We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Mono Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lee Vining
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Mono Motel
Save
You added El Mono Motel to your Saves list
51 Highway 395, Lee Vining, CA 93541   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lee Vining
El Cerrito, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enchanting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed here for one night and really loved the whole vibe of the place - offbeat, homey, decorated for Halloween and covered in fall leaves. The outdoor areas - the garden, the tables for the café, the porch swing, the chair next to my room - provided excellent places to just sit and take in this wonderful environment. The proximity of the coffeeshop -along with its tasty coffee and treats - added to my experience. On my travels, I covet cozy inns. El Mono fit this perfectly. Also loved the convenient parking right outside my room.
I took a room with a private bath, and was pleased to not run out of hot water while showering. Liked that the room had no TV. I might have felt the room was a bit on the small side had I stayed longer, and I did also miss the lack of refrigerator, but these are minor quibbles.
The people who checked me in and out and who worked at the café were all super nice. I'd definitely come back, and will if I ever travel back this way again.

Room Tip: Looked like the shared bathrooms required going outdoors, so I was glad to have a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    76
    30
    16
    9
See reviews for
42
74
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Linz, Austria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The Motel is situated next to the Yosemite National Park. Accomodations in the Yosemite N.P. are very expensive and the El Mono Motel is a good option, if you want to spend less money, and be near the N.P. (a car is necesarry)

The Motel is very cosy, tutored garden, were you can spend hours sitting in the sun.
Our room was also very comfortable arranged, but there is not much space for the luggage (no cupboard) and it gets cold in the night.
A sink is in every room, toilets and shower are shared. But everything is very clean and you can use it without doubt.

The employees are very friendly and endeavored to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

All in all: a very good Motel I absolutely recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaver Lake, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here one night in the queen room. It was cozy, well kept and comfortable. The best thing was the breakfast sandwich from the cafe, my husband ordered another one after eating the first. Yum. Anyways, great stay for the price and location. Will return!

Room Tip: Plan ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

If all you want is a bed for a night's rest, this is the place. No phone, no fridge, no TV. Just a clean and comfortable ( but a bit soft) bed. The room was small and had a soothing color scheme of neutrals.
Lee Vining which is where this hotel is located is a town with several motels - nothing fancy or built up here. El Mono has a great little coffee house in the front of the building that makes homemade scones and very good coffee. The front porch is inviting. The location is perfect for visiting Mono Lake and Bodie.
We had a perfectly nice stay here - but just to remind you if you want a private bathroom ask for it as many rooms have shared baths.

Room Tip: If you want a private bath you must request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed 2 nights because of disruption from the Yosemite fires and wished we could have stayed longer. We loved the Lee Vining area, Mono Lake and eastern Yosemite via the Tioga Pass. It's pretty inexpensive, so we shared a shower/toilet which were just fine. The room was small but bright, cheery and comfortable with some good touches. No TV-hooray, but instead hummingbirds and plenty of other birds to watch on the feeders. We found all of the staff helpful and good humoured whilst the coffee and breakfast sandwiches and cakes were delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Really liked this place - the aesthetics of the room, cheerful pumpkins all over the exterior (it's October!), best shared showers of any I've experienced in other places, and really nice soap/lotion/shampoo. Staff were really helpful & offered to put some food I had in their refrigerator. And yes their coffee is great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Decent prices. Something was not right along the way. First night the room, second night the absolutely freezing temperature in the room. Great coffee and very charming Halloween decorated coffee house. Staff - quite uncommunicative and creating atmosphere as if they didn't care. Mixed feelings!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Mono Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mono Motel

Address: 51 Highway 395, Lee Vining, CA 93541
Location: United States > California > Lee Vining
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lee Vining
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
El Mono Hotel Lee Vining

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mono Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.