We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and nothing special” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tioga Lodge

Save Saved
You added Tioga Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Tioga Lodge
54411 Highway 395, Lee Vining, CA 93541   |  
Hotel amenities
Santa Cruz, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Noisy and nothing special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The room was adequate but expensive. There is a view of Mono Lake but the room is right on the highway so I didn't feel like sitting outside and looking at the lake from the room. The highway is loud. The person who checked us in was more interested in making sure we would pay for any damages than in welcoming us. (We are 60 years old. Do we look like we're going to party!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    25
    25
    19
    22
See reviews for
22
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The lodge has a great location for those who leave Yosemite at the Eastern Entrance/Exit. Room and food prices are reasonable. They have a family-style, cozy restaurant. Staff is nice and supportive. Our room was simple, but clean and spacious.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here for a night and the stay was very pleasant. We had the cottage to ourselves, which was quite compact and cozy. All the stuff inside the cottage were very antique. The air condition didn't work and the bath was really un-comfy to get in and out. Yeah, the bed was extremely small for 2 people. This place is very close (like 10 feet) from the Hwy 395, so it might be noisy for some people. The property has nice little garden and a little creek/falls in the middle. The food in the restaurant is very good, but quite expensive for the quantity. Although this Lodge is very close to the mono lake, it doesn't have any view of the lake. The lake is not even visible from this place. The staff here are bit flexible and she agreed for a late check out (noon). While you are here, its good to go for a visit to the nearby Ghost Town, Bodie (15 miles in the hwy 395 + 15 miles in a county road).

Room Tip: We chose Room # 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This Lodge is located in Lee Vining, near the Mono Lake area, and just a few minutes drive to the East entrance of Yosemite. We stayed here one night so as to have an early start in Yosemite on the next day. The cottages are small but sufficient for a short stay. There is no air conditioning, and the ceiling fan was so unbalanced that we were afraid that if we turned it up high enough to cool the room, it would fly off the ceiling. The grounds of the lodge are well kept, and it's nice to sit outside at a picnic table with a view of Mono Lake. The Mono Lake Visitor's Center and the South Tufa area are within a few minutes drive as well. The staff here was a bit indifferent, seeming preferring to lounge in the reception area talking to friends rather than working too much...Sortof a "Here's your key...don't break anything" greeting.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rosa Mae Room, which is a cottage in the second row, so not directly on the highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed for three nights in this hotel in a very nice little cabin. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. We were also happy to finally have enough space for all our luggage after having stayed in much smaller rooms during our trip. The property is really nice with flowers and a little creek and the main building, which was brought from ghost town Bodie and restored, is charming. We got a very warm welcome on our arrival. The restaurant is also very nice, they serve healthy, also vegetarian food, which is very hard to find elsewhere in the area. So overall we had a pleasant stay. We only have two negative points to mention. The property is located right next to the highway and it was really, really noisy in our cabin. For us it literally felt like sleeping on the highway. Also the aircon in the bathroom was really noisy, so sometime we felt like escaping the cabin in order to relax. It should however be the other way round. Both of us apparently are pretty sensitive to noises, so if you are not, I would definitely recommend to go to this place, because everything else is good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonewall, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The lodge looked old and the room was not as we were expecting for the price we paid ($155.00) for one night. No T.V. microwave or elegant furnishing and no A.C. as we could see in the room. I could not figure out how to turn it on if we had one at all. We got in late and did not bother checking with the manager about it. The bed was hard and UNCOMFORTIBLE. We have traveled many miles and this was the worse room we had the whole trip of 12,500 miles for the price. Would not stay there again, nor tell people about staying there.

Room Tip: Room near road, a lot of road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had a really fine vegetarian dinner. The proprietress was very thoughtful and efficient. The room was clean, spacious and tastefully furnished. The grounds are well kept up. Only negative is the location facing highway 395 - the traffic dies down at night, but still hear cars zipping by occasionally.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tioga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tioga Lodge

Also Known As:
Tioga Hotel
Tioga Hotel Lee Vining
Address: 54411 Highway 395, Lee Vining, CA 93541
Location: United States > California > Lee Vining
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lee Vining
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tioga Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tioga Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.