bed & Breakfast

Address: 33038 Sierra Drive, Lemon Cove, CA 93244
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lemon Cove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lemon Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Plantation Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 16 miles from the main entrance of SEQUOIA National Park, with seven romantic "GONE WITH THE WIND" theme rooms. Swimming pool and Jacuzzi hot tub open 24 hours. A full gourmet breakfast is prepared by Chef Marie and served outside in the garden courtyard. AAA 3 diamond rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Plantation Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.