We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really expected a better facility. Rooms are dated/worn...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Airport South Bay LAX

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Airport South Bay LAX to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Days Inn Airport South Bay LAX
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15636 Hawthorne Blvd, Lawndale, Lawndale, CA 90260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Lawndale
San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I really expected a better facility. Rooms are dated/worn...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I really expected a better facility. Rooms are dated/worn out, squicky floors, hole on shower wall, uncomfortable bed. parking lot and driveway is dirty/car oil spills. Facility needs a complete renovation job.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priya S, General Manager at Days Inn Airport South Bay LAX, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam we are truly sad to hear that we did not exceed your expectaions!! We are constantly trying to better ourselves and have scheduled multiple updates for the future. We do hope that we will not fall short for expectations the next time you stay with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    36
    30
    19
    12
See reviews for
26
20
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was a decent hotel. I just wished they would have had better breakfast selections and thicker walls so I wouldn't have to hear the neighbors every time they turned on the shower or had a conversation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priya S, General Manager at Days Inn Airport South Bay LAX, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
We at Days inn southbay are truly glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking into offering healthier and fresher breakfast options to serve to our guest. Currently we serve tea, coffee, juices, two types of breads, donuts, variety of oatmeals, two types of fruits and two types of bagels to our guests. We appreciate and thank you for your comments and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

From the moment you enter the office, you relax knowing you're in good hands with these two. Any issue you have from coffee to extending your time or changing your room for whatever reason; Lisette is your woman. But when it comes to the jacuzzi which needs to be hotter - Heidi is the Queen of Heat in that deparment - she's the only one there who could set it correctly behind the lock and key). Should you have a problem with your computer or even your cell phone, she's also a specialist. Even with directions. They go above and beyond the duty. They treat you as if you're at the Hilton-- without the snobishness. But more importantly--they treat you like you're at home.

The maids are very kind and courteous as well. They clean even without your asking while you are out.

They all deserve a raise! Happy Holidays and see you soon, "Cookie Lady"!! (Lisette). Sincerely, Karen Koontz

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priya S, General Manager at Days Inn Airport South Bay LAX, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for all your kind comments. We are truly glad hat you enjoyed your stay with us!! You are right both Heidi and Lisette are great employees and we are proud and privileged to have them on our team. Heidi has been known to help many a guest with her tech savvy and Lisette is fondly called smiling lady by our guests!! Thank you once again for all kind comments and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I was looking for an inexpensive hotel close to the airport for a brief trip to LA. The Days Inn exceeded my expectations: free breakfast, free parking, spacious (and clean!) room, large television, kind front-desk staff, and free wi-fi(!). It was exactly what I needed and more.

I only had two issues. First, the bathtub is extremely slippery (though they do provide an anti-slip pad for this)--when I checked in, a woman was registering a complaint about having injured herself when slipping in the tub. I thought that she was probably exaggerating, but I very nearly slipped myself when I used the tub; in short--use the anti-slip pad in tub. Second, the room needs more readily accessible outlets. Most of the outlets were impossible to get to/would require a lot of shifting of furniture. The one outlet that was easily accessible (near the door and A/C unit) did not work. This made charging gadgets a challenge. I would highly recommend bringing a travel power strip to maximize charging ability.

On a super-picky note, breakfast is only from 6:00AM-9:00AM, so I didn't get to experience it for myself; it would be great if it could go later (but, again, this a very minor quibble). All in all, a great experience, and I would definitely go again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priya S, General Manager at Days Inn Airport South Bay LAX, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for all your kind comments!! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!! You are right sometimes the location of power points can be hard/ impossible to access, We are already taking that into account when we with be updating but thanks to your suggestion we are providing extension cords to our guest for their convenience. Once again, many thanks for kind comments and we hope to serve you again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I came online tonight to write a review of the Days Inn just simply because of the excellent service. I was floored to read the inane review below mine. It makes no sense.
Bobby was exceptional, and so was Gretchen. Expedia.com had messed up, and on their site it says there is a pool and a business center. I took that up with Expedia, and Bobby sympathized. He said he had told them about these mistakes, but there was no fixing it. He was so helpful to me the day I left, printing out my itinerary and tickets for a show. I told him I would love to come back. The night I arrived, Gretchen came up to help with the A/C (there was a little trick to it) and she couldn't have been sweeter. She insisted I call back if there were further problems.
As for this 3 p.m checkin situation, Bobby had let me in early and no one there gave me a hard time. I arrived just right before 3. Later the staff said that Expedia also falsely claimed there was a 1 p.m. checkin but yes, there was a small fee if one could be accommodated.
I really love Bobby and he should NOT be reprimanded for some disgruntled person (who, by the way, wrote a pretty illogical review).
Fine place. I am sorry Expedia messed up because I needed to use a computer, but that's not Days Inn's fault. This is comfortable, clean, professional and warm. My sense is that the naysayers really can't recognize quality when they find it.
Oh yes, I write hotel reviews for Examiner.com, but no one paid me to do this.

Room Tip: There isn't a swimming pool. I would have used the washer and dryer if I had had time. You shoul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Airport South Bay LAX? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Airport South Bay LAX

Address: 15636 Hawthorne Blvd, Lawndale, Lawndale, CA 90260
Location: United States > California > Lawndale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Lawndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Airport South Bay LAX 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Days Inn Airport South Bay LAX reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Airport South Bay Lax Hotel Lawndale
Days Inn Lawndale
Lawndale Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Airport South Bay LAX, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.