We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“meet expectation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Gateway Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Yosemite Gateway Motel to your Saves list
Yosemite Gateway Motel
51340 Highway 395, PO Box 250, Lee Vining, CA 93541   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lee Vining
los angeles, CA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“meet expectation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Booked this hotel after reading all the reviews of the hotels in Lee Vining. Yes, it's not cheap but so are all the hotels there. Yes, it's dated, same as others in town. Stayed in room 9. So we had our own balcony. Nice view of the lake, but not that close as I had hoped. Room is clean enough. good TV channels, important as there is nothing much to do at night. Check in was smooth n we just left the key in the checkout box since we left early. Bottomline, don't expect 5 Starhotel service.

Room Tip: Room 9 is the only one with own balcony if that's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    49
    42
    23
    27
See reviews for
34
59
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Awful motel. The picture we'd seen looked lovely but the reality was very different. We arrived and given our room keys. The room was very dated and not particularly clean. We had a shared balcony with the neighbouring rooms. The mattress had a protector on it that was plastic, it was noisy and hot to sleep on, the bed was also very hard. We had booked two nights but both agreed we didnt want to spend a second night and left early the next morning!
Not cheap and really not worth it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My sister and I had a one night stay (room 20) and thought the room was great. Didn't need air conditioning as it wasn't that hot, the room was clean and beds were very comfortable. Maybe a bit expensive but not for Lee Vining.

Great restaurant just across the road, Nicely's, went there for dinner and breakfast!

Mono lake is beautiful, recommend you take the Ranger tour, it was fantastic.

Room Tip: Room 20 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midpines, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My parents and I came to the hotel really late in the evening. the room was wonderful a/c did its job beautifully. tv box didnt work they fixed that by the time we came back from mammoth that day. When my dad went to see what was wrong with the phones he got "oh they are working on it" no appology. and the map said vending machine which it did not have one and of course how late we arrived nothing was open

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

If I could I'd make it 3 1/2 stars. I see a number of bad reviews...I can only speak of my own experiences from two stays. Both times, my rooms were clean, and the woman checking me in was friendly. One trip I had a late check-in and she was helpful, and one time I lost my key out hiking. I expected a ridiculous charge, but she just smiled and said, 'it happens.'

As far as the noise, yes, some rooms face the road, but in my two trips there, the traffic pretty much dies after dark. And since I'm out photographing sunset at the tufas, I'm usually one of the only cars out there at that time. Most of the rooms face the lake are quiet. Most have a decent view of the lake. Someone mentioned a tree, but I'd guess that only partially blocks a room or two. I'm guessing most, if not all, the other hotels in town, are also on this road and have to deal with traffic noise to some extent.

Also, here's my opinion on why I don't consider it over priced like some reviews; some people seem to be comparing it to hotels somewhere else; I'm choosing to factor in the location and other factors, such as the fact that all the hotels in town are old, and there are only a few, so choices are limited. The town is next to Mono Lake and Yosemite...that has to be a factor, meaning a hotel of its age, caliber, etc. is going to cost more than if the hotel was in some other non-destination locale. Sure, it'd be nice if this hotel was cheaper or newer, but it seems in line with the other few hotels in the area. You're paying for location and convenience, not having to drive up from some other towns.

All in all, I'd stay here again, but I'm also open to trying out one of the other hotels if I could get similar prices.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yreka, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

WOW! This place is so over-priced. I was expecting old but clean. That is exactly what I got. But I never expected no air conditioning... this was the worst nights' sleep I have had in a long time. I resent paying that price to sweat all night and not sleep for it. The beds are hard... you have to sleep with your windows open which makes it loud everytime your neighbors have a conversation. The staff was rude and didn't bother to tell me they would not e available after 4:30. I would NEVER stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This hotel is dirty, over priced, and worst the staff is RUDE! I was overcharged and charged on my credit card when I wanted to pay in cash. There was long black hair in the beds and several spider nests. I was told the owner would contact me after I left my information 4 times, his name is Tim and his wife is Kim. Tim the owner is by far the rudest and most unhelpful and verbally abusive business owner I have ever encountered! Rip off from start to finish!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Gateway Motel

Address: 51340 Highway 395, PO Box 250, Lee Vining, CA 93541
Location: United States > California > Lee Vining
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lee Vining
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Yosemite Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Gateway Hotel Lee Vining
Yosemite Gateway Lee Vining

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Gateway Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.