We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed my stay here.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake View Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lake View Lodge to your Saves list
Lake View Lodge
51285 Highway 395, Post Office Box 345, Lee Vining, CA 93541   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lee Vining
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed my stay here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Whilst on a Fly-Drive holiday in the States, after setting off from Las Vegas and driving through Death Valley heading onto Yosemite, we run out off daylight and needed a place to stay, we stumpled over this travel lodge in Lee Vinning and stopped for one night.

Really enjoyed my stay here, the staff were friendly, the setting was great, especially at night with all the stars visable due to the altitude, and the village itself was really nice.

Theres a good place to eat just down the road from here and a nice coffee shop next door overlooking the lake, the next day we drove into Yosemite National Park and all I can say is wow over the scenary.

One piece off advise though...reserve a room beforehand and dont just turn up looking for vacancy like I did, this is a popular lodge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    151
    103
    34
    19
See reviews for
79
176
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Not bad for the price. Beds were only OK; the room, towels, cleanliness were just fine. Had a problem with the heater under the window - couldn't keep the room a comfortable temperature (too hot or too cold) but it was below freezing outside.

The restaurant, Nicely's, is a 1 minute walk away and just fine too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

I remember this motel from a stay 10 years ago when it was a Best Western. It is still a good motel with pleasant surroundings, clean and comfortable. The rooms are reasonable, spacious and have all the usual facilities. It is less than 5 minutes from shops, a market, and restaurants. It is back from the road and so quiet and peaceful. The man at reception, forgot his name, is very welcoming and knows and loves the area.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Coming over the Tioga out of Yosemite we looked for a place to spend the night and chose Lake View Lodge. The staff was very friendly. The price was reasonable. The room was large, very clean with updated furnishings. Not much of a "lake view" but everything else was great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here in early Oct, so it was chilly at dawn and in evening, eastern Sierras live in the shadow of Yosemite, not much unless you appreciate beautiful quiet spaces! We had a queen room, not a cabin, likely renovated/refreshed probably within last 5-10 yrs., bathroom clean, excellent shower pressure, bed comfy, heater worked well. The hotel rooms though facing the road, are set back from the street so we didn't hear road noise.This hotel landscapes the property, so its charming and quaint walk to its coffee shop and not just concrete and cars. The latte was decent. We visited Mono Lake-for photos, Bodie, Devils Pipe, and admired the autumn-colored aspens along the way. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Take a room that's above the parking lot, lest you get headlights shining into the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The room has a bed smile when we open it , there was no view as we ask in advance
The room look old very use , second floor , no elevator or assistance as been offer to carry the bags up into the room .

We call the front desk and one of the guys came in and admitted that the rooms is smiles but the alternative room that has been offer was Bed then the first one
I ask that the manger will come over but the guy forgot it

Bottom line it was bed experience and the rate that I has been charge was not Worth it .

it is samlllllll town , nothing to do , bed food -
better to continue to Mammoth Lakes - much better

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We are here again
and have always had a nice warm and cozy feeling
Cabins are comfortable with a kitchen and all needed to
prepare a meal if you wish
Tonight we have a large room and surprise for us, a complete kitchen
for a very reasonable price...
You are a turn away from the road leading to Yosemite
We look from our room onto Mono Lake
which has a beautiful sunset
Front office help was refreshing
Enjoy it is lovely

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Lodge

Address: 51285 Highway 395, Post Office Box 345, Lee Vining, CA 93541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lee Vining
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lee Vining
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Lake View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Hotel Lee Vining
Lake View Lee Vining

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.