We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK stop over on a road trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Liberty Inn

BEST WESTERN Liberty Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Liberty Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Liberty Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5521 Dennis Mccarthy Drive, Lebec, CA 93243   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lebec
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“OK stop over on a road trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

While returning to San Diego, we chose to stay overnight at this facility, rather than try to drive over the Grapevine in bad weather in the dark. We called ahead of time to reserve a room, and our reservation was ready. The room was adequate--fine for overnight sleeping. Bed slightly firmer than I like, but lots of pillows. Plenty of room for the three of us. The bathroom was definitely minimalist. Like other reviewers, the walls are thin, can hear everything from the hall way (don't think there were other people in the adjacent rooms). And being right off the interstate, there is definite rumbling from the tractor-trailer rigs.
Did not take advantage of the breakfast, as we really needed to get on the road in the morning. Did notice as we were checking in that there were old pastries still left out on the counter. Would not have touched them in the am!

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chilliwack, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

We were willing to deal with a fan that sounded like a small helicopter in distress (we had to use it or we would have been up all night from the noise). We were willing to deal with screaming babies (twins) next door (very poorly insulated walls/hallways). But when I woke up to find someone else's foot dirt at the bottom of my bed...that was the straw that broke this mother's back! They had a big to do about dragging the head of the cleaning staff into the room to look. What is she going to say - yeah I don't bother putting on clean sheets on occasion? She then swore she had changed the sheets herself. To their credit...$25 was taken off of our bill. But it put us off of Best Western all together. It seems to be hit and mostly miss with this company. We stayed at one in Rice Hill, Orange/Centre Drive by Disneyland, Island Palms (San Diego), and then this one. The only one I would go back to is the one a few miles off from Disney (only issue was a very uncomfortable pull out for the kids...so much so that we had to get a cot and then pay an extra $10 so our kids could get a decent night's sleep)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chilliwackmomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

I stayed here with my husband and toddler in November after Thanksgiving. The room was above the lobby and the walls were so thin we could hear all the conversations the hotel staff had over the phone. The room itself was adequate. The breakfast spread was impressive with a good variety including cereal, danishes, bread and bagels for toasting, oatmeal packets, hot drinks, juice, and whole fruit. There were even some hard boiled eggs on a chilled platter which is more than what most continental breakfasts offer. I noticed that the hardboiled eggs were peeled, however, which meant that someone had to have peeled them, and I hope they had clean hands when they did that. I also noticed there were no common-use tongs to pick up the danishes/bread or eggs with, so people would just reach in and grab them, and hopefully not touch the food they were not taking. I saw one kid reach in for a danish, then change his mind, and grab another one, so I think they should provide tongs. I would recommend this place for a short stay since it is convenient and reasonable when traveling along the 5; just beware of the food hygiene.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
158 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

All in all, I prefer the chain hotel a few miles up the road to the south, where we stayed last time. Staying on the north side of the Grapevine is incredibly convenient, as you leave in the morning, headed north, with no traffic and a fast ride. But this hotel just doesn't deserve to be a Best Western. The rooms are very large. But the amenities are minimal for a first-class motel -- no easy chair, no Kleenex (!), low-quality sheets, a too-firm mattress, and the continental breakfast is undistinguished.

Luck of the draw, the young man who checked us in (a local college student) went out of his way to be helpful -- even offered to carry our bags, and directed me to the nearest convenience store. So I rate the service very high indeed.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2008

We stayed as a stopping point while traveling up I-5. We selected the hotel based on the pool for the children to get some activity. The pool was not clear and we did not go in it.
Continental breakfast was primarily pre-packaged pastries and some small apples. The Orange juice had turned sour in the machine. Jehovah witness magazines on the coffee table in the hotel lobby.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of pool maintainence
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeriwinkleSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2007

We stayed at the BW Liberty in Lebec with a group of families on a trip to Magic Mountain. The hotel is about a half-hour drive from Magic Mountain, over the Grapevine (mountain pass.) We chose it because of the indoor pool. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and basic, without fridge or microwave. Continental breakfast was apples & oranges, sweet rolls, fruit juice, coffee, cereal, and toast with margarine and jelly. No protein of any kind, not even cream cheese. But the hotel is right next to a truck stop, and in the midst of an outpost of fast food joints and gas stations on the busy freeway. There is a Panda Express drive through AND a Starbucks drive through right across the street, among many other offerings close by. Please note that the hotel isn't actually IN Lebec, it's off of exit 219 just south of the place where the 99 merges into the 5 freeway. So be sure to watch out for it before you arrive in Lebec when traveling southward.

The walls are thin and we could hear every footstep of our upstairs neighbor, so if you're an early or light sleeper you might consider staying upstairs. I didn't see an elevator, though, so if you have a lot of heavy bags, downstairs is best. We could hear lots of road noise from the busy freeway right outside; it's the main thoroughfare for semi trucks, which tend to be loud. The air conditioner fan helped dull the noise and let me sleep.

An indoor pool is hard to find in California, and a great bonus for families traveling in the winter! The water was cool, but there is a hot tub and sauna to warm up in. Also, it gets quite steamy and stays warm in the pool room itself. The pool is open 7am to 11pm so there's plenty of time to frolic in the water before and after an amusement park trip.

All in all I thought this hotel was quite decent and would stay there again, especially if I were to have time to use the pool. If I didn't plan on swimming I would probably stay closer to Magic Mountain as there are lots of hotels very close to it.

  • Liked — Indoor pool, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Road noise
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twirlgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nor Cal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2005

Decided to stay here on our drive down from San Jose for Thanksgiving, arrived after 10pm, but had a reservation, good thing as hotel had no rooms available. Room was very large and clean, could hear the 5 freeway a bit but we were so glad to have beds to sleep in that the noise was not bothersome! Breakfast consisted of cereals, toast/pasteries, juice/coffee/tea-good enough for free. Would stay here again in the future when needed, easy on/off too.
One more thing, made my reservation over the phone and was quoted over 100 (103 I think) but when I checked in the person told me that was crazy and reduced my rate to 85, so that was a very nice surprise!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyncal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lebec
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wheeler Ridge
3.4 mi away
Ramada Limited Lebec
12.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Frazier Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Motel 6 Lebec
Motel 6 Lebec
#4 of 4 in Lebec
4.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
23.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield
Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield
#10 of 60 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
21.8 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
#51 of 60 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Liberty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Liberty Inn

Address: 5521 Dennis Mccarthy Drive, Lebec, CA 93243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lebec
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lebec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Liberty Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this Lebec, California hotel located a short drive from Tejon Ranch and Six Flags Magic Mountain and offers a complimentary full breakfast.Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN Liberty Inn will appreciate the exceptional value, friendly service-oriented staff and variety of amenities offered to make any stay comfortable and memorable. This Lebec, California hotel is located where the air is fresh and crisp and the area attractions are just a short drive away.Each well-appointed room at the BEST WESTERN Liberty Inn features free high-speed Internet access and cable satellite television. Guests are invited to enjoy a complimentary full breakfast each morning. Other hotel amenities include an indoor swimming pool; spa and sauna open year round.The BEST WESTERN Liberty Inn is ideally situated 10 miles from Tejon Ranch. Families will enjoy this Lebec hotel's proximity to Six Flags Magic Mountain, Disneyland, Hollywood and Universal Studios. Yosemite National Park is also two hours south of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Liberty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Liberty Hotel Lebec
Best Western Lebec
Lebec Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing