We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and pleasant.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Plantation Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
Plantation Bed & Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   33038 Sierra Drive, Lemon Cove, CA 93244   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Berkshire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Interesting and pleasant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Today was Marie's birthday and she was still at the kitchen serving breakfast. Happy birthday. Family run b&b with great atmosphere. 24 Hour swimming pool and hot tub was an unexpected bonus and choice for breakfast homemade with a gourmet aubergine omlette option. No tv in room ( bonus) but there was use of wifi . Never seen humming birds before. Enjoyed myself.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    22
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
44
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

It is a B&B in an older house in rural Cali, it's no concrete block Marriott and that surely is why you choose it. The rooms were pleasant, the location serene, the food and company were great. I am not sure why some here complain about gaps under some doors and traffic, it's an old house in a teeny town. There is AC. I like the surrounding landscape a lot.
I would go back for sure - it is unpretentious, but sound, with a nice garden, caring owners, and the humming birds in the flowers just ooze the word serene...

A lovely stop in a nice spot :)

Only Two tips: The Prince Mart, the nearby convenience store sells gas and food, is a miserable place with lousy service, the son of the owner is simply awful - rude, nasty, bleating at people, and a definite screw-you attitude, you get much nicer folk before this store on as you head north on Sierra Drive or in Three Rivers beyond.
Across the street from so called Prince Mart is a lovely little bakery and sandwich shop, grab your food here for the trip up to Sequoia. Tasty!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire uk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Great stay quite expensive but room was gorgeous and hosts charming.Would liked a little more choice of cooked breakfast but it all was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Region, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

but then isn't everything. One of the great things about Plantation is that the owners know that they serve best when they are rested themselves and so they do not wear themselves out chasing the guests around. Our keys were waiting for us with some simple instructions. The room was quiet comfortable and quiet, the Tub was deep and the water was hot! I particularly loved walking in the grounds, bot in the early morning and at twilight.

Room Tip: ask upon reserving about which rooms are upstairs, if this is a consideration for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed there a few years back. What I remember the most is the food, being the foodie that I am. Chef Marie (I belive that's her name) made some fabulously exquisite dishes for breakfast. To this day, I even remember a wonderful granola mixture she made..something that sounds so simple, but had such a gourmet twist to it! There was a wonderful quiche..just wonderful.

The "back yard" is so spacious and not yard looking at all. It was like a mini getaway forrested park with trees and green lawn that stretched out back..rather big and nice if you want to sit out or walk around..it was huge so a few people could walk around back there and still feel some sense of privacy. The rooms were very old hollywood style (in my opinion)..we liked it a lot. A nice get away and I would recommend it!

Room Tip: The smaller room has a full bed which my husband and i thought was too small once we got there. Defi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We spent a couple of nights during our fly drive to Calfornia. This place was magical and fun. We were made very welcome. The breakfasts were the best on the whole trip (and some of the others were pretty good!). Sitting outside, with the views and watching the humming birds made it a place to remember.
The advice given on the best routes and priorities to see made it a brilliant choice. Thanks

Room Tip: We liked the one with the library bathroom. Makes sense when you get there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke-on-trent
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Just driving through on way to Kings Canyon , when on the right was this superb B and B behind a white wall looking like an escapee from the Caribean Islands. We stayed . best decision on a 2 week holiday in California .Sumptous accomodation. delightful breakfast . Wonderful hosts , who told of the experiences of life in the colony of Lemoncove. Pool, garden and a feeling of having reached paradise early. Too soon we had to off to earthly destinations, but not before a n outstanding nearby restaurant and a great nights sleep under a swirling fan . Heaven . Do not miss when nearKings Canyoy or Sequoia Parks.

Room Tip: Any.All have view of garden and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plantation Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Bed & Breakfast

Address: 33038 Sierra Drive, Lemon Cove, CA 93244
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lemon Cove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lemon Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Plantation Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 16 miles from the main entrance of SEQUOIA National Park, with seven romantic "GONE WITH THE WIND" theme rooms. Swimming pool and Jacuzzi hot tub open 24 hours. A full gourmet breakfast is prepared by Chef Marie and served outside in the garden courtyard. AAA 3 diamond rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Plantation Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.