We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a quick stopover” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake View Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lake View Lodge to your Saves list
Lake View Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51285 Highway 395, Post Office Box 345, Lee Vining, CA 93541   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lee Vining
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fine for a quick stopover”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Spent a night here en route to Yosemite from Death Valley. We just wanted somewhere to spend the night before an early start into the park. For this Lakeview Lodge was fine. We had a standard room which was reasonably priced. It was clean enough. Maybe a bit outdated. Th fridge made the most awful buzzing sound which was remedied only by unplugging it. But overall it was fine. Comfy bed, quiet, ok bathroom & shower & a decent sized room.
The room notes said that wifi was available but would only be accessible in the foyer but we found we could access it in our room as we were reasonably near the lobby.

Room Tip: Get a downstairs room near reception - wifi works in room & you don't have to haul luggage u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    167
    115
    36
    21
See reviews for
89
195
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

On a recent trip to the Eastern Sierras, we stayed three nights at the Lake View Lodge in Lee Vining. The location was great as we went to many nearby sights: Bodie, Devil's Postpile, Tuolomne Meadows, etc. The grounds of the hotel are lovely, flowers everywhere. The staff was kind and friendly. The rooms need work. We knew not to expect luxury, but the room we stayed in had the bedroom behind the sitting area WITH NO WINDOW. We had to devise a fan to blow some air into the sleeping area. The Wi-Fi was intermittent, at best. If you stay, do not accept room 22!!

Room Tip: Do not rent room 22
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Read some quite unfavourable reviews about this place on Tripadvisor but on balance decided it was a good place to stay for one night. I was glad we did. It was clean, rooms were spacious and the garden area out front is well-kept and colourful. Yes the decor is in need of updating and the air-conditioning/heater unit is unusable at night because of the din. No possibility of sleep. So in hot summer or cold winter, could be a problem. We left it off and were too hot so perhaps if the windows could be opened, this would make all the difference.. Don't expect luxury. Go expecting pleasant comfortable stop for a night with nice staff and you won't be disappointed. It's not cheap, but nor is anywhere within 50 miles of Yosemite.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

In Lee Vining, CA there are not a lot of choices for hotel rooms. The Lake View Lodge is a nice place but a little run down. That said we stayed two nights one night in the main lodge and one night in the #9 cabin. Both accommodations were nice..
But here is where I'm confused. The rooms have little signage all over, asking guests to be environmentally conscious. "please reuse your towels and help the environment" you know that type of thing....
But a quick look around the rooms and you notice leaky plumbing? You also note that they use high capacity toilets 3 to 5 gal.per flush. There was not one energy efficient light bulb any where. The heating and AC units were the old energy wasting type - no energy stars here.

Some easy fixes and this place could be saving not only the environment but a lot of money from their utility bills.

So although I see nothing wrong asking guests to reuse the Lodges very thread bare towels, I'm thinking if you are really concerned about the environment - Energy Savings should start at home .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed in one of the bare bones cabin. It was perfect. It really was barebones. One bed, with a main light and a bedside light and that's about it. But you did get your own little fenced of garden with furniture and a fire pit. The bathroom was shared between us one other cabin which was next door. One male bathroom and one female bathroom. We had a great nights sleep and didn't hear any noise. We were also given a towel.
We visited mono lake which is worth a a visit. $3 charge per person and only 10 min drive away.

Room Tip: From the previous reviews I'd say the barebones cabin is where you want to stay - quiet and clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The lake View Lodge in Lee Vining is right at the foot of the Eastern Sierra's. Outside your door you will find yourself looking out at Mono Lake and majestic mountains. The environment is peaceful and the entire place is calm.
Lee Vining is a census-designated place in Mono County, California, United States. It is located 21 miles south-southeast of Bridgeport, at an elevation of 6781 feet. Lee Vining is located on the southwest shore of Mono Lake.

The rooms are large and spacious. The air conditioners work fine and after a day of sightseeing or fishing, it is nice to see your room quickly cooling down. Because of the altitude, ask for a room on the first floor.

Plenty of space and room to relax.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor. You are at a much higher elevation and those stairs can drain you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

The cozy cabin was perfect for the two of us. Early June visit and very littlectraffic. Bird house on a tree next to the front deck was awesome.

The amenities are basic. Slightly small shower, but plenty of hot water.

There is a smll tv, and homestly with all the beauty atound us, we never even turned it on.
Plenty of room for a comfortable stay.

The kitchen had burners, coffeemaker, microwave and refrigerator. Stocked with plates, cups, cooking utinsils which is handy and a big plus.

Soap is there to wash the dishes too. Didn't find the broom/dustpan right off (It's in the closet).

The grounds have mature trees and plants and there is a nice deck among them where you have a pretty great view of Mono Lake.

A great place to stay on the road to Yosemite.

Highly recommend!

I will definitely stay here again. Hopefully when it is snowing! Mono lake covered in snow is spectacular.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee Vining
0.1 mi away
Yosemite Gateway Motel
Yosemite Gateway Motel
#4 of 4 in Lee Vining
3.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
23.1 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
21.5 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Walker River Lodge
Walker River Lodge
#2 of 5 in Bridgeport
3.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
22.4 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 705 reviews
13.2 mi away
Whispering Pines Resort
Whispering Pines Resort
#6 of 7 in June Lake
3.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Lodge

Address: 51285 Highway 395, Post Office Box 345, Lee Vining, CA 93541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lee Vining
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lee Vining
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake View Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lake View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Hotel Lee Vining
Lake View Lee Vining

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.