We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late night traveler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake View Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lake View Lodge to your Saves list
Lake View Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51285 Highway 395, Post Office Box 345, Lee Vining, CA 93541   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Tioga Pass opens May 1,20
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lee Vining
Troutville, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Late night traveler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

It was really late when we arrived at Lee Vining, Ca. Had been on the road most of the day. We traveled this way thinking we could get in the Eastern entrance to Yosemite. We could not, as there were heavy fires. Got a room at this motel. Nice location, grounds seem to be well maintained. Room was a little dated, but was just fine for a tired weary traveler. Restaurant was close by and breakfast was very good. Service was good also. This was Nicely's restaurant and wondered who the original owner was as there are a lot of Nicely's from my area here in Virginia, was unable to find out.

Room Tip: Don't wait as late as I did to get a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    153
    106
    34
    19
See reviews for
79
181
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in cabin #8, it looked relatively new, was very clean and nicely decorated. Our bed was comfortable and the cabin was just the right size for the 2 of us. Staff was very nice and helpful. The only minus is that wifi is only available in the main building and not the cabins or the rooms across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls, MN
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The motel is in a very picturesque location with lots of flower beds around. The room was ok, but somewhat dated. There was a gap around the door and the AC was very loud. There is no continental breakfast, but you do get discounts at the coffee shop that has coffee and pastries (we didn't use it). There aren't many motels to pick from in Lee Vining.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed one night. No complaints. Nice grounds to kick back and have a few cold ones and relax after a day of hiking in the Nat Park. Can walk to restaurants and grocery/liquor store. Comfortable and quiet considering all the people on a Sat night. Beautiful sunrise. Was a bit pricey but it was competitive with everywhere else. I really enjoyed myself here. Would stay again. They offer something to eat in the morning, but we went and filled up at a restaurant for a long day of hiking.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Traveling up highway 395, we happened upon this motel in Lee Vining. On the outside, it looked okay and so we wound up spending a night. What we found was that the room was dimly light with all of the lights on (lights had bad on/off switch and took some fiddling to turn them on. The bathroom was clean but there were obvious signs of water damage on the ceiling, the towels were *REALLY* thin and felt "worn out." However, in looking over the other motels in Lee Vining, this motel seemed the "better" choice. For one night, the room was tolerable even with the issues I had mentioned.

Room Tip: If you don't have a lot of luggage, get a room on the second floor. It would be quieter since t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

August is the summer vacation. Decent lodging goes so quickly. We decided to stop over at Lee Vining since it is on route to our next stop - Lake Tahoe. We arrived at 10.30pm and got checked in quickly. The room was decent with heating, TV, microwave. It was comfortable for a long drive through tioga pass. The next morning, we were greeted by sights of Lake Mono. The lodge has with a lovely garden which you could eat breakfast or lounge in. :) Gorgeous little place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Nice, clean rooms, beautiful surroundings (park area). Staff unfriendly when calling in to say that we would arrive really late when having problems with the car. Also, staff didn´t have any knowledge about Yosemite (other than distance). Good that one of the other guests had some detailed knowledge!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Lodge

Address: 51285 Highway 395, Post Office Box 345, Lee Vining, CA 93541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lee Vining
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lee Vining
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake View Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lake View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Hotel Lee Vining
Lake View Lee Vining

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.